We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Surgeres, France
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We were disappointed when we arrived at the Motel as it did not quite live up to the hype on the website. Nothing bad about the place, just average and the rooms looked quite dated. Staff were friendly, pool nice breakfast good and excellent location. The only negative was/is the noise insulation between rooms. We stayed two nights and heard...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suenpeter37
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We will strive to improve what we have here. I hope we were a value for you. Thank you again for giving us a try and providing feedback.

North Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 29 May 2015

like the area room clean a chair in room would have been nice after lots of walking need back rest not siting on bed or desk seat was clean staff answer questions friendlier at check out but was good and would stay again but with a chair in room HAHA

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cyndi150
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Cyndi. We appreciate your business and comments. Clearly we will have to get another permanent chair in the room. Thanks for letting us know.

Hercules
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Although the staff was nice to us, the place was less than mediocre. We found dirty pillow cases and sheets with hairs. The bathroom sink releases foul odor. Equipment inside the room were dusty. Carpet was dirty.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenniferF9590BY
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience Jennifer. I apologize that it did not go so well. If you ever encounter something at our property you do not like, please let us know, we will see that it is corrected immediately. I will admit that no guest service team is free of mistakes, but I am shocked to hear of the...

Irvine
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Always stay here due to the location. Great for sailing regattas at nearby San Diego Yacht Club. The staff are friendly and hotel layout is very convenient. In fact we have found the location within walking distance to many restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank breensm
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again. We are very pleased you find our accommodation convenient and our staff friendly. We aim to please. We look forward to seeing you next time, thank you for sharing your experience.

Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 12 May 2015

This was a nice place to sleep, clean room and bath, cool a/c, great cable. My room was right next to custodial and maintenance though so there was a lot of doors slamming early morning. Great continental breakfast in the lobby, hot coffee, toast, muffins, yogurt, oatmeal. Plus this is right next to a fish market where friends told me...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelenobles
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience Michele. My staff and I appreciate your comments and are grateful for your business. We will work on our staff noise, to be sure our guests are not disturbed. We like to be visible and available, but not in that context. We will keep doing our best, thank you for your review.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 10 May 2015

It earned one star because the location is very close to airport but not too close to get jet noise. When we walked into the room that was on the first floor, real bad moldy smell welcomed us. The whole place is wore out. It comes with breakfast, served bakeries, apples and orange. The receptionist refused to give me receipt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C L
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

I am so disappointed to hear of your experience. My staff and I appreciate your comments and will investigate the smell you mentioned. As I tell all guests, if you do not like a guestroom as you enter, let us know and we will make sure you get a guestroom that is pleasing. The last thing my staff and I...

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 9 May 2015

I traveled to San Diego to spend time with my daughter. I was looking for the dog friendly hotels because I was bringing my dog along. Soo happy that I found this place! From the first phone call to book hotel the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location is amazing! It's like having a Marina in your back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lena227
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. My staff and I are delighted to hear that we were a good value to you and your daughter. We could not be more pleased than to know you enjoyed your stay and will return. We are grateful for your business.

Reviewed 8 May 2015

When I walked into the room at first floor, it smelled terrible. The bed was very uncomfortable. The place is pretty ran down, the wall, windows and lights all wore out. The breakfast has bakeries and apple plus orange. It was ok. That earned 1 points. The other point earned as location close to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A M
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Most of our guests enjoy our beds, they are Sealy and were purchased within 2 years. The smell you mentioned is concerning. Please allow us to offer you a room that agrees with all of your senses next time, we certainly do not want you stay in a room that you...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in April. The bedroom and bathroom were clean. The hotel is conveniently located, close to the airport, a few great restaurants and San Diego downtown. I would recommend this place if you are looking for some place inexpensive and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poorni A
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We cold not be more pleased than to know that you found our accommodation to be comfortable and a good value. We are grateful for your business and are motivated to keep improving our guests' experience.

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Staff was really nice and great at accommodating our requests. Room was clean and well supplied. Loved that it was within walking distance to restaurants. Enjoyed the views of the bay. The breakfast was disappointing. We had enjoyed waffles at other Vagabond Inns and was sorry to see such a sparse offering here, however for the price and the free...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise Y
vagabondGM, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Denise. We are very pleased we will have the opportunity to serve you again should you need a place to stay in our area. We pay close attention to your comments and will keep working on enhancing the size and scope of our continental breakfast. My staff and I are grateful for your business.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
130 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#141 of 279 in San Diego
1,292 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#108 of 279 in San Diego
715 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 279 in San Diego
1,337 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Address: 1325 Scott Street, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Estes Park, Colorado
over a year ago
Valley Ford, CA
over a year ago
Valley Ford, CA
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Change carpet & remodel bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles dymond_girl70, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room itself was very nice, we had the kitchenette above the office, but it gets loud with traffic since it fronts Scott St. Nothing can be done about that except for us to specifically request the other kitchenette when we need a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles efmurph, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I always ask for a ground floor due to all of the very expensive fishing gear I have. It is heavy and bulky so I don't want to carry it upstairs. ”
 of 5 bubbles 864GregoryW, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a ground floor room as there is no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraF388, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I feel that the second floor rooms would be more secure.”
 of 5 bubbles sweetpeaw, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5