We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Surfer Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Surfer Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surfer Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 589: English reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I was suffering from mold and asbestos in my house and needed a neat place to stay for the week to forget the trouble. I walked in to many places trying to overcharge me, but Daniel at the surfer hotel helped me really out with my struggles. Being from Holland we have a saying "We had luck with un-luck". Daniel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atesdeniz
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Atesdeniz, I am so happy to hear that Daniel was able to turn your luck around! Sometimes our guests are here out of necessity and not for leisure and our staff are trained to respond to each situation uniquely. I am glad that Daniel rose to the occasion and was able to respond accordingly to your plight! Thanks for...

Avondale
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Every time we go to San Diego for a weekend vacation, we stay here! Just booked yet another weekend for this upcoming Friday and Saturday. As always, Daniel took great care of us and booked our room at a great price with zero hassle. Perfect location, right on the beach, everything you could possible need is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jay S. We very much appreciate the repeat business. Thanks for excellent review as well. It is an honor to be recognized by one of our loyal guests. See you next time! Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Spent a week at the Surfer Beach and it was fantastic. Our room looked over the beach/ocean and it was wonderful to sit on the patio and watch the sunset each night. The staff was very pleasant and housekeeping was always prompt. The location of this hotel cannot be beat, right off the boardwalk and walking distance to lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trentu21
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trentu21, Thanks for the excellent five-star review. We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your trip and post your comments. I am glad you had such a wonderful time. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager

Arizona
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This is an ancient property, almost a "retro" but management has tried to keep things current with flat panel TV's, premium linens and bedding, and an updated vanity. If you want an "ocean view" you'll want to be on floors 2 and up and get rooms between 3 and 7. The shower was marginal at best due to the flow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valpo1125
Adam D, Owner at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valp1125, Thank you for the 4-star review. You are indeed right about some of the drought restrictions in place in San Diego. Our sunny year-round weather comes at a cost! Nevertheless, we normally don't have complaints about the water flow, so I will have my Engineering Team look into this to ensure there is not an additional problem. Thanks...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Daniel checked me in and took very good care of me, assisting with a room upgrade and the best places for me to get dinner. The location was great - I loved that it was off the beaten path of your traditional tourist areas - each night after work I felt like I surrounded by locals, which I loved. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elk1787
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elk1787, Thanks for the great review. I will be sure to pass it along to Daniel, our evening Front Desk Agent. You hit the nail right on the head with your description of the Surfer. It is perfectly situated in a great part of San Diego on a beautiful beach. It is laid back, relaxing, clean and comfortable. It...

Reviewed 16 February 2015

everything was incredibly clean. Staff was very polite very helpful. Would give the surfer incredible thumbs up on all things.with the ocean right outside it was incredible location incredible place we had an awesome weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug G, We appreciate the 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and invite you back for a return trip the next time you want to get away. Thanks again for the great review. Regards, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager

wallsend
Reviewed 12 February 2015

If some rooms have been refurbished as the pictures claim, make sure you get one no matter what you have paid. The rest are terrible and are being offered to last minute bookings. I would not recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MMLA46
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MMLA46, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I sincerely hope that this was maybe posted to the wrong hotel, as we have not been sold out over the last few days, so if you did not like your room, we would have been happy to show you options. That being said, we don't have...

Reviewed 11 February 2015

Clean, affordable, right on the water. The Surfer is near a lot of great bars and restaurant's and shops, staff is very friendly, sunset views are the best. We ask for Daniel everytime to help us with all our SD needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caseyq1979
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caseyq1979, Thanks for the excellent review. It feels great to hear back from our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass along your comments to Daniel, Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca|General Manager

Reviewed 4 February 2015

This hotel is in a great location, just off the boardwalk with incredible views of the ocean. What sets this place apart from others is the amazing people at the front desk. They were all incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location with a great team at the front desk,this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MikeM1234567
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeM1234567, Thanks for the five-star review. We take pride in the excellent service we provide to our guests and we continuously train and refine our procedures to ensure that our guests are treated like family. Most of all, the staff at the Surfer truly care about our guests and it is so nice when it is recognized by our...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

If you are looking for a place with personality, charm and directly on the beach, you will not be disappointed. It is not some high rise with a thousand other people. We loved it so much that we stayed there twice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MESWisconsin
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MESWisconsin, Thank you very much for the five star review. We are proud to call the Surfer home and its size is an attribute, as you mention, because it gives us the time to spend with each of our guests to ensure their enjoyment. Thanks again for coming back to the Surfer. We appreciate your loyal business! Sincerely, Adam...

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Ocean View Double Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Family Unit (29)
Viewed
Ocean View Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Ocean View King Room (22)
Viewed
Pool Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Sunset Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
997 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#127 of 278 in San Diego
195 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#230 of 278 in San Diego
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#145 of 278 in San Diego
725 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#20 of 278 in San Diego
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: $154 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a beach view room. Every 3rd floor beach floor room has a great view of the sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles T1906GFmichaell, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would call the hotel directly!! They are super helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 184karip, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have an ocean or pool view...otherwise you are looking at the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles lizo79, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not get room 302 worst view it is of the roof of their restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles tucsongirl2012, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for an ocean view room. 4th floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieS594, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay