We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The US Grant

Show Prices
#48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The US Grant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The US Grant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,260: English reviews
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Service was great. We wanted a quiet relaxing time and made the mistake of booking a downtown hotel during San Diego's huge Halloween weekend. Fortunately for us the Manager and staff made sure that we had a great relaxing time. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and well decorated. We strongly recommend the hotel. They will take care of you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Service is impeccable unless you have a problem. The rooms are old and have an awful stench. The housekeeping was extremely noisy. They were slamming doors, clanking glasses, and basically having a little "get together" outside of our room. Called the front to complain, they said they would look into and call us back but they didn't. It just went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Evette32648
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Dear Evette32648, Allow us to express our sincere apologies for not providing you with a comfortable and relaxing stay. You must have felt very frustrated for not receiving suitable accomodations and most importantly, for not receiving exceptional service from our ambassadors. We take your comments very seriously since we give great importance to the quality of our service culture. Thank...

Lewiston, Idaho
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is beautiful and the staff is exceptional. The staff were always kind, courteous and helpful. Loved that they gave us cold water bottles when leaving the hotel for the day at the Valet station. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the maid service was excellent as well. Will definitley recomment this hotel in the future. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannonm69
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

I had a great 4 night stay at The Grant hotel. Valet was great at greeting I at the door, gave us free cold bottled water as we were leaving each time to go out which is a great touch! Reception was prompt professional and very courteous! The maids also did a great job. We stayed at a signature suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HammadTor
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

HammadTor, whether travelling with the family or alone we value your stay! We are happy to hear that the Signature Suite suited your expectations. These are very nice rooms and offer a family to all be in the same room together and have the space to be comfortable. For those looking for suites with separate bedding areas from living areas...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was a little leery of booking The US Grant, not knowing how kid-friendly it would or wouldn't be, for a weekend getaway for hubby, my 15-month old son, and me. The concern was unfounded and every person we encountered at the hotel reinforced why we love Starwood's Luxury Collection. It's all about the details! When we arrived, our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weluvspg
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Greetings WeLuvSPG! Your pen name says it all and we appreciaet your loyalty. Thank you for all the positive observations you made during your stay. Your recognition of our very own Lee Ann and Merri are welcome and appreciated and we have recognized them for their achievements! Please come visit us again soon and until then, happy global explorations, Sincerely,...

Prospect Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was traveling for business and this was my first encounter with the west coast. The room was beautiful and the staff was super friendly. Every morning when I left they would ask if I wanted a bottle of water, needed directions or a suggestion on where to go. they were very attentive and helpful. I only have two little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngraham529
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The room had a terrible musty smell but I was able to open the windows part way and air it out. There was no dresser, or any furniture that had drawers in it. I found one very small drawer in the nightstand that had a previous guests socks in it, that's all that would fit. So everything went on hangars...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Djd63
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Greetings DJD 63, We clearly did not achieve a successful stay with you. Our sincerest apologies on not being able to exceed your expectations. From our historic heritage to our downtown location we were left wanting in your eyes. If there was one ray of light in your stay we are happy to hear that it was with our ambassadors...

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I checked out early Sunday morning and after I got home I noticed they added a $71 charge to my billing and e-mailed it to me. It was a charge from a lobby bar that I have never even been in. I have called the accounting department and left a message three times and they have not called back. Terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJWLGG
yuma, arizona
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I have stayed here many times and that is why we chose it again. This time it was like sleeping in the ghetto due to the outside noise. Fighting, screaming,bottle breaking that went on intermittently throught the night and was punctuated multiple times with police and ambulance sirens. We could here the people next door and they were not especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vetvet1234
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

VetVet1234, We truly appreciate your sentminents with our downtown location. Some global explorers see the Gaslamp as a historic tour through San Diego's past, present and future and for others as a congested downtown hub. Either way, we welcome your trip and for having selected us this time and in the past as your home for the nights you were...

london
Reviewed 22 October 2012

What a nice stay- the room was amazing- very beautiful interior with huge mirrors and art on the walls. Small bathroom with no bath but the latter is normal in CA apparently. We had some room service which was very decent. The layout is a bit awkward but thats partly down to the size- huge!- and the gym is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grinchee

1,136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (937)
Viewed
Room/Suite (293)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (208)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (84)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (269)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,886 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
1,460 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4,810 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range: $285 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The US Grant staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The US Grant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Grand Deluxe Guest Room with a view of Horton Plaza! Very Nice”
  • Grand Deluxe Guest Room. Corner Room with view of Horton Plaza.
  • Grand Deluxe Guest Room. Corner Room with view of Horton Plaza.
  • Grand Deluxe Guest Room. Corner Room with view of Horton Plaza.
 of 5 bubbles Karli_McAlees, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upgraded suite is very spacious. The bed is super comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles chicagoandrew2017, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“dont take rooms on low level.. i had a room on teh 4th floor and it was noisy at the early morinig”
 of 5 bubbles l0aih, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms will be much quieter than street side ones, so book accordingly”
 of 5 bubbles bethl2016, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There might be street noise”
 of 5 bubbles HaoyuR, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5