We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlton Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Carlton Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Let me start by saying that my mom would hate staying at this place. There's no elevator, nobody leaves a mint on your pillow at night, and it's unabashedly offbeat. If you're the sort of person who would travel to a foreign country and then eat at McDonald's, this is not the place for you. It bears zero resemblance to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Yarnlover
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are well aware of the fact that Carlton Arms is not for everyone. Your accurate description of what the hotel is and isn't will definitely help guests to decide if it's the right place for them. Hope to see you again. Sincerely Management

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There are cats everywhere and so the rooms smell of cat urine. The walls are painted with such demented designs that you genuinely feel like you are in a nightmare. We only booked one night, but nearly left in the middle of the night it was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eleanor S
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience. Carlton Arms is known for being an art hotel for over 30 years and this is very clear if you look at our website. If you didn't feel comfortable we would be happy to find you another hotel. Art is subjective, guest have a choice of rooms when checking in. There...

Montreal
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We recently spent a great weekend in NYC and stayed at the Carleton Arms. We arrived very late (midnightish)and were greeted nicely. We had booked a double room with private bath. The room was very interestingly painted and we especially loved the treasure hunt we happened across when we opened the dresser. The beds, and the bath were just great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dacazano
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 May 2016

this is a budget hotel, but it's very centrally located, and you get exactly what you're expecting. The rooms are clean, as are the (shared) bathrooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and there was usually free coffee in the morning. each of the rooms and hallways are painted, making for a really interesting and quirky environment. this is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca R
New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Coolest Hotel in Manhattan, but a walkup, and some shared baths. Totally worth a look at even if you're not staying or even from NYC. You have to ask to see some rooms, they are all different, done by artists from around the world. There is even a stairway done by Banksy, but you have to find it as he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkCityer
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Yes, hotel is a walk up and there is no elevator. If requested we can always arrange a room on the lowest floor. Good time to get a little tour is early afternoon after check-out time. Thank you.

Goulburn, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

So I only gave The Carlton 3 out of 5 because at the end of the day it is not a luxurious hotel with all the mod cons. BUT For price this place was good in that it was all we expected and more. The good: Warm Clean Location to public transport Central Quiet (apart from sirens from emergency vehicles)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwiroo71
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Carlton Arms is a budget hotel so we do not offer many services but we're happy to help when we can. Please do not hesitate next time to ask for help with your luggage. We have 20 rooms with private bathroom and those are usually booked well ahead of time, if you prefer one make sure to book in advance....

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 April 2016

I spent one week in this hotel and the only positive thing was the location very close to main attractions and nearby subway stations the rest is just a nightmare the room was dirty as hell and super small the staff was unfriendly don't expect a smile or a little help while struggling to bring your luggage up the 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ni0uma
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your recent experience. We're doing our best to make sure every guest have a pleasant stay at the Carlton Arms. All problems you're referring to could off been easily fixed or explained (there is a valve which turns off the heat etc). You should of simply report your problems at the front desk and we...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2016

When I visit the Big Apple, I usually stay at this hotel for the reasons that many of the city's tourist attractions as the Empire State Building and the East and West Villages are within relative walking distances. This makes going to these places by public transit unnecessary as New York is a walker's paradise. The hotel which is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott P
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 January 2016

This is a great place if you are looking for a budget no-frills hotel. It is centrally located provides a bed, a clean shower, a pizza place downstairs. A great home base while in Manhattan. It is a funky little place that me and my kids and the grandparents will remember for a long time to come. They already want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank discobiscuit73
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We were a little wary of booking this place beforehand but ended up being really delighted. If you prefer the standard Holiday Inn style, where everything is spotless, shiny and working in perfect order (and why wouldn’t you?) then this place probably isn’t for you. Our room on the top floor was a little on the dusty side and certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James_and_Guy

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Full Forest Room, Ensuite (19)
Viewed
Double Full Mountain Room, Ensuite (22)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Pink Bed (12)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Zebra Bed (15)
Viewed
European Style Single Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 477 in New York City
1,297 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#314 of 477 in New York City
1,262 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#186 of 477 in New York City
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#381 of 477 in New York City
423 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 477 in New York City
578 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Carlton Arms Hotel

Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Price Range: $94 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carlton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here there are better places in NYC that are cheaper. Get a good nights rest save the art for the museums in town.”
 of 5 bubbles C9555RYcrystalm, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“see the review”
 of 5 bubbles benin0, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quieter on higher floors, but walk p, no handicap access,”
 of 5 bubbles NewYorkCityer, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Accessibility to the hotel is a walk up from the street with fire escapes and little noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles scottp372, 16 Jan 2016 | Read review
“depending on your budget, probably try and get a room with a bathroom attached”
  • View from bed
 of 5 bubbles James_and_Guy, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay