We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Show Prices
#73 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,565: English reviews
Fort Worth, United States
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Checked in for 4 days at Gaslamp Hilton. Service was EXCELLENT!! The room on the other hand was not. Floor was not cleaned and fake eye lashes on floor at time of my arrival. Carpet was frayed and shredded at doorway entry. Room AC was horrible. Slept on top of sheets every night as it was too hot. Below AVERAGE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel K
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Daniel K, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I am so sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. It appears we failed to deliver the level of cleanliness that you should expect at a Hilton. I apologize that this happened. Thank you for letting us know about the condition of the carpet in your room....

San Rafael, California
Reviewed 6 November 2014

I was here on business, but was able to enjoy walking along the harbor daily. This hotel is also very close to the rail to access other areas. The gym is sufficient - there is also a pool and I believe a hot tub. Very close to a hair salon if you would like to use these services. Off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbyrebel
San Clemente, Ca
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This Hilton has been my home away from home over the last 6 months due to work. It is a very clean hotel and the location is convenient to the Gas Lamp, East Village, Columbia and Marina Neighborhoods. I prefer the regular rooms to the lofts and not sure there is enough benefit to pay the extra for the French...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachnme
Phoenix, United States
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Hotel and guest room were clean and pleasantly furnished. Room service a bit pricey based on options available for purchase. Great location and short walk to San Diego Conference Center and Seaport Harbor. Lots of dining options in walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois G
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Lois G, Thanks for the great review! Glad you were able to escape the heat in Phoenix and come spend time in our beautiful city. Thanks for the shout-out on our clean rooms - our housekeeping team certainly works very hard to make that happen! Hope you can come back and visit us again and take advantage of our...

Reviewed 31 October 2014

Arrived to be greeted by a rude front desk person, who happened to be rude when checking me out too. bell staff seemed helpful. however, front desk and bell staff discouraged use of transit and told me to take a cab for $20 - which ended up costing me $38. Not the place to go if you don't know the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 700kathleenb
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear 700kathleenb, I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I will be addressing these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise, and your feedback helps us improve. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Valet parking a bit expensive at $42/day, but it's tough to find parking in the Gaslamp quarter, I tried to save money parking a few blocks away, but it's all hourly and charges you for in/out, so I ended doing valet the second day. Rooms were great, wish they had a mini bar and wish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VictoriousCM
Carmel, California
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Although I preferred the Bayfront Hilton because of the views this location was also exceptional for its proximity to the convention center and the local restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter. The valet staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the town. With as many in's and out's as you wish for one parking price that was great although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chief7400
San Diego, California
Reviewed 27 October 2014

I stayed over the last week for a convention. I was close to home and I decided at the last minute to have my wife and son come visit during the weekend. When i got to the room it didn't have a pull out couch. I hadn't reserved a room for the entire family. So I went done and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kinds words about some of the stands-outs in our Front Office who truly deliver great customer service. We think they are great too! We are delighted your family came to stay with you and that you all were able to enjoy our hotel. Can't wait to have you back...

Lake Forest, United States
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Hotel is in the heart of Gas Lamp Dist and is close to all of the restaurants, shops and entertainment. Great service as the staff was very helpful and efficient. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. This is a hotel I will stay in again without question.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Joe P, WOW! Thanks for the awesome review! There is nothing better than hearing from a guest that they will be back. Our great service will be waiting for you on your next visit - can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, Brooke, Hotel Manager

Germantown
Reviewed 16 October 2014

I've tried most of the Hilton properties in San Diego - this one is good if you get breakfast privileges with your Honors membership - otherwise as others have noted its expensive at $23 (especially given the slew of local restaurant choices in easy walking distance). The Bayfront Hilton has nicer views and as convenient located but its Starbucks breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrNic1
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear DrNic1, Thanks for the review! So happy to hear you enjoyed our delicious breakfast as well as the choice to dine indoors or al fresco. With the year-round beautiful weather here in San Diego it's impossible not to offer the option to dine outside! Our location at the gateway to the Gaslamp gives our guests the convenience to simply...

651 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Full Room with View (39)
Viewed
King Room wih View (26)
Viewed
King Whirlpool Room (55)
Viewed
Pool Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 283 in San Diego
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 283 in San Diego
3,830 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
New Leaf Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K St, San Diego, CA 92101-6929
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Price Range: $173 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
#79 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floor, away from the elevators would be a good choice”
  • Room 916
  • Bath amenities in Room 916
  • Room 916
  • View from Room 916
 of 5 bubbles Wahzah, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 1 bedroom Suites are spacious and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles KatieandDean, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room. They're much larger”
 of 5 bubbles boxster12, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor was great. Quiet and relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles RickZ255, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a corner room. The views are much better and they typically bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeR238, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay