We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Sands Hotel

Booking.comUSD 143*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 167*
USD 143*
USD 167*
USD 143*
USD 167*
USD 143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 486: English reviews
Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is a basic motel, 2 stories, no elevator. Rooms in the back have a nice rural view. The bed was confortable. The breakfast is very basic, no fruits. The carpet and bathroom could have been cleaner. No restaurants on premise, you have to take the car to have lunch or supper. They have a nice spa and indoor pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anectine
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry that your room wasn't as clean as we expect them to be, but we're glad that you enjoyed our heated pool and hot tub. We're planning updates to the food offerings at our hotel, so we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Roosevelt, Utah
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Clean, mostly quiet stay. Average breakfast, but stay and breakfast was well priced for a quick overnighter. Loved the Torrey area, close to many things we like to see and do.I would stay here again. Didn't get a chance to use pool or hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zbestbiker
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the area. We hope you'll visit us again soon and get a chance to use our heated pool and hot tub!

maryland
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Although a very basic hotel, the Red Sands prove to be a quiet comfortable one night stay. Appears this hotel is popular with bus tours so large groups come and go, but do so pretty quietly. The breakfast was reasonable . My only suggestion would be for the front desk staff to be better trained to be more professional in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travler1976
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will certainly take your comments about our staff into account for future training. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Tacoma, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The Red Sands Hotel was a clean and convenient place to stay for our trip through Capitol Reef National Park. We asked for recommendations for dinner and were encouraged to try Cafe Diablo. What a delicious meal! Only the continental breakfast was a disappointment. Few options. I will recommend this property to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marsha W
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you were pleased with our staff's dinner recommendation and found your stay enjoyable. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Howell, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the Red Sands Hotel. Ok, the decor is a little dated, but our room was very clean and comfortable. Great for a good night's sleep after a busy day hiking at Capitol Reef. I was traveling with my parents and they definitely appreciated that there was a king sized bed for them and a queen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notsuzy
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you and your parents found the room comfortable. We're planning updates to our hotel (including decor), so we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I was a little concerned when we were given a room overlooking the highway. However, we all slept soundly and none of us had a complaint about traffic noise. The room was clean and comfortable. I would compare it to a Comfort Inn level room. The breakfast was not fancy but it was plentiful and it had something for everyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vatrips431
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you had a good experience with your room and breakfast, and we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

new jersey
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Red Sands hotel while we were exploring the Moab area. Beautiful location, peaceful with little balconies and a lovely view, wonderful staff, and easy walking distance to several restaurants. The hot tub and breakfast were both wonderful. We highly recommend you stay in this facility if you want to relax after a busy day. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwhenyoucan60
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you used our hotel as a home base to explore this beautiful area. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

When I made the reservation in May for our October trip, I was on the phone for abotu 10 minutes making sure that we would have a room on the ground floor. We are on a several week driving trip and we have a lot of stuff. This hotel has no elevator, even though it is two stories. So we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcwill10
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your customer service experience was not at the high standard we expect from our employees, and we will make sure to incorporate your comments in future training (especially with keeping track of bottom floor requests). We are planning updates to our property, so we hope you'll give us another...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

This was a perfect country accommodation. It is rustic, clean and perfectly located for travelers visiting the Capitol Reef, Escalante, By-Way 12 and Goblin Valley areas. The pet friendly room was modestly furnished and very spacious. We would definitely stay here again. We would love to sit on the patio with the fire pit and watch the horses another evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you found our hotel to be exactly what you needed. We hope you'll visit and relax on our patio again soon!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Capitol Reef NP Visitors Center. Our room was on the first floor overlooking some red rocks in the distance. It was absolutely clean and quiet. The pool and whirlpool area was clean as well. The breakfast was good and the checkout very efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ena G
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the view and were able to relax at our hotel. We hope you'll come back to Capitol Reef very soon!

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
3.2 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.6 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
680 reviews
1.3 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.4 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.9 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: $144 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Co
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the back to see the horses and mountains!”
768kristinem, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to look at, horses, pasture, mountains or the red rocks”
kathybN4768ZX, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side, opposite from the road, look out on range land.”
F6362PJjamesb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a room in the back”
anectine, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room & when making your reservation get the name of the person you talk to or else you will not get the room you want.”
bcwill10, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 143* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 143
TravelocityUSD 143
TripAdvisorUSD 143
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates