We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Inn San Diego

Show Prices
#41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kings Inn San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,852 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Inn San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,643: English reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

We were a little concerned when we pulled up since it looked dated, but that was deceiving. They really did a great job with the updates - it looks all retro inside but newly updated to look that way and embrace the cheesiness, the rooms were cute with a little balcony and we even enjoyed walking up the stairs. Super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffoFett
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed a total of 7 nights and was very satisfied indeed. Discovered the outside undercover seating area which is very nice. Lovely place to relax apart from your room or the poolside on a warm day. The standard of cleanliness was first class. I was very impressed to see that there was a chair lift by the swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marva B
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your seven night visit to San Diego. We are happy to read how pleased you were with many aspects of the hotel and your stay. And we appreciate your accolades. We hope you have continued pleasant travels while visiting the U.S. and thank you for sharing your experience.

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful. The service was great and very accommodating. Our room was clean & nicely decorated. Loved to pool area. Overall very welcoming atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanacm
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your room and the comforts of Kings Inn and are especially pleased to know that you would choose us again when traveling to San Diego.

Auburn, California, United States
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We stayed for four nights. We normally dont stay at motels but we chose this one because it had good reviews and it was at hotel circle which is a central location. Although it is located on a major street once inside of the room it is very quiet. It also had a refrigerator .An older motel but kept up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindyia
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay and found your room clean and comfortable and our staff friendly. We appreciate the clarification as to why you designated 3 stars. (because we are a motel and not a hotel) This gives us an opportunity to clarify how TripAdvisor ratings are intended. Unlike...

Dallas
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This Inn had good rates compared to the others, and it was just fine for our needs. Our room was on the second floor toward the back. It was nice but bathroom was very tight. Little fridge wasn't working and smelled moldy (that was a downer). There was a consistent noise even when the AC was off! That was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

It is disappointing to learn that you were not happy with some facets of your stay. It seems we missed the mark in a few areas and we apologize. Thankfully, we are pleased to see that the Waffle Spot redeemed us. We appreciate you sharing your experience.

Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewed 28 May 2016

First sight of outside housing is old, but room inside is surprisingly great. Clean bed helps sleep much. I enjoyed shower facility, after took shower with hot water, my daily job stress disappeared. I recommend it to people who has business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZLiang
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

We cannot really balk at the description of "old" for Kings Inn. Our hotel is nearly 60 years old. But just as with people, some hotels maintain their vitality better with age. We are glad you found this to be true. We appreciate your recommendation to business travelers. Thank you.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We decided to stay here because we were looking for a reasonably placed motel in good location. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the place was. There room we stayed in was very clean and looked to be newly remodeled. It was also very quiet. The pool and hot tub area were also nice. The motel did not include a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

We are glad that your expectations were exceeded when you stayed at Kings Inn. Thank you for trying both the Waffle Spot and the Amigo Spot while staying with us and for sharing your review. We definitely try to remain competitive and reasonable in our rates. As summer approaches rates will be higher. We always recommend booking as far in...

Biloxi, Mississippi
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

After tons of research we decided to book here based on past travelers reviews. We were super happy. You can't beat it for the price. Especially compared to other hotels. It's in the same area of most more expensive hotels. The staff was very nice. Our room was larger than expected. It was very clean too. We stayed 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JackiThorn
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for doing your due diligence and for trusting the reviews posted by our guests. We are glad to see we lived up to your expectations and are pleased that you have added your recommendation. We appreciate your review.

Reviewed 26 May 2016

You get what you pay for , the room was nice in clean the front desk staff was wonderful Luna was a sweet heart explain everything I need to know , Its was close to ever thing I wanted do Old Town , Gaslamp, beaches was no more then 5 to 10 min away . THE WAFFLE SPOT YUMMY ......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K. J
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for recognizing Luna for her service. We love to read how our staff make the difference. Hopefully, the musty odor was abated quickly when you alerted the desk and we are glad it did not detract from your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 26 May 2016

Room was ok. Very nice reception area. Location was ok but due to the near freeway a little bit loud. Big pool in nice area. Don' miss the great breakfast in the new renovated Amigo spot (10% after check-in :o)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birgit B
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you were pleased with the hotel and our breakfast diner, the Waffle Spot. All guests get discounts for both restaurants at check in and can ask for additional coupons whenever they need them. We hope everyone decides to dine with us during their stay.

810 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (387)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (153)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Executive Suite (48)
Viewed
Family Suite (73)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional Double Queen Room (52)
Viewed
Traditional King Room (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#20 of 278 in San Diego
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#102 of 278 in San Diego
697 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Amigo Spot
Amigo Spot
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kings Inn San Diego staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question
Vancouver, Canada
12 days ago
Shaw, United Kingdom
27 days ago
Peoria, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Inn San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In back gets you away from freeway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles CyberEdge, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose pool view second floor”
 of 5 bubbles 952muralit, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility to second floor is by stairs, but staff will bring your luggage (and you) up and down by service elevator on request.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzySushi2014, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend getting a room on the ground floor to avoid the steps with luggage and the like.”
 of 5 bubbles LVAJ, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles AMWD5, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay