We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Milner Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Milner Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

After 3 nights in a similarly priced room in New York, we moved here. To say I was disappointed is the biggest understatement ever. The room in the Milner Hotel was tiny, the bed a double and the bathroom very small. I fell over my suitcase as I left the bathroom one day as there was nowhere else to put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walshy54
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was only staying in Boston for one night -- wanted to be in a good location, but not an expensive big-name hotel. The Milner was a perfect fit with my wishlist. My single room was super-small, but had the basic necessities (bed, sink, toilet, shower), and was immaculately clean. (And I'm one of those people who looks for bedbugs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mompeef
Daniel H, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a ton for the review! You're right, we have a great, central location in the heart of Boston where nearly everything is easily walkable. Further, I'll be sure to let our Housekeeping know of the great job they've done with your room and the hotel! Yes, the hotel will be undergoing a renovation in the near future. I assure...

Mount Vernon, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel was great. The staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. I stayed in a single room which was very small but had everything I needed in it. My only complaint with the room was, because of its size, it got really hot. I could control the temperature, but even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clp1230
Daniel H, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We're happy you enjoyed the location, bed and staff. We are in the heart of Boston, easy to get anywhere you need to go! I'm sorry you had some trouble with your heater during your stay. I'll look in to it and see if there is anything we can do to remedy that. Hopefully we'll...

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Old hoteland very nice staff and very frinendly. The hotel is in a central location. Our beds were fine and confortable but the hotel is very old. It was nice to be in that area and wey close to public transport

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unnur62
John B, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Unnur62, Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Location IS everything, add to that- a friendly staff and comfy beds, it's a winning combination. Good News on top, we begin remodeling this month! We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In late October, I stayed at the Milner Hotel for a week while attending a conference. I was very happy about its central location, and the inclusion of free breakfast was a definite plus. I particularly enjoyed the coffee and bagels! All staff were a pleasure to deal with. My room was small, but comfortable. This hotel has a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
DSCornish, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Jessica, thanks for staying with us during your conference. While we host a lot of leisure travelers it's also our pleasure to host many business travelers such as yourself. We are the second oldest hotel in Boston, hence the charm and uniqueness of the hotel. Glad the coffee, bagels, and location worked for you. Unfortunately we can't control ambulances which...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights in October. The location was perfect, within walking distance to everything. Surrounded by restaurants. Free breakfast?!?! YES! it can get pretty crowded so make sure you arrive early. One of the best things about staying was walking down and seeing a cheery pretty red head at the desk saying Good morning and asking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodbod20039
Daniel H, General Manager at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We're thrilled that you had a great stay and we hope to see you again soon. You're right about our free breakfast, it can get a little crowded at peak times so thank you for that suggestion for our other travelers. Also, I'll make sure Helen (the Host you mentioned) reads this too! Our staff...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an old hotel. The staff was super friendly. They charged everything on my credit card on the first day by mistake. The floor on our room is uneven and we had to sleep backwards to prevent the blood to rush to our head lol! The beds very uncomfortable so make sure you bring a tube of Bengay with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuisaFernanda M
DSCornish, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Luisa, thanks for staying with us. I will ask our General Manager to determine which room number you were in so we can look at the floor. We know that some are not even, but I am not aware of any that slope the way you mentioned. I am glad you found our team to be "super friendly" David.

london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ignore the negative comments this place is in an amazing location, ample and more importantly free breakfast with lovely staff! Yes it's a wee bit old than some and not a chain hotel but our rooms were lovely!! Breakfast was more than we expected- toast/waffles/bagels/cereals tea,coffee and juice! Fab location right on Boston common! Staff were absolutely lovely nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki F
DSCornish, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Vikki, thank you so much for your kind words. I am so please that our team took such good care of you, and it sounds that you really agree that we have one of THE best locations in Boston! Breakfast is as you stated plus fresh fruit and yogurt. A wee bit old - yes, and we start renovations later...

Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Milner Hotel is perfectly situated near the Boston Common and Garden. The regular rooms are small, but if you don't plan on spending much time in the room and want to spend money on other things, the Milner is perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They get to know your name and when your stay is over,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al V
DSCornish, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Al - We promise to write and we hop you got a few hugs in! A lot of the experience of travelling is HOW you fell during and after the trip, and I am so pleased that our team made you feel so welcome. Kudos to Erika, Dan and the entire team at the Milner. We hope to see you...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Milner hotel...what a dump. Great location, terrible hotel. The night staff is rude and insulting. The rooms are crazy old and the single room I stayed in was MAYBE 8x8 on the main level (room 113). It felt like a closet, not a hotel room. Not worth the money spent. Pay another $15 and get yourself a hotel room that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Captain4Crunch
DSCornish, Owner at Milner Hotel, responded to this review

Daniel, thank you for staying with us. If a team member was rude or insulting I too would be very upset, and I will ask Erika, our General Manager to research who was working during your brief visit. Our single rooms are small, and are listed as one twin room. We will begin renovation this Winter, and have great plans...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Queen Bed Room (34)
Viewed
Queen Suite (34)
Viewed
Standard One Double Bed Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin Bed Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Bed Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Boston Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 82 in Boston
1,133 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#63 of 82 in Boston
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
The largest area of the city, Downtown is rich with historical and iconic sites in Boston. Stroll through one of Boston’s most famous green spaces, the Boston Public Gardens, check out and make way for duckling statues, picnic under a beautiful tree overlooking the pond, and walk over the iconic footbridge where, during summer time, you will catch a swan boat toting children and eager tourists through the pond. Have your camera ready to capture its peaceful beauty in the middle of a bustling city. Continue on through the Gardens and take in some open green space at the Boston Common, where you can spend time throwing a frisbee, sitting on a park bench, or, in the winter time, skating on the frog pond. Head north from the end of the Common to see the golden dome of the State House, and travel through government center to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, both a historic and popular destination worth a quick visit for a first time to Boston. Head to Long Wharf to visit the Aquarium, or catch a boat to Charlestown or even Cape Cod.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1877 as the Sumner Hotel in the heart of the Theatre District by respected architect Harris M. Stephenson (1845 - 1909), The Milner Hotel is one of the oldest continuously operated hotels in Boston's downtown area. The hotel's enduring presence is due to a number of factors, but probably none as important as "location." An easy walk of just two or three blocks leads guests to such attractions as the historic Boston Common, the Public Garden, and numerous theaters, restaurants & clubs. For those wishing to venture out a bit further from the downtown area, The hotel is one block from the MBTA's Green Line - Boylston Street Station, gateway to outstanding cultural and historical attractions which make Boston one of the most popular destinations of domestic and foreign travelers. The hotel's reputation as Boston's "Best Value" is earned from affordable rates and exceptional amenities. So, whether on business or pleasure, the Milner Hotel offers you Boston's Best Location and Best Value. All rates include complimentary continental breakfast which includes juice, Lavazza coffee, assorted teas, yogurt, cereals, fresh whole fruit and freshly made waffles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milner Hotel

Address: 78 Charles St S, Boston, MA 02116-5443
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Price Range: $126 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Milner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milner Hotel Boston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milner Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Milner Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a rear facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles walshy54, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were upgraded to a suite for a minimal charge, which they graciously ended up waiving. The suite was very comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles AlV162, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them give you room 113”
 of 5 bubbles Captain4Crunch, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 453alexv, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles CoreneBloemfontein, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay