We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Roosevelt Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Roosevelt Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8,066 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Roosevelt Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,148: English reviews
Wokingham
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tried to email to hotel on three occasions before arrival, using their two addresses, but no reply from the office staff. Excellent lobby area with comfortable seating if wait to check in or out. Looked after out luggage at both ends of our four night stay. Concierge desk is very helpful with advice and directions and the limo service back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sprinkle2
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced during your stay. However, we see your overall stay was great. Thanks again for some great suggestions and we will address immediately.

ireland
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Checked in on Monday 2nd September front door bell hop Friendly and direct. We Took our bags to reception And met the staff at the check in Desk, lack of personality is Putting it mild, rude unpleasant And minimal contact with us. Took my credit card and when finished placed it on the counter With out saying a thing to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jockwillis
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that the Roosevelt did not meet your standards. For future reference, when booking a reservation directly or online, one has the option to reserve (upon availability) a room either deluxe, superior, or cozy. These type of rooms are different in layout and size and of course price. We never arbitrarily give...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we visited the hotel there with my husband and my parents . from the photos it looks great. they have -i guess- really good photographer and a good photoshop. its the worst hotel i ve ever been. the rooms werent ready by the time we supposed to have them(we went there at noon). we had to go back 2 times....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alex a
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you encountered during your most recent stay. Unfortunately, requests of early check-in or room placement (ie: connecting or adjoining) are never guaranteed due to the sheer volume of business and the high number of last minute reservation changes on a daily basis. However, if your request...

Airdrie, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Roosevelt was a huge disappointment! If you want to pay top dollar and be treated as if you are in a hostile, this is the place to stay! The CONs: Staff are less than professional, the rooms are untidy and dirty. There isn't a coffee maker or kettle etc. in the room. I'm not sure where the renovations took...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Melanie C
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel over the New Year celebration for 2013. It's out 2nd stay and we just love it. It's a historic hotel one of the oldest in Manhattan. The lobby is gorgeous, so beautiful it has a Starbucks in the lobby. The reception staff were friendly and got us settled into our room as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sinead F
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Welcome back. We are happy to see that our central location and friendly staff made this trip as memorable as the first. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your third visit.

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I think title says it all, this was a really average hotel. Nice location in mid-town, nice lobby, but that is about it. Rest of hotel is pretty old. Room service has very odd hours. Front desk had large line to check in (and only one person checking people in). Bar closes early, 11:00. Breakfast starts late and is at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dmatt1999
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that the Roosevelt did not meet your expectations. Our "old world charm" and grand public areas are just two of our guest's favorite amenities. However, if new, sleek, and modern is what one requires, then we are not the hotel for you. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed with my friends in The Roosevel hotel and really enjoyed the spirit of old city if New York. Roof top bar is lovely thus they should put glass borders so you can see the city around instead of flowers etc. Room was nice except for the bathroom. Something should be done with the lighting in the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJNY81
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and review. We will certainly discuss your suggestions right away. We are happy to see that your overall stay was great and that MAD46 seemed to make your stay even more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Apopka, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The PROs: Great location to Grand Central Station and Time Square.. (within a 3-5 minute walk) lot of restaurant options to chose from on Madison Ave. The lobby was very grand, the roof top bar called Madison46 was really cool. BTW the bartenders were AWESOME..I do have to admit the king sized bed was like I was floating on clouds....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeldeph1
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that the Roosevelt did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. One thing to keep in mind, whether you book here or another hotel, reservation websites have their own criteria for star ratings, which is usually based on customer feedback and...

Dunnellon, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great location!!! in need of emergency, the staff was there for me!! clean, comfortable. Only feet from the central sub station, which really made it convenient for my daughter and I. great restaurant near by. And a drug/ grocery store across the street> also hair salon on premises, as well a gift shops. no worries on catching a taxi, plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine642013
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our friendly staff was quick to act and helpful during your emergency. We are also happy to hear that your mother/daughter weekend was great. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is quite grand, and the staff is pretty friendly and helpful. The basic room with one (king or queen) bed is quite miniscule, but extremely clean. The bedding was like sleeping on a cloud of candy-coated unicorn's breath. AMAZING. The bathroom was spotless (so appreciated in this funky, grungy city that I love). Cab drivers pretty much know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChavaBling
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was memorable thanks to our friendly staff, clean room, and of course our heavenly beds. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to...

2,486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1999)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (603)
Viewed
Room/Suite (384)
Viewed
Bathroom (146)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
5:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (766)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (49)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Signature Suite (93)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (47)
Viewed
Superior King Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#336 of 464 in New York City
14,921 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 464 in New York City
10,571 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#291 of 464 in New York City
6,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#370 of 464 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#311 of 464 in New York City
7,966 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 464 in New York City
8,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Price Range: $210 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roosevelt Hotel staff and other travellers.
188 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (188)

Questions? Get answers from The Roosevelt Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the safe in your room for everything you value.”
 of 5 bubbles Kellizme, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room on the 9th floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles markhV1417XS, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better, Its the city that never sleeps after all.....”
 of 5 bubbles RoboSolihull, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“not sure about this, i still haven't stayed in a room with a perfect street view!”
 of 5 bubbles lorix5, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles b0b121, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5