We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Porto Vista Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Porto Vista Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Porto Vista Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,850: English reviews
Encinitas, California
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I stayed at this hotel this weekend for a night downtown. I live about 40 minutes north and had a party to go to. The location is stellar. Within 5 minutes your down by the waterfront and walking along little italy peering into restaurants. I had read previous reviews and I was a little scared since I used priceline for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmangam
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Guest! Thank you so much for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel. We are happy to hear that our prime location was enjoyed, your accommodations were clean and comfortable, and that our staff was helpful! Thank you for your feedback, we are implementing maps through out our facility to help guide our guests. Our texting system is to help create...

Manipal, India
Reviewed 31 October 2015

This is located close to little italy, stayed here along with the friends during the conference.The hotel provides a free shuttle which is a big plus and also free breakfast if included in your booking. Expect bread in the breakfast menu which is missing. Overall had a nice stay, definitely will stay here again next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoorneshP
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others! We are happy to hear that the location was in your favor and a bonus during your time in San Diego. Glad that you were able to utilize our free shuttle for our guests as well! Sorry to hear that you missed the bread sign in our Glass...

Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I visited Porto Vista The Glass Door on Thursday afternoon and had a wonderful experience at The Glass Door. The Happy Hour is awesome as well as the drinks. I was very fortunate to have Jersey prepare my drinks. She was very friendly and provided an unbelievable customer experience as well as delicious cocktails. Make sure you ask for Jersey...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gilbert G
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This hotel looks great from the outside but is old and rundown in the rooms. I was severely bitten while staying there and let the front desk know. For weeks after my stay I and attempted to speak with a manger and got the run around. For the price the rooms were not at all what you pay for ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cporn
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, C-PORN Thank you for your feedback on your stay in January. I’m sorry to hear your stay was not less than satisfying. Over the last 10 months from your stay the hotel has undergone multiple changes from room renovations, preventive maintenance programs and change in management and staff. The goal of the management staff is to ensure every guest...

San Diego, California, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2015

It was so nice to see Jersey again back at The Glass Door! My girlfriend and I had an amazing evening with our favorite bartender bartender in San Diego. Jersey is always so kind and attentive; it really made our evening special. I love this place! Thank you to Porto Vista, The Glass Door, and most of all... Jersey! We'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Scott, It's pleasing to hear that you had returned to Porto Vista and Glass Door with both ending in amazing experiences! We are glad that you made a connection with Jersey, she's wonderful and definitely leaves a memorable impression. We can't wait to have you back! Best, Porto Vista Management

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Room was dated. Overlooked a courtyard without any air circulation. Mold bathroom toilet tank. Dark. Room safe only worked sometimes (battery held in with duck tape.) Staff was very responsive. Great location. Price reasonable for the area. May suck it up and stay there again because of location and staff, or pay extra for one of the balcony rooms. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn, Thank you for your recent stay at the Porto Vista Hotel. Our goal is to make sure your guest have a great stay and we are very sorry that it did not happen while you were here. Your feedback on the areas we can improve is helpful for us to make the changes. We hope we see you...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

I flew into San Diego around 8:30 am with plans to meet up with family. Unfortunately, my family got stuck in LA traffic on their way down so I had to kill 3 hours. I called Porto Vista Hotel to see if there was any chance I could check in early and drop my luggage off. Anthony E. was more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie M
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad you were able to make a connection with Anthony and Jose. They are both dedicated to customer service and positively influencing our guests experience. We appreciate you letting us know and we will definitely share your gratitude to them as well! We can't...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel could be so much better if they tried just a little be harder. It's attractive and in a good location in Little Italy. The Harbor Suite is spacious and nicely decorated. The mini bar was not stocked, even with water. The elevator works to get to the floor but to leave, did not. Several times we pushed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trista t
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trista, Thank you for your recent stay at the Porto Vista Hotel. We are sorry to hear that our staff did not excel your expectations. Our goal is to make sure your guest have a great stay in every aspect. Your feedback on the areas we can improve is helpful for us to make the changes. We hope we...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The Porto Vista Hotel was a great home base for us when we visited San Diego. It's a well maintained 3 star hotel, and it good for those on a budget. It was close to the downtown core and was within walking distance to great restaurants and sights. The staff was super helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorldTravelingGypsy
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We work hard to make every guest's stay a memorable one. The location of our hotel adds convenience and excitement to our guests visit, we are glad that it worked out great for you. We can't wait to have you back and we plan to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding that took place in the Imperial Beach area but wanted to be close to all activities. It was a conveniently located hotel in Little Italy, close to the airport. Room was well appointed, bathroom a little on the small side, room had a musty smell but if the door was left open for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
Nav_Mary, Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Emma, Thank you for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel. We are glad to hear that the location made your trip that much sweeter! We hoped you enjoyed the wedding and that you will return to the Porto Vista Hotel on your next trip to San Diego. Best, Porto Vista Management

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (130)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Other (19)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard King (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (75)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 279 in San Diego
535 reviews
La Pensione
#108 of 279 in San Diego
518 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
1,326 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in the heart of Little Italy, only four blocks from San Diego harbor, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a breezy gateway to everything the city has to offer. Whatever you'd like to do, see, taste, or try is only minutes from this hotel on the edge of Downtown San Diego.The quaint bistros, shops and art galleries of Little Italy are right outside our doors. A two-minute cab or trolley ride gets you to Petco Park and the vibrant Gaslamp nightlife district, Old Town San Diego, the museums of Balboa Park, and Qualcomm Stadium. As a truly unique choice among affordable hotels in San Diego the Porto Vista features impeccable service in a dynamic central location. Shuttle service is provided to nearby locations including Airport, Cruise Terminal, Convention Center, Amtrak, Gaslamp Quarter/Horton Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Address: 1835 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2505
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Price Range: $169 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Porto Vista Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Torrance, California
Phoenix, Arizona
1 day ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Porto Vista Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor has great views and balconies, but could be a bit loud with their rooftop bar promotions running through weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles lylescript, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great Value, Exceptional Service.”
 of 5 bubbles royc921, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The nicest rooms are those with view to the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles davidmX8159JN, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not enjoy being on the 5th floor the night of an outdoor hotel party due to noise/music”
 of 5 bubbles mjdabrams, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room far from the main walkways and outdoor gathering space. Walls are thin and there was lots of noise. ”
 of 5 bubbles PMNEE, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5