We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mela

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,929: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mela
 Click to rate
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband stayed at Hotel Mela for one night on 3/10/17. We chose Hotel Mela because it was very close to the restaurant and the theater we were going to. Hotel Mela is on 44th and 7th, restaurant was on 43rd and 7th and the theater we went to was on 42nd, all within one block of each other, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
Tiffany C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela...

Old Bridge, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I decided to spend my birthday in NYC for a few days and this was the first hotel. Thankfully we checked out and ended up a nicer hotel. This is far from a 4 star hotel. I was not expecting the same level of service or even room style that you would receive in a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zues115
nvashishta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, please accept our apology for managing to ever-so-slightly meet your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We would kindly request that you do consider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different...

Meath Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived on Wednesday march 8th, on check in the guy was not very welcoming- he just asked for my photo ID. We paid to upgrade to a junior suite, the room was very small- I find it hard to believe it was a junior suite. When we tried to connect to wifi, it was unavailable, I rang down to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aishling2014
nvashishta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our third stay at the Hotel Mela. Great location , great prices, clean and good service. There are not a lot of extras but when in NYC for a long weekend who hangs out in their hotel? Upper floors are nice and quiet. Would stay there again and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
nvashishta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hit there Melissa, thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We are very pleased that you found the cleanliness...

Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a quick over night with 5 teenagers. had 2 rooms. Location was perfect for getting around the city and from the train station. the room was nice but everything had stains on it, was a little off putting. the lobby was very warn out, carpet had a big rip in it. not sure I would stay more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol S
Tiffany C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, Please accept our apology for managing to ever-so-slightly meet your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We would kindly request that you do consider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband booked a trip to New York to celebrate my birthday and he booked this hotel as it was recommended to him......... Where to start.... well, if you're looking for spacious rooms, this isn't the hotel for you, the room was exceptionally tiny and we'd upgraded the room so we were a little shocked! We actually checked with reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo D
nvashishta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello Jo D, thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We are very pleased that you found the cleanliness was...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My stay at Mela is the worst by far for any hotel I have been to. They checked me into a tiny room that I had to change the next day. But the worst part is having wifi that doesn't work for the entire 3 days I was there and having staff who seem least bothered by it! Which hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tiffany C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We do acknowledge the inconvenience of not having internet access, unfortunately these circumstances were out of our control. The was an outage in the...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on recommendation of a local business and having terrible time without any wifi. I needed to connect to a business webinar upon arrival, but it was not working. They sent me to a local coffee shop to use their connection, but it was just closing when I arrived. I am in town for a workshop -- with internet-based...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank outoford
nvashishta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We are extremely sorry about the issue that you went through with wifi. We were experiencing some issues with our provider that caused several...

Matane, Québec
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't get the free drink mentioned on the ad, but that's about the negative. Yes the view is not good from the room, but who goes to NYC to stay in the room? We've got an OK room for NYC, OK size with a OK bed and bathroom, in the middle of the city, relatively easy to reach, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santabanana
Tiffany C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through Booking.com. According to the Booking.com site, the room was a Junior Executive Suite, about 330 square feet, with various amenities. Biggest issue is that the bed was a granite slab. We woke stiff, sore and in pain. And for all the wrong reasons. There also did not appear to be a mattress pad on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCGuy321
Tiffany C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review

Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. I apologize that your concerns were not addressed during your stay. We will be upgrading our rooms in the near future. We would kindly...

1,061 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (723)
Viewed
Bathroom (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (222)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (321)
Viewed
ADA with Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin (14)
Viewed
Desire Double Room (23)
Viewed
Desire Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Junior Suite (22)
Viewed
Executive King Room (21)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (15)
Viewed
Mela Suite (19)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Superior Full Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Two Double Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
15,703 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3,654 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 467 in New York City
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4,999 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
6,634 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Price Range: $264 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mela staff and other travellers.
83 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (83)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mela staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles NYCGuy321, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the largest room and check it first”
 of 5 bubbles MikeyD1973, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms didn't have a fridge, which is the only disappointing thing.”
 of 5 bubbles happyc608, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the one bedroom suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Immortalist, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for a room on one of the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles RetiredGent1960, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5