We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Broken Spur Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 517: English reviews
Start your review of Broken Spur Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

King room with whirlpool bath. Nice clean bed with very good mattress. Tub not easy to get in and out of. Shower is in the tub. Not many spaces to place your things. Refrigerator made noises. Windows not clean and awnings had tears over the balcony. But breakfast included delightful baked goods from a bakery on the premises. Fresh hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith L
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. First of all we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our gift shop as well. Jack would be pleased to hear that you loved his hand made bowls. My husband, who is also one of the owners...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 days during August, 2016. The room was clean and had a spectacular view of the sunset. Very convenient to Capitol Reef. A very nice breakfast provided before hitting the hiking trails. Broken Spur also bakes the pies and cookies that are available at the Gifford House in Fruita in Capitol Reef National Park. There is also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We thank you so much for the review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again. Broken Spur

North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This inn has all of the same amenities as any of the chain inns that you can stay at anywhere. However, it does have more charm than an ordinary chain inn. The difference is when you enter the lobby. Instead of just the usual front desk, sitting, and dining area, you are greeted by life-sized statues of a cowboy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and stay with us again. Broken Spur

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in March before the busy season. The breakfast was nice, and we liked the decor. It was also super close to the National Park. The front desk staff were very nice. Despite the hotel being almost empty, we somehow had guests staying all around us, whom we could hear through the walls. Other than that, our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeljamiejohnston
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the kind review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Broken Spur

Anoka, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 1 night while visiting Capital Reef National Park. The rooms are super clean and have plenty of room. Love the Western decore! The restaurant wasn't open during this off season so we ate in town. They still had the free breakfast however- very good. Would definitely stay here again. Reasonable off season rate and no crowds!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again in the future. Broken Spur

Holliston, MA
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We chose this hotel because the restaurant is attached. The room was large & comfortable & reasonably priced. This is a great spot if you are visiting Capitol Reef park - Torrey is right outside of the park. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable - fridge & microwave in the room but breakfast was included (nice buffet). The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheTravelingCs
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again. Broken Spur

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. Clean, quiet, and a nice hot tub to relax in after a long day of hiking. We also enjoyed the breakfast (they have a bakery on site!), dinner, and the beautiful views during our stay. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Par S
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Broken Spur

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here between Christmas and the new year. Out of season so restricted amenities at Broken Spur and the immediate surrounding area. We did find 1 restaurant locally for dinner. We found the breakfast disappointing and lacking in choice and would have preferrednot to have had throwaway plates and cutlery. Perhaps we expect too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alf653
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We do have a full breakfast buffet during the busy season, but since we don't have very many guests during the winter we only have certain things we provide until we start up again. Hopefully you come back and can try our buffet. It is spectacular and our chef's are amazing....

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed at the Broken Spur for 3 nights last August so we could explore Torrey, Capitol Reef, and part of the Grand Staircase - Escalante. The hotel was a perfect base location for our visit. Our room was very comfortable and clean. It was a nice sized room with plenty of room for our family of 5. We spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyOwnBrandOfCrazy
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that our staff was accommodating and made your stay that much more enjoyable. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Broken Spur

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Just found my notes from our October stay in a queen size room that turned out to be the handicap room, Unit 23, which we did not need. It had very basic and older furniture, although an upgraded TV. (Another traveler recently posted pictures). The chairs were only comfortable with a pillow in it. The lampshade over the table should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shock43
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We only have four single queen sized rooms and two of them are handicap sized. We would have gladly upgraded you to a double queen room, it is only $10 more. We are actually upgrading all of our furniture in all of the rooms and unfortunately we can't get...

486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (265)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (32)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
King Suite with Jetted Tub (35)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.8 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.8 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.2 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
553 reviews
0.5 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.0 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Broken Spur Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $126 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Broken Spur Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are out the back, on the lobby side.”
 of 5 bubbles michaeljamiejohnston, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great views in any direction .. walk around the grounds and there are views every direction.”
 of 5 bubbles Photo777, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cute, family inn”
 of 5 bubbles Beth246810, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to eat breakfast here even if you do not eat dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles GilB867, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its a small hotel so I think the rooms are very much the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Utahgal-Cheryl, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5