We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Trinity Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Trinity Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Start your review of The Trinity Hotel
 Click to rate
Lewisville, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Liked the hotel and the rooms. We stayed in the safe room. It was very cool. The bed was amazing. Best sleep I have gotten in a long time. Showers and accommodations were really high class. Loved that they had a little coffee shop on the bottom floor. Oh and they don't mention on their website but you get free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afranci5
Gilroy, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spent one night at this elegant hotel. It has been many things prior to being a hotel, including a bank. Our room was spacious with a beautiful modern, and spacious bathroom. The bath amenities were lovely....the kind you want to take with you. The towels were plush and large. The shower had great water pressure. Although tall, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn K
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start with the positives.....The service at the Trinity Hotel is fabulous! From the owner checking us in, to the extremely friendly and attentive waitress at the included breakfast, to refunding our money for the second night due to the problems we had (see below), the great customer service made up for any issues we had. For those who like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhettwarren
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and your understanding.. the bar next door is realitivly new and we had no idea they were hosting an outdoor party that would violate our cities noise laws and fall deaf on the local authorities ears....apparently the police did not enforce the laws as promised.We did what we could by refunding your money,and calling the authorities...

New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, cute restaurant, tastefully decorated, clean comfortable rooms. All rooms are in the upper level and there are no elevators. Lots of steps! We stayed on a Friday night. There is a nightclub nextdoor that had live bands outside. It was very loud throughout the hotel late into the night. We called the police as had other people, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKF0317
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice service and great hospitality. Only New Mexico wines from wine owned by hotel operator. Odd tasting lot. Menu good but execution mediocre. Known as the best restaurant in Carlsbad so be wary of others. Keep to simple preparations (not chicken piccata). Rooms look attractive and well priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donfitzg
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your Trinity experience. Thank you for your patronage and your review. Blessing for your day. janie Balzano

Santa Fe, NM
Reviewed 7 April 2017

The Trinity has a lot going for it--charm, history, unique and beautifully done guest rooms--but some surprising oversights in areas you would think would be a non-issue left me with a less-than-stellar experience. I hope management will take note and go the final distance to make this property the truly great hotel it has the potential to be. It wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie87508
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

I very much appreciate your review... I only wish I had learned of your issues while I could have fixed them.In 201 and most of the rooms there is a secret drawer under the sink .Your dryer was there all along.There was suppose to be a frame with ear plugs inside as you are correct we are unable to even...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We wanted to see Carlsbad Caverns on our tour of NM and found this hotel on Tripadvisor. The reviews were good, and it seemed like it may be the only place in town with a nice restaurant attached. It's an historic building, and the historical society wouldn't allow an elevator, so if you have walking difficulties this wouldn't be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luv2tripalot
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Trinity experience . While we do free tastings at the Trinity the law requires those to be 1 ounce pours... guess that's why they are called tastings! Thank you for your patronage and blessed be your travels. janie Balzano

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The Trinity is a charming, well-run, small hotel (B&B) in downtown Carlsbad on South Canal Street. It's in a historic, renovated 1890's office building with a restaurant on first floor. It is family-owned and operated, and clearly a labor of love judging from the quality of the renovation, style/décor, and it's upkeep. The hotel has 9 rooms, (2 on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby-Likes-Travel
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your Trinity experience and we certainly do hope you will allow us the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Blessings, janie Balzano

Tomball, Texas
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting the Carlsbad area. The hotel is an old bank building that's been renovated into a hotel and restaurant. We stayed in room 101 which is on the bottom floor and has a private entrance at the street. You can park right outside your room. The restaurant was very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newtovegasTexas
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you left due to housekeeping issues ..We state that sheets are changed on the third day (due to water conservation in our desert) unless otherwise directed.We would have gladly done so at anytime.We certainly do apologize for the misunderstanding thank you for your patronage and may your travels be blessed. janie Balzano

Sturgis, South Dakota
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights here and loved it! The hotel was beautifully restored. Our upstairs room had tall ceilings and windows, antique and modern furniture, chandeliers in the hallway, and our private bathroom was huge with an amazing shower. The location was perfect. There was 3 great restaurants within 2 blocks. The staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hillslady
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to leave us such a nice review.We do so appreciate your patronage and we do hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future. Blessings for your day, janie Balzano

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
190 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy your stay in Carlsbad New Mexico in the newly renovated and redesigned Trinity Hotel Suites. Built 1892 as the First National Bank, this historic property once served as home to the first newspaper and headquarters of the Carlsbad Irrigation District. Today the old bank building is home to luxurious over-sized suites appointed with the finest amenities to meet your every need. It also now boasts a fine dining restaurant, wine gift shop, and coffee. Come, stay and lose yourself in the history and the beauty that is the Trinity. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trinity Hotel

Address: 201 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5715
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Price Range: $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trinity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Trinity Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Smithville, United States
4 months ago
Smithville, United States
4 months ago
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Trinity Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As close to the front of the hotel if a Friday or Saturday night.”
JKF0317, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 205 was comfortable, near the rear stairs exit”
luv2tripalot, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is next to a busy street, but they provided ear plugs in our nightstand, which were fine.”
hillslady, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Each room is different and unique - look at the pics on-line!”
josim1208, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Easy access - room 101 ...ground level private entrance.”
WRon, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates