We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wyndham Midtown 45

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Midtown 45
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Midtown 45
See the most recent reviews
Showing 708: English reviews
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham 45 Midtown for business travel. I had just come off a trip to a 3 star hotel in Columbia, SC and the Wyndham doesn't even come close to the level of service, cleanliness, and for the most part amenities, even though it is listed as a 4 star property. About half of the bellmen were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AB_Concord
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Each hotel offers its own distinctive qualities from design to amenities and it’s disappointing we did not meet your expectations in this regard. We've hired a new team and started a process to ensure better service. The Wyndham 45 is on the right path to deliver Wyndham brand standards. We value your input and appreciate your time and hope you’ll...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I will start by saying this review has a great deal to do with the price we paid. We got a heavily discounted rate on Hotwire (roughly $150). For that price, to get a room on the 20th floor, in a good neighborhood, that was very large and a had a clean bathroom and friendly staff is all you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

The Wyndham 45 was a good value for you because of our distinctive qualities from design to amenities. It's disappointing to hear about our room furniture but thankful for your feedback. I've passed the information on to the Dir. of Housekeeping. At the end of the day, I went to the room to see the new changes. So again, thank...

Pointe Claire, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were pleased with our very recent stay at the Wyndham. The minute we stepped out of our car, we were greeted by a friendly and lively concierge who helped us forget our 6 hour drive into New York City. The friendly welcome did not end at the door..Ali at the front desk ensured our check-in and chatted about our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marianna F
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Located in the heart of Midtown, The Wyndham 45 Hotel offers the perfect New York City accommodations, thank you for sharing your comments of the time you spent with us. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the value of our hotel as well as spacious guestrooms during your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham mid town for 10 days in mid-July. The experience was average. It was very conveniently located, within 6-7 minute walking distance from the UN where we had meetings. The place was averagely clean. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit old and had to get the housekeeping to fix a broken tap as soon as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoundlessDiscov
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We value your input and appreciate your time and hope you’ll consider another stay with us in the future.

Hampton Bays, New York
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham Midtown 45 in the beginning of May. What was suppose to be a fun weekend with my girlfriends turned into a nightmare that I am still dealing with. Though the Hotel room itself was nice and clean, the management and the parking garage they subcontract out the valet parking to is horrendous. The Valet company...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKLNY2003
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

We deeply regret the situation that transpired at the time of your arrival at the hotel. Please be assured that these circumstances were atypical and we hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences. Your comments are being forwarded to our management team to be reviewed further and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Like with all other Wyndhams at which I have stayed, this one needed updating, and some additional amenities. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The shower in the second bedroom was moldy and dirty, but after having moved rooms already, we just ended up both using the shower in the master bedroom. The suite only had 2 coffee cups,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emery M
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

While we are truly glad to know that you valued our convenient midtown location, we regret that your accommodations were not what you expected and for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We urge our guests to let us know if there is anything missing or disheartening that we couldn’t make things right for you while you were here, when...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Checked in for a week here. Arrived around 530p and room was ready. Elevator took some getting used to as you had to enter your floor number and then hit enter to call the elevator (that might be why some people had elevator issues) to the lobby. Otherwise the elevators worked fine. Had a few delays, but nothing major (keep...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bmark2634
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

We're delighted that your time at The Wyndham Hotel was such a great experience. As you have shared, our suites are equipped with many amenities to make our guests feel at home, including full gourmet kitchens as well as separate bedroom and living spaces with fantastic city views. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and high...

San Diego
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I'm so sorry to hear that other travelers did not experience what we did. Great location first of all but also friendly service, very large suite and our pre-arrival requests were met - high floor, room away from elevator. Could the Wyndham update the furnishings sure - what hotel couldn't? Housekeeping was kind, everything worked, front desk staff efficient and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CEGSanDiego
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

From our hospitable service to our locations, it is great to read that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer. We always hope to pamper our guests at every turn, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and high recommendation.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was very unhappy and disappointed with my stay in this hotel. I am not sure how did they get so many positive reviews. First of all, the front desk wasn't very friendly when I checked in. I understand it's hard to be so upbeat around midnight. So, it didn't bother me. Then I got the key and got into...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Faithandhope20
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

We deeply regret the situation that transpired at the time of your arrival at the hotel. Please be assured that these circumstances were atypical and we hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences. Your comments are being forwarded to our management team to be reviewed further and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I never write reviews, but this deserves one. 1: Booked this hotel because they said they had two double rooms next to each other - lie. 2: Our reservations were wrong when we arrived. - Even though I called to confirm the day before. (and asked if possible to have early check-in) 3: We dropped off our bags at 2pm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KLee01
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

We deeply regret the situation that transpired at the time of your arrival at the hotel. Please be assured that these circumstances were atypical and we hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (303)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (10)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (New) (115)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#320 of 478 in New York City
1,867 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 478 in New York City
10,253 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#129 of 478 in New York City
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#141 of 478 in New York City
377 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#67 of 478 in New York City
1,927 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3301 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Price Range: $245 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Midtown 45 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Midtown 45 staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Midtown 45 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a 1 bedroom deluxe which included a refrigerator, microwave oven, dishwasher and sink. It also had a couch with pull-out bed if necessary. If you have more than two people the bathroom facilities may be a bit cramped.”
 of 5 bubbles Rscline, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Only a few elevators service 33 floors, so be ready to be patient at times.”
 of 5 bubbles 47DOB, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Awesome accommodations!”
 of 5 bubbles lewanab, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Toilets are very modern, but very low. Tub is deep, and a bit difficult to get into. Otherwise, great!”
 of 5 bubbles C1041SEjaneth, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, do not take corner rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles dcn222, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay