We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beach Haven Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Beach Haven Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Woodland, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

!st, let me say, the staff are VERY nice. The place is clean ( see below re. hot tub) & secure. There are no coffee makers, 'frigs, or micros on the premises. Good coffee is a block away. The beach, the pier & the boardwalk are 1 block away & the neighborhood has many interesting shops, including good restaurants. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcm1003
Boulder
Reviewed 26 November 2016

If you're not going to spring for an on-the-water hotel, this is a great little spot at a great price for its location. The staff was very friendly, it was really easy to walk to great restaurants, safe for this single mom, great little pool/hot tub and easy parking. The look of the place is a sleekly updated older motel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoulderArtmom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I had a wonderful experience at the Beach Haven Inn, the room was very clean and the staff was very hospitable. My children really enjoyed the pool and they loved that they were walking distance to the Baked Bear ice cream shop. Bill, George and Christy recommended great local restaurants and activities, thank you guys! The location is perfect, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa S
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Very comfortable room ....I love to swim but there pools heating system was not working the water was freezing cold ..that was about the only downer of the stay. Enjoyed waking up early and walking on the beach and enjoyed the sunset.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diane431964
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed 4 days in San Diego to see sites and be close to the beach. This little hotel was perfect. Christy and Bob were so wonderful in helping us get around the area and both were so personable. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. We had a double queen room that was beautifully decorated and so clean. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannechad
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a great review. Thank you for recognizing the housekeeping staff and the superb job they do of keeping our rooms so clean and comfortable for our guests! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the great activities in Pacific Beach and the surrounding areas. San...

Renton, Washington
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed here only one night but it was very nice! We were upgraded to the suite for only $10 (normally $20) because we got there early for check-in and the manager was going to call us when the room was ready, instead he called and offered the suite for only $10 more. Very cute room, simple yet clean but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad to hear you were comfortable in the upgrade to the suite. I apologize the location of the room did not meet your expectations, we have other suites throughout the property if you return and would like to try a room away from the office. I appreciate you mentioning the staff, superior customer service is very...

Tucson
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stayed here with my son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandkids. Very cute one bedroom suite. Although a little small, we were comfortable. The rooms were recently updated and looked nice and modern (think IKEA). Small kitchen with a gas stove top, microwave and small refrigerator. Very clean bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Plenty of pillows and blankets. Queen size sofa sleeper. Full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy K
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Beach Haven. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the suite and the great location of our property! I apologize your room was not vacuumed during your stay, I will speak with the housekeeping staff. I will also let Bob know you...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Great local hotel. Clean rooms and great customer service. Barely a five minute walk to the beach. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, including a grocery store, all within walking distance. We ran into a couple in La Jolla and she remembered it as The Sandpiper - her family would go there when she was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awall4114
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

I truly appreciate all of the great things you have to say about Beach Haven, thank you for sharing your experience. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to try some of the local restaurants and bars in the area. I am happy that all problems were taken care of in a timely, professional manner. It...

Pepper Pike, Ohio
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The Beach Haven is a great little place. It's like the motels that I stayed in as kid, that are owner operated.. It is clean, the management is very friendly and the pool area was nice. It is only a block from the beach and has many restaurants nearby. If I every get back to the San Diego area, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubba50111
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Beach Haven, we appreciate receiving feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Bill Nelson General Manager

chandler
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We just returned from San Diego and 4 nights at the Beach Haven Inn. This was our second year staying here. Our room had a kitchen so we were able to make meals and there is also a BBQ grill on site where we grilled steaks one night. It is a short 1/2 block walk to the beach and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunnycj
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven Inn, responded to this review

I really appreciate all the great compliments about our property and the management, we are so happy you were able to stay with us for a second year. We enjoy getting to know our return guests and making sure all enjoy this great beach location by offering as many conveniences as we can. Thank you again and I look forward...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#145 of 278 in San Diego
307 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#230 of 278 in San Diego
168 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#108 of 278 in San Diego
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
997 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#222 of 278 in San Diego
422 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Haven Inn

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: $128 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Haven Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Haven Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no elevator - 2 floors”
 of 5 bubbles mcm1003, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book upstairs unless you sleep really well.”
 of 5 bubbles BoulderArtmom, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator for upstairs rooms but probably best if you don't want to hear above you.”
 of 5 bubbles dannechad, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The suite had a little kitchen, not sure about the other rooms. The suite is right next to the office.”
 of 5 bubbles jenns809, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“107 has walk in shower, close to HC parking, and is away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles cindydavid4, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay