We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Surfer Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Surfer Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surfer Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 584: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2015

everything was incredibly clean. Staff was very polite very helpful. Would give the surfer incredible thumbs up on all things.with the ocean right outside it was incredible location incredible place we had an awesome weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Doug G
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug G, We appreciate the 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and invite you back for a return trip the next time you want to get away. Thanks again for the great review. Regards, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager More 

wallsend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

If some rooms have been refurbished as the pictures claim, make sure you get one no matter what you have paid. The rest are terrible and are being offered to last minute bookings. I would not recommend this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank MMLA46
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MMLA46, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I sincerely hope that this was maybe posted to the wrong hotel, as we have not been sold out over the last few days, so if you did not like your room, we would have been happy to show you options. That being said, we don't have... More 

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Clean, affordable, right on the water. The Surfer is near a lot of great bars and restaurant's and shops, staff is very friendly, sunset views are the best. We ask for Daniel everytime to help us with all our SD needs.

Helpful?
Thank caseyq1979
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caseyq1979, Thanks for the excellent review. It feels great to hear back from our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass along your comments to Daniel, Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca|General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2015

This hotel is in a great location, just off the boardwalk with incredible views of the ocean. What sets this place apart from others is the amazing people at the front desk. They were all incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location with a great team at the front desk,this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MikeM1234567
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeM1234567, Thanks for the five-star review. We take pride in the excellent service we provide to our guests and we continuously train and refine our procedures to ensure that our guests are treated like family. Most of all, the staff at the Surfer truly care about our guests and it is so nice when it is recognized by our... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a place with personality, charm and directly on the beach, you will not be disappointed. It is not some high rise with a thousand other people. We loved it so much that we stayed there twice.

Helpful?
2 Thank MESWisconsin
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MESWisconsin, Thank you very much for the five star review. We are proud to call the Surfer home and its size is an attribute, as you mention, because it gives us the time to spend with each of our guests to ensure their enjoyment. Thanks again for coming back to the Surfer. We appreciate your loyal business! Sincerely, Adam... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Was really stoked when I stayed here. Location is a little outside the downtown but I liked it better feeling more like a local. Hotel is like 15 mins tops from the airport, had good parking, located right on the beach, and the rooms were modern, cute, and clean! There's a pool if ya want, but why when the beach... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Caryn K
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caryn K, Thank you for the five star review. Thanks also for sharing about local area. It is a service to our guests thinking of booking in PB as it gives them a better idea of our neighborhood, one of the best in San Diego! Thanks again! Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We booked this place through tripadviror, looking for a fairly inexpensive place to stay on the beach. When we arrived the service was great and helpful.the overall apperiance of the place was clean and well kept inside and out. I would recomend this place for whoever is coming down. It was quite yet close to many attractions. The front desk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie K, Thanks for the five star review. We appreciate you taking the time to point out Daniel, who is a sure star for our guests. Thanks once more and please do come again! Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2015

I called ahead while on a trip hoping to stay with some coworkers. Daniel hooked me up with a good rate and even helped me with moving a trailer in the parking lot. I will definitely stay again! Thanks Daniel and San Diego!

Helpful?
Thank johnathan j
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JonathanJ; Thanks for the five star review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Surfer. Daniel is a hard worker who dedicates himself to our guests. We appreciate the shout-out! Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Nobody's perfect and if I had one complaint is that not all the rooms have a desk to do work. Sometimes I need to do work from computer. Other then that I've never stayed at any other hotel on Pacific Beach. Great service and love the location!

Helpful?
Thank MT4119
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mt4119, Thanks for the five-star review. We appreciate you taking the time to share. We look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We booked this hotel based on the photos online and the postiive reviews we had read. When we arrived we realized the photos must have been adjusted b/c the rooms were not that new and they had a chemical cleaning smell. We were in town for a wedding and the room did not have any of the items that your... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly K
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly K, I am disappointed that you did not end up staying with us. Just viewing a couple of the rooms does not give the complete picture of all that the Surfer has to offer: great views, warm and friendly service, the delicious complimentary hot beverages served all day long in the lobby etc. I do apologize for the... More 

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Ocean View Double Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Family Unit (29)
Viewed
Ocean View Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Ocean View King Room (22)
Viewed
Pool Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Sunset Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#36 of 283 in San Diego
977 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#235 of 283 in San Diego
167 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#120 of 283 in San Diego
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
1,886 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#143 of 283 in San Diego
722 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#144 of 283 in San Diego
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $157 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a beach view room. Every 3rd floor beach floor room has a great view of the sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles T1906GFmichaell, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would call the hotel directly!! They are super helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 184karip, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have an ocean or pool view...otherwise you are looking at the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles lizo79, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not get room 302 worst view it is of the roof of their restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles tucsongirl2012, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for an ocean view room. 4th floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieS594, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay