We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mountaineer Inn

Expedia.comUSD 72*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Well, when you walk up to the bullet proof glass window you will be stared at by a chick with tattoos in a plastic chair blowing smoke at you while your family waits in the locked car. If your lucky like my family you'll venture to the hidden dark rear building. You know, the one past the old pile of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karl P
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Well, where to start I am not sure "fiasco" really applies here, but whatever. I am immediately struck by the pretentious tone of someone offended by a hard working man's boots outside their door. Wow. The fact of the matter is, we offer weekly rates, and many folks stay here for extended stays especially doing long term construction projects. Just...

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2015

My mistake was discounting the other horrible reviews and staying here anyway. Please take them seriously if you want to avoid a fiasco! My family and I stayed here one night because our child was involved in a sporting activity. We arrived after dark. The premises were creepy--behind one building was a dump filled with late model televisions. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ascrombie
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

As for this review response see the more recent message .

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Sleep in your car instead of this hotel!!! The desk clerk was great but said her boss was 92 years old, which explains the smell of moth balls. It is obvious that the owner has already passed to another time or does not care at all. Our first room had feces all over the toilet. They gave us another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J J
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We are disappointed to hear of all of your issues with our property. However, it is absurd to suggest that our housekeepers would leave feces on a toilet in an otherwise clean room. I am sure that was a complete exaggeration. Second- we do not offer rooms thru hotwire, but rather Expedia and orbitz which will in fact refund...

Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here July 27th & 28th. Was in town for the Slayer concert. I paid $144 total for two nights. You do the math. Should've been $80 total. Total white trash dump. I'm white. So nothing discriminative. The hotel clerk was an older lady, but extremely nice. But that's the only thing nice about the hotel. I arrived around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZackPilcher
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , Surprising that a hard core Slayer fan would have such a problem with our establishment. I have old folks and families and every type person in between stay here and be completely comfortable. Your assessment is very harsh as well as exaggerated. However, we do have work to do, and are constantly making improvements so that even the...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Nasty! I didn't read trip advisor before I booked. It had 5 stars and good reviews. The place was broken down, dirty, old. Huge carpet stains, smoky, unsanitary, lights didn't work . I couldn't let my kids sleep there. We were lucky we got a room at Days inn a block up. A biker gang and their babes should feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BABAtlanta
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry you were unhappy with our establishment. However, since you did not actually even stay here, I am not sure why you chose to be so critical of us. We have a few issues, and we are working hard everyday to improve our facilities. We are a motel that offers weekly stays and smoking rooms, and...

Williamson, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 26 June 2015

During our return to Atlanta, we decided to travel through the mountains and find lodgings wherever we ended up. Bad idea. It was race weekend in Bristol and Friday night in the mountains. We ended up driving all the way to Asheville and this was the only place we could find vacancy. It looked pretty cool with all the neon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate your business but don't appreciate the negative advertising. We are making lots of positive changes at our property this year, but it takes a lot of work to bring up a place that has suffered some serious financial blows. We are doing all that we can to make this place better and feel safer. We just need...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Rooms seem clean. The hotel is outdated but it adds to the charm. Feels like walking back in time. Staff is friendly and the breakfast was adequate. Pool was closed and there wasn't a chain lock to help keep the kids from escaping those were our only complaints

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cb53913
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Bless you! We are so thankful that someone is kind enough to give us a fair review. We are clean and we are safe and we are making big improvements every day. We are one of the state's oldest motels and we want to maintain as long as we can against the big corporate chains. It is NOT always easy!...

Trois-Rivières
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I was really disapointed by this motel that I rented through Booking. I can't believe that I paid $99 for my room (weekend rates). The room was in shoudy condition (see photos). There was even a 1 inch space under the door. My room was non smoking while the room besides was smoking! Mine simply had a post-it on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMarois
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello traveler, We are sorry you were disappointed in your accomodations here. We are a roof, a bed and a meal, and for Asheville, $99.00 on the weekends is still half of most other motels/hotels. We are not perfect by any means. We are a family owned business struggling to keep pace with the competition. We are constantly doing our...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Wouldn't ya know late check-in means higher rates. Only hotel left without reservations. On-line ad listed price at xx$ . Those rooms are full. Now the rate is xxxx$. The bed sheets had stains. (I pulled the cover back over so my Dad wouldn't see.) The carpet had pet urine and poop stains. The breakfast was OJ, coffee and doughnuts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PattiStandridge
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry you were unhappy with your experience here. We are engaged in an intensive rehab to our facility, with regular carpet cleanings and new beds and linens. We are a family owned motel and we have had some set backs recently but we are continuing to make all efforts in improving our rooms in every regard.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 25 May 2015

What a shame that this iconic (the neon sign) old motel, in my opinion, is filthy and poorly maintained. There is not much excuse to have dirty carpet, an HVAC that is visibly clogged with dust and a commode that hardly functions. The people in the office are personable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897Dave
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello recent guest, I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay. It is a bit unfair of you to classify our establishment as filthy . We have a great team of housekeepers who do their best . Yes, it is true, that we have a few stains on some of our carpets. We do have some old AC...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.4 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
1,063 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#41 of 63 in Asheville
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#44 of 63 in Asheville
342 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $80 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you'd like to avoid climbing stairs, request a room on the ground floor.”
C1706RTpatricks, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the New Section if you want my modern / or stay in the Old Section as it is just cool to see the passage of time!”
gckhd55, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 72* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 73
getaroom.comUSD 74
Booking.comUSD 73
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates