We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copley House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Expert photos
Copley House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copley House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 September 2015

If you are looking to stay in someone's tired basement room after a confusing search for the right place, this is it. The reservation staff person was very friendly and tried, but gave me three wrong keys and when i finally got to the room, it was in a building with dirty, smelly carpets and the room itself had peeling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pmoc13
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies -- it doesn't sound like our service or apartment were up to our usual standards this time, and I'm sorry you didn't get to see us at our best. Despite the light bulb and key mishaps, please believe there is nothing to be nervous about in our facilities. I'll make sure these issues are addressed as...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights in September, and we had a great time. There are a number of separate properties associated with Copley House, and we were given a studio apartment on the lower floor in a property about 10 mins walk from the main reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful, aiding us with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine O
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

So great to hear from you, Josephine! I'm glad our service kept you just as comfortable as your room itself. Can't wait to see you again the next time you're in Boston! Sincerely, Christian - General Manager

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Location was great, we walked all around the city from here, 20 min shuttle from the airport, 20 min walk to Fenway Park, 40 min walk to Boston Gardens or North Downtown. It was off the main drag enough that it was a quiet and safe neighbourhood. A 24 hr food market is a 10 min walk away. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Sounds like you covered a lot of ground, Joe! I'm glad our location made it so easy for you to explore the Back Bay without having to wander too far from your room. Hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Boston! (Let us know if you need help with the remote, too -- we'd be happy to...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I went with my friend for two nights. Our room was very nice, there was a shared bathroom but we never had to wait to use it. Door was a little bit stiff and the room could have used a mirror but overall a very good experience. Excellent friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbe473
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed yourself! The team and I are glad your room and service made for a memorable stay (mirror aside -- I'll keep that in mind for future renovations), and I hope you'll visit us again someday! Sincerely, Christian - General Manager

Modena, Italy
Reviewed 11 September 2015

If I go back to Boston some day, I'll make sure to book again at Copley's House in good advance. The apartments have just everything that you need for your stay, including an equipped kitchen where nothing is missing. Good position, extremely nice and efficient staff. Our room was in the basement of the main building, but it was bright...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alfajorcita
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Thanks for making my day! It's wonderful to know your apartment had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear about the AC and the mattress, however. I will investigate both. We replace our mattresses on a regular basis so I will be sure to make sure this is the case in the apartment you stayed...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Copley House offered a great room (Studio apartment, really) in a lovely quiet neighbourhood in the back Bay area of Boston. The room was comfortable and large offering sofa, double bed and a dining area. The bathroom and kitchen were small, but perfectly fine for a short stay. The Neighbourhood is handy for shops and the 'T', with everything needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin C
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Robin! Thanks for spreading the word about our service, amenities, and location -- I'm thrilled that you enjoyed such a memorable stay. Hope you'll visit us again someday soon! Sincerely, Christian - General Manager

Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The Copley house is in an ideal location. Only a few blocks from Newbury street. The shopping meca of Boston. You get a microwave, frig.,and coffee maker in your room. It defiantly needs to be updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bsd11
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Way to make the most of your kitchenette! The coffee maker definitely comes in handy after a long shopping spree. We're constantly working on updating and renovating our apartments, but this setback aside, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Boston! All the best, Christian - General Manager

New Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I shared large main-level studio-apt with my son. The space was clean,though the room had a slight smokey-musty odor. Perhaps the previous guest was a smoker. It dissipated, or I got used to it. The kitchenette was a bonus, and the shower was just right for me -- good water pressure and temperature and it was pretty! One rather major...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalam0m
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Best value in the Back Bay, if I say so myself -- I'm glad you agree! I'm sorry your sofa bed and parking situation weren't as comfortable as the rest of your stay, but it's great to know that our kitchenette, shower, and location made a great impression on you. Hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Great location. Close to the prudential T station. Lots of things to see and do within walking distance, too!! Staff was friendly and prepared. Room was cool when I arrived (on a hot day)! Only 2 negative points.... 3 floor walk up. No elevator. Was a bit tough with luggage. Rooms are tight on space, though surprisingly well equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed yourself, Sandra! I'm sorry the stairs made your luggage a little difficult, but it's great to know our rooms, service, and location more than made up for it. Can't wait to see you the next time you visit Boston! All the best, Christian - General Manager

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 31 August 2015

I had a small one room apartment, which was a bit worn, but clean and with a good bed. While in the basement, there was a good window, and it was located very close to the Hynes Convention Center. Staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrik S
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review

Great to hear from you, Henrik! I'm thrilled that our service and amenities made for a convenient, comfortable stay, and I hope you'll visit us in Boston again someday soon! Sincerely, Christian - General Manager

495 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Economy Studio (29)
Viewed
Large Studio (31)
Viewed
Medium Studio (28)
Viewed
Medium Studio (West Newton Street) (30)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (40)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (Saint Stephen Street) (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#67 of 82 in Boston
3,059 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#27 of 82 in Boston
599 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 82 in Boston
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#53 of 82 in Boston
916 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#63 of 82 in Boston
1,089 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 82 in Boston
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Back Bay

Neighbourhood Profile
Back Bay
Wander around this quintessential neighborhood in the heart of Boston for high-end shops, restaurants, and the feeling of city bustle. Its most identifiable skyscrapers, the Prudential Center and John Hancock Tower, are highlights of the city skyline. Visit Newbury street to explore unique and trendy boutiques – as well as every other kind of store imaginable – all housed in beautiful brownstone buildings. In nice weather, restaurant patio seating is packed with Bostonians and tourists alike soaking up the sunshine and enjoying the food. Commonwealth Ave offers a beautiful stroll down residential tree-lined streets. Keep walking towards the Charles River and enjoy a beautiful view by the water. In warmer months, people run and bike on paths running along the esplanade, and sail and kayak on the Charles River. Boylston street, also full of shops, bars, and restaurants, is the finish line of the Boston Marathon. Head towards Copley Square and check out the Boston Public Library, which is particularly beautiful from the Dartmouth street entrance.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02116-6412
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Price Range: $141 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copley House staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Copley House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stairs are a problem, keep in mind that there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles d0natella001, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Carefully check the room(s) you are booking”
 of 5 bubbles Frestonian, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a shared bath”
 of 5 bubbles Hardyannual, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are a single traveler ask for the twin room. I do not believe this is advertised on the travel sites but is available.”
 of 5 bubbles 614juanitah, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles Gaymeadow57, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay