We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Expedia.comUSD 213*
View Deal
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 213*
USD 214*
USD 213*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Stayed here last April 1st, the valet man asked me for parking fee which is $32 i gave them cash $35 when i checked out around 11am it was 2 white guy who is working that day. When i checked my CC i saw a charge exact amount of $32 added to my room charge. I asked my sister to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jakeandsam09
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi jakeandsam09. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're very sorry to hear about your predicament. The company who manages our valet is contracted by our hotel, so while they're not our direct employees, we can certainly get to the bottom of what happened. In contacting our hotel, please ask to speak to the General Manager...

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on business, so I am honestly not too sure of the rates. However, the rate TA is showing me seems very high for this hotel. The room itself was adequate, and I have no complaints. It's a very average room, perhaps a bit more modern than surrounding hotels. The problem is the location, it's not in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Andrew S. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. While we're not in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, we do try to compete on price, as you are correct in mentioning that we are in a different area of downtown. During your next stay, we're happy to share with you some of...

washington dc
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stayed here 2 nights will not stay again. It is within walking distance of the marina and stores but the walk is littered with "skid row" types and the smells that accompany such individuals. The hotel itself is very dingy and in need of serious renovations. The two women who checked me in early were really great, however the man...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reachteresa
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, reachteresa. We apologize for the late shuttle and unfriendly evening staff. We will share your feedback with management to insure these issues do not happen again in the future. Unfortunately, there is a homeless problem downtown, creating an issue for not just our hotel, but all hotels...

North Qld
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Never had such terrible service at a hotel....went to the lobby to purchase a $3 snack from their "pantry" adjacent to reception as there is no mini bar in the room - due to their being no credit card on file for our conference group the front office supervisor who was also the manager on duty insisted I return to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjaaus
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi jjaaus. We're sorry to hear that our hotel policy did not accommodate your needs. Unfortunately in these situations, we have to enforce the same rules for every guest, whether their purchase is $3 or $300. We respect all of our guests and want to provide them with a great experience, and we apologize for our policies not accommodating your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

All in all a very nice hotel. No problems with the internet but the phone in the room didn't work. (They replaced it.) room service was timely and good. A little noisy, but not too bad for a business traveler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck I
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Chuck I., Thank you for taking time to write this review! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay while in San Diego! We hope you stay with us again while visiting San Diego. Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Very close to the airport and the downtown nothing to do very close you need to walk 15 min to get to little Italy which is great The hotel is not new but it is well maintained, I just got a problem with the bathroom they asked me don't use it in the am because of problems in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Domenico C
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Domenico C., Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown. I apologize for the engineering issue you experienced during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and have fallen short of that during your stay. I will ensure this is addressed with our Maintenance Department. Again, thank you for choosing us...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a week with my son daughter in law and 16 month old baby we had 2 rooms with an internal door so we could go between the 2 rooms, the room were big enough and clean my only criticism would be the air con. which was quite loud and could not find any instructions on how to operate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet Y
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Janet Y., Thank you for your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your trip to San Diego. We are in the process of upgrading our thermostats which will hopefully make it less confusing. I hope you choose us again when your travels...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Nothing like a nice warm " welcome back " from the hotel doorman named Dan ! It's been a couple weeks and he still remembered me like a family member ! Since I travel for a living , it's nice to feel remembered by a staff member upon arrival , it's like coming home . I love this property and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHXman55
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

PHXman55, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this awesome review! Dan is a great asset to our hotel and I am delighted to know he made a positive impact during your stay. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon! Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Murrieta Ca
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We recently held our Rehearsal Dinner at this hotel in their beautiful room on the 16th floor. Beautiful view, great food and excellent staff. Tamika Jackson, Event Coordinator worked closely with us ro ensure that the event was perfect. Kenny, the Food and Beverage Manager was also very helpful along with the young lady who was the bartender. Most of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beachbunny59
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Beachbunny59, Thank you taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review! I will make sure to share this with the entire team. We enjoyed hosting your group at our property! We hope to see you again soon! Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Oakland, California
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We spent some time here. Very easy to get on and off the free way. We walked down to the water to look at the boats. It was a nice walk to Seaport Village. We had dinner and drinks in Little Italy. The hotel was clean and easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliana Y
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Juliana Y., Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Little Italy and Seaport Village are some of my favorite parts of Downtown that are accessible by foot. I hope you choose us as your home away from home for your future travels. Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (19)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (12)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (10)
Viewed
King Executive (19)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
578 reviews
La Pensione
#118 of 279 in San Diego
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. Our guests can enjoy an onsite restaurant and bar, free WiFi, and a complimentary airport shuttle. Our San Diego hotel has a newly renovated lobby and restaurant, and guest rooms are currently being renovated as well. To stay in a renovated room, request a lower floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-3003
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $194 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it is a round building. Mostly view a city view. But has 16 floors.”
toddl959, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Be careful Valet Man will Scam you and put the money in their pocket!”
jakeandsam09, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a view of the Bay!”
beachbunny59, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the higher floors and south side. We were on north side and could hear the traffic outside.”
jodylk, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors so you can be away from the freeway noise.”
RioE, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 213* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 214
PricelineUSD 213
Booking.comUSD 213
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates