We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Show Prices
#82 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
Start your review of Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
 Click to rate
Poway, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As a manager of customer service for 25 + years, I have to say these folks are way above being great. Our company had our yearly meeting and the service and communication was incredible. Especially Yvette Martinez and Todd the help with anything guy. Yvette was the one who went out of her way to help a couple in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tkaje
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed this week with my boyfriend and I had an amazing time. The views were incredible, the staff was friendly and attentive, and the food was amazing. I was able to receive a massage during my stay and Pete was wonderful. My boyfriend was in town for a seminar and, as a result his schedule was a little wonky;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience Kevin V! I'm so pleased that you found our staff so attentive to your needs. Pete and Kelly will certainly appreciate your feedback on their service! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I really wanted to give 5 stars. But room was small. But very quiet which is good. Food was very good. The special was excellent. Even during the seminar. Views were good. If I go back it has got to be a larger room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FredN47
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank for your lovely review! I'm so pleased to hear that your had a lovely seminar with us, and enjoyed our food and views. On your next visit, be sure to check out our private beach area (we are fortunate to have one of the few in California)! We are more than happy to assist in booking a larger room...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Kona Kai Resort a year and a half ago and had a good stay. So we booked again. What a let down! On this visit we were "upgraded" upon arrival. Our "upgraded" room included rusty shower bars, peeling paint on the tiles, peeling paint around the tub and a shower head that barely worked. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rustynail78
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We truly appreciate the feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. I have sent you a message, as I would greatly appreciate a moment of your time to discuss the specifics of your experience. Thank you.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in for a quiet weekend away and had been attracted by the photographs of the resort on Tripadvisor. By the next morning we couldn't wait to check out - the facilities were tired and in need of renovation and the overall atmosphere - including of the staff - was morose and indifferent. The value for money was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcopard
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant visit. We consistently receive very positive feedback about our rooms and our staff, but we are always looking for ways to improve our attention to detail and service. Please rest assured that we will use your review as a training opportunity for our team. If possible, I would truly appreciate a moment of...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor service almost no staff available. There is a buiding construction going on and the hotel does not arrange any assistance for incoming guest. The price of the rooms does not reflect the auaility of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob S
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. Please accept my apologies that your visit did not go as planned. I am so sorry to hear about the issues you faced during your stay with us. Quality of service is consistently at the top of our list, and I'm disappointed that our efforts fell short of your expectations. I have sent a direct...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a long weekend trip to the Kona Kai two weeks ago and had an absolutely great stay. I spent a lot of time at the pool, on their beach, and gazed at the yachts parked at their marina. The service was five stars, with everyone at the front desk being very accommodating and prompt with my sometimes odd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noah S
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience! I am happy hear you had such an exceptional stay with us. Our staff strives to give our guests a unique personalized experience, and I'm pleased you were able to experience our staff in so many areas of the resort. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Even though it was off season they seemed to fill their rooms. They would not accommodate our request for 3 rooms close together even though we made the reservations months in advance. The rooms were ok and the view of the harbor was good. The bar and restaurant were excellent. Good wifi, but not good enough for streaming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy C
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the view from your rooms, as well as the restaurant. However, I am disappointed we were unable to accommodate your request for rooms close together. We are committed to accommodating as many of our guest requests as possible, as room locations are not guaranteed. I apologize we were...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Show up at 1am for room I reserved 2 months ago to be told no rooms available. 48 hours ago I called Kona Kai to confirm room and was told I had a Bay View and king bed. Unacceptable! Reception got me a taxi and sent me to a hotel in downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason N
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize we were unable to accommodate your recent reservation at our resort. We are constantly focused on improving our guest experience, and your comments will be shared with our team. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Kona Kai on your next stay in San...

Bensenville, IL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time here celebrating our wedding. We had prepaid everything for 5 days. When we got there the place is under construction, the pool was being re-done. Are they advertising any of this? No. At least have some consideration to give your customers a choice on whether other not they want to spend their vacation here under...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise B
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team, as we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Also, as you may have seen in some of our recent reviews, we are upgrading our...

589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
King Room with Pool View (37)
Viewed
Pool Area (24)
Viewed
Queen Room with Bay View (31)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,941 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the tip of Shelter Island, the southern California vibe emanates at our beachfront hotel in San Diego. Sun, surf and sea create the tropical essence of our beachfront hotel in San Diego. With a rich history steeped in the beat and bravura of Polynesian and Spanish Colonial, Kona Kai Resort & Spa is a restyled creation of fresh, fun elegance punctuated by casual luxury. Fresh off a $22 million dollar transformation, the updated property features newly renovated bathrooms with glass enclosed showers in every guestroom, revitalized common areas and a luxurious spa, SpaTerre, offering the finest services from all over the world. Perfect for an executive meeting, a surprise getaway or a romantic wedding, Kona Kai Resort & Spa offers the right space for the right occasion. You'll find that space amidst quiet, private beaches, lush tropical gardens, astounding bay and marina views along San Diego's most magnificent stretch of waterfront. Relax poolside while you take in the view of Kona Kai Marina from the Tiki Bar or zip around the San Diego Bay on jet skis and see the city from a new perspective. Kona Kai Resort & Spa is the perfect place to start living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Address: 1551 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $281 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Hotel San Diego
Kona Kai Resort San Diego
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not on the marina side or you risk a party on the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles rustynail78, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take upper floor but there is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles robsT5689VR, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The marina side offers beautiful views reminiscent of Southern Europe”
 of 5 bubbles tjstroik, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can choose a marina view or a view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles LorissSharen, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take the bay view. The marina side is only for people who want to look at somebody else's expensive boat -- lots of them.”
 of 5 bubbles winst0n4, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5