We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Pretty average hostel in comparison to all of the others we have stayed at this trip. Loud music played until early in the morning, very small rooms and the breakfast consists of packet oatmeal every morning and poptarts. The one good thing is their free activities that they offer. I wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We regret to hear that our quiet hours were not enforced as they should have been, and we will make sure this does not happen again. Regarding the breakfast, we provide all that we can with in the strict regulations San Diego County has set on every hostel, but I assure you and others that...

Centreville, Virginia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Never have I experienced the unique feel of community living with people so warm and friendly. Very well maintained place with free food, play music (guitar, piano) when you like, sit on the porch and just hang out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSaharya
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Hey, thank you so much for your feedback! we are so glad that you got to enjoy our hostel. Hopefully we will see you again some day. Cheers ITH Management

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I've stayed in about 50 hostels throughout Europe, Australia and America, and this is my favourite kind - small, down to earth, personal with a really friendly vibe. I'd been travelling around America for two weeks, always on the move, and came to San Diego for my last six or seven days to chill out and relax, so this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornettoking93
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your feedback, we really enjoy knowing that you got exactly what you where looking for and more!! we hope to see you again here some day. Cheers, ITH Management

Reviewed 16 September 2016

I had an awful experience with cancelling my reservation for this hostel. Their policy is to cancel one day before your stay, but when I called I got to speak to someone for about ten seconds before I was placed on hold. I called back many times, either to be placed on hold or the line was busy. I also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan S
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Hello, We regret to hear about your poor experience with our customer service. As the manager, I assure you I did not receive an email, nor do I recall speaking with you on the phone. However, I will double check, and if the circumstances are indeed as you describe, I will gladly refund your money.

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I spent almost a month in this place and i loved it! A nice victorian house with a nice garden, a smaller and more quite house, and four bungalows. The rooms are all coloured with confortable beds and clean sheets, the two kitchens are fully equipped and you can use them whenever you need, bathrooms are clean. Great position (in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babax_sp
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We always love feedback and appreciate your comments! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and made the most of our location and activities too! Come back and visit us next time you're in town! Cheers, ITH Management

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in ITH with for of my friends for 2 nights. We stayed in a ten bed room which I was unsure about doing but it turns out I really enjoyed it. The staff were so friendly and the hostel provide free breakfast and dinner for guests which was a huge bonus for is broke travellers. The staff we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh K
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the nice review! We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us, an welcome back anytime!

Reviewed 22 August 2016

This hostel was our first of the trip and we were great welcomed. it is colorful and young. the dorms are clean and funny with those little bungalow. Situated in the little italy it is not that far from the city. We always reach place we want to in walk and we took the ferry once everything is close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraGagnon
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the nice review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back anytime!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Overall my experience with this hostel was very good. Most of the staff were friendly. They provided free breakfast, and shuttle service to activities. I made a lot of friends from all over the world. The bathrooms were not that great. A German night club experience: If you are young and female, be careful about some "local" guests staying here,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 591joe
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you had an overall good stay, and am sorry hear about the impression you got from some of the other guests. Though I myself have never been to a German nightclub, I assure you that such predatory behavior is not tolerated here. We take pride in our guests feeling safe and...

Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The deal is incredible - the cheap price of staying per night, along with all the free activities you can do with the hostel people, and free breakfast & dinner. A. Room- I stayed at the 4-bed female bedroom in the first 4 nights, and 6-bed mixed bedroom the last 2 nights. The female bedroom is very cozy, my roommates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluerose8079
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to leave us such a thorough review. We are glad to hear that you had such a memorable experience, and welcome you back anytime!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2016

My review is from the perspective of being a hostel-virgin. Upon being welcomed they informed us that there dinner is provided and we could join. The property is bigger than expected and has several houses. We stayed at the Eco-Farm house which focuses on sustainable living. It was an interesting space with an outdoor garden and chickens from which they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UWarrior84
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review

Hello there ! Thanks for your review, we truly appreciate it. We apologize that your bed wasn't ready when you checked in. We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you the best experience by staying with us again ! Safe travels ! Cheers, Managers

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
473 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#107 of 278 in San Diego
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 278 in San Diego
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded the 2014 & 2015 Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor for being the Top Rated Accommodation in San Diego! We are ideally located in Downtown near San Diego Bay and we offer FREE continental breakfast every day and provide FREE pizza catered from an authentic local Italian restaurant 6 nights a week! FREE adventurous daytime activities are offered everyday including: surf trips, sailing, snorkeling, hiking, picnics, yoga beach trips and more! Limited spaces are available with our daytime activities. Our social night time activities makes our hostel one of the best in San Diego! Our variety of dorms and private guest rooms are designed with the latest bunk beds, allowing travelers to enjoy a cozy nights sleep at an affordable price. The unique design of our historic victorian building allows guests to have numerous outdoor sitting areas in addition to multiple social areas inside. Our goal is to provide travelers with the complete experience of seeing San Diego while making friends with other travelers from all over the world. Our guests have access to the use of iPads to surf the web and contact their friends on Skype. Our social activities give our travelers the best insights to San Diego including pub crawls, poker night, sports games, walking tours, creative workshops, taco Tuesdays, social olympics and more! Please note that guests staying with us must be over 18 years old and carry an international passport or reside outside of San Diego County. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego

Address: 1658 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101-2920
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Price Range: $62 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have bunk beds”
 of 5 bubbles NSaharya, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest the room 15 in the eco Farm House - quiet, clean, spacious and vry nice”
 of 5 bubbles babax_sp, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Female bedroom was nice. If staying at the 6-bed mixed room, avoid the 2 beds by the bright windows to prevent hot in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles bluerose8079, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The private room is pretty nice but be prepared for a somewhat awkward climb into the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles mikewmerritt, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Eco farm is quiet, main house is quite noisy sometimes”
 of 5 bubbles clozzad, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay