We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riff Chelsea

Expedia.comUSD 158*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 163*
USD 158*
USD 162*
USD 163*
USD 158*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Riff Chelsea
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have travelled the world extensively and stayed in many different types of accommodation from 5 star hotels to Hostels. This place however is the worst place I have ever encountered. First of all I was charged for two people when it was only myself. When I arrived at the hotel I pointed this out to the reception girl who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djsaxby
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello, Buddy! Sorry, we did not meet your expectations! Here is some clarification! 1.The room that you booked (Private Room with Shared Bathroom) does not have a price point for individual staying in the room. It could be 1 person or 5 persons for example and the price will stay the same. Depending on this room type, bed size is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

New York is an expensive city. You expect things to be expensive. Expensive is one thing, and a total rip-off is another. Riff Hotel falls under the latter category. Paying $120 for a one-night stay in a room that a 6'2" man barely has enough room to lie straight in is nothing short of daylight robbery. To top matters off,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesD2526
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and us, no doubt will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC! We recommend our Premium rooms for more space! Cheers!

Youngstown-Warren, OH
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stayed here for one night while I was in New York and I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel as conspicuously filthy as this one. The carpets were utterly repulsive, and the whole place had a odor that was very unpleasant. The room was so tiny that you couldn't open the door without hitting the bed. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cmsgreek
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC! We always recommend our premium rooms for more space!

Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 March 2017

If I lay in the bed and turned down the lights and only looked at the wall in front of me, it was passable. Thin windows, loud street noise, one rough towel, no wash cloth. Hallways, carpets, stairs absolutely horrible. Depressing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nycvisitor498
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The room was so small I hit my knees on everything. Strange configuration, weird staff that were less than helpful. The hotel was well located near Penn Station but very little food options around. Hiking up a large flight of stairs with bags also difficult. Taxis are very nearby but the street is extremely noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary V
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC! We always recommend our premium rooms for more space!

Willsboro, New York
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Dirty, loud, stained sheets,leaking ceiling and walls. Then charged additional fees for cleaning? $100? Then I found another $100 charge a few days later and had to deal with that Please go elsewhere!!!! Location is perfect but don't get tricked the reviews cannot be real.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul C
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello Paul, We are sorry for not meeting your expectations! After investigating this matter, we have found that you (or your guests) have completely trashed our group suite. That includes food, marijuana smoke, wine and vomit all over our bathrooms and also our beds. It was so bad, that we had to place this room out of commission for a...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 February 2017

we arrived in the middle of the day and found a man in our room. He said he was a mechanic and was sent by the manager. I asked him to go and he said that I had to talk to the manager. After talk to him, the mechanic went off. But he could steal something, there wasn't anybody with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThaisTuyane
Mahopac, New York, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

My fiancé set up this stay and he said it was an easy booking and couldn't beat the price. All we needed was a room for the night. The room seems clean and it was quiet around us, couldn't hear people. Ir also had a tv and bathroom. The only thing was when we arrived and I notified no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle L
somerset
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I have just returned from 11 days here and the hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews I have read. The location of this hotel is brilliant it is right in the middle of everything. If you have never been to new york I suggest a visit to madison square gardens the atmosphere is amazing and it's literally...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kildarechick4
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

first to our arrival someone was assaulted opposite to the hotel, the access stairs is uncomfortable with the luggage, the room is extremely small and at night a mouse is went to bed while sleeping . The front desk staff had non care to this whole situation. Definitely NOT recommended... Next day I change my hotel and lost all my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike B

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (73)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
619 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#426 of 467 in New York City
106 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,318 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 467 in New York City
818 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Price Range: $173 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riff Chelsea staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Riff Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
cmsgreek, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close your eyes the entire time.”
nycvisitor498, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
273PaulC273, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Again noting that there are rooms with and without bathrooms!”
Jreger25, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never, ever stay at the Riff in NY!”
lorenew2013, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 158* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 162
Orbitz.comUSD 158
TripAdvisorUSD 158
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates