We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bowery House

13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bowery House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 427: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Historic spot, like the layout, great for last minute accommodation. Hostel or hotel style available for travelers. My stay was brief and good. Friendly and professional staff. Rooftop is a great chill spot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeyb337
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear joeyb337, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! The Bowery House really is the 'Best in class' for affordable NYC accommodations. Our boutique hostel is set in a vibrant neighborhood. We are close to the subways lines so that you can explore all of New York. Our staff truly cares about guests. So glad you enjoyed the...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 30 October 2015

I've been here twice, the staff always makes you feel welcome. We stayed at the prince room and, although is comfortable to stay a couple of nights, it is really small. I love staying at the Bowery, there are great pizza places to eat around and great bars too! I loved The Vig Bar and The Mulberry Project.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 212alee
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear 212alee, Thank you for your review and recent stay! Our staff loves to help guests enjoy the city. You found some of the great places in our neighborhood. You will find that most NYC rooms are small as space is such a premium. Our goal is to offer affordable accommodations so that you can take your hard earned money...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I recently stayed at the Bowery House for three nights. Its a very, very interesting place and one that has drawn mixed emotions from me. On the one hand the staff were all exceptionally nice and very helpful and welcoming. The building has been nicely restored and the cabins in which you stay, although very small, have been restored handsomely....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mogs1983
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Mogs, Thank you for your stay and review! I'm so glad you enjoyed our staff and cabins. We do have larger cabins. Most people book the Original Cabin because it is the cheapest (and smallest). We have lots of other options too, so book a larger cabin for more room your next stay. As you point out - we...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I've never left a bad review in my life but very much feel the need to do so here; I was completely mislead by the name of this hotel (Which avoids use of the term 'hotel' and is in fact a hostel which I only found out when I arrived) and the photos on display which make it look and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christopher_Lawr3nce
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Christopher_Lawr3nce, Thank you for your review. The Bowery House is clearly described as a hostel so I'm not sure how that was not clear to you. All of our pictures are accurate. Our cabins ceilings are described clearly. Remember, we offer an affordable alternative to the very costly hotels in NYC. Our nightly rates are a fraction of a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Ok I read all the reviews saying it was noisy and dark, rooms are small with short beds, etc. But I thought it would be fine as I'm not super fussy, the location is perfect and the price can't be beat. But I did end up cutting my stay short due to the filth of the bed and shower... So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sphie
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Sphie, Thank you for your stay and review. I am glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and our location. My most sincere apologies about the hair in the bed and shower. All linens are professionally cleaned daily. Our housekeeping staff works around the clock to keep the bathrooms in tip top shape. Clearly, there was a problem and I...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2015

It's not like any other reviews, it's so cozy and it's right in the middle of where everything is at! I'm for sure going back!! The front desk Donna and Gia was amazing and helped me a lot throughout my stay :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank memanuelacosta
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear memanuelasocsta, Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW! Our cozy and affordable cabins in a fun neighborhood make for a great NYC stay. Our staff is always ready and happy to help. We look forward to your next stay with us. Regards, Matthew Dempsey / General Manager

North Wildwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I needed somewhere to crash for the night in NYC last minute and did not have the budget for hotel. Bowery house was perfect. A bed and shower and both clean. Will come back but will probably try one of their bigger cabins with a window

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 153johannag
MJDempsey, Assistant General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

153johannag, Thank you for your five-star review! Providing an affordable, clean, stylish, safe place to stay in NYC is precisely our goal. It sounds like you maybe stayed in one of our Original Cabins, but you're exactly right in that we do provide larger rooms (with the option of having a window). We hope to have you as a guest...

Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I've stayed at the Bowery House a handful of times now and have grown to prefer it over a standard NYC business hotel. Clean, comfortable, great neighborhood (for coffee, food, shops, bars), close to the trains (6, J), free wifi, and cozy common spaces on the main level and rooftop. Duane Reade and Whole Foods nearby for any needfuls. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom B
MJDempsey, Assistant General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

ValpoBo, Thank you for your four-star review! To say that you (after a handful of times staying with us) prefer The Bowery House to a standard NYC business hotel is a compliment we take seriously. It thrills me to hear that you enjoy our location and find our staff friendly and helpful and even engaging (!). Again, thank you for...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 October 2015

My stay here was great! The staff is incredibly accommodating and friendly. The interior design of the lobby is very sultry and moody (in a good way!). The Bowery neighborhood sits among some awesome bars, restaurants, live music venues and subway stops. If you like peace and quiet with total isolation... this is not your place. That being said, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A_Schumer
MJDempsey, Assistant General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

A_Schumer, Thank you for your incredible review of your stay with us at The Bowery House! Our goal is to provide clean, stylish, affordable accommodations in one of the world's most expensive cities. I am so thrilled to hear that you found our staff accommodating and friendly. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our neighborhood. We've put...

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

The concept of the hotel is super cool but the beds are insanely small (and I'm not a tall person!). The bathrooms were quite dirty and the sinks leaked. Overall I slept really badly. It's a real pity because the idea and design of the place are awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giotesei
MJDempsey, Assistant General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

giotesei, Thank you for your recent stay with us. Our cleanliness is constantly mentioned in our reviews so I apologize that was not your experience. It sounds like you maybe booked our Original Cabin. Please know that we do also offer larger cabins (with the option of having a window as well). I am glad to hear that you found...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corner Twin Cabin with Window (15)
Viewed
Full Cabin (14)
Viewed
Shared Bathrooms (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Cabin (9)
Viewed
Twin Cabin with Window (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,338 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,776 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,517 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 467 in New York City
1,346 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
17,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Nolita

Neighbourhood Profile
Nolita
Despite being just off of busy Houston Street, Nolita maintains a low-key vibe that makes it a pleasant retreat in the heart of lower Manhattan. Short for “North of Little Italy,” Nolita was once considered to be part of Little Italy. Today, the neighbourhood is popular with young fashionistas popping in and out of the chic independent boutiques that line Mulberry, Mott and Elizabeth Streets. In addition to shopping, there are cozy restaurants and sidewalk cafes serving everything from new-school Italian food to the world-famous cronuts. While small in size (Nolita stretches just a few blocks in each direction), it’s a great neighbourhood to spend an afternoon people watching, window-shopping, and grabbing a bite to eat.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Price Range: $127 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bowery House staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
9 months ago
San Antonio, Texas

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Bowery House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for window”
jacks-travel88, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring earphones with white noise app you can wear all night! you will be able to sleep better”
Hollandtulips, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you MUST stay here, ensure that you book a room with WINDOWS”
648gretam, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quieter rooms are furthest from the bathrooms”
FazielahWilliams, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In my opinion you don't need to book a room with a window.”
Beckedorf, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 140
Expedia.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates