We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Due to the bad reviews, I wasn't sure if booking a couple nights here would be worth it. Man, was I wrong. My room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The decor was kinda retro but I loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will most definitely stay here again when I come back to Asheville.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillian N
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you kind guest, We may not really warrant 5 stars but we aren't the gutter! I am continually surprised by how satisfied MOST people actually are when they stay with us. I have worked for the big corporate hotels, and I know how picky folks can be. We don't even pretend to be in that league, and most folks...

Newark, Ohio
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Room was clean, and very economical, but no air conditioning or ceiling fan. It was very "stuffy" all night. Cops were at property with a "problem" in the back units..... I did like the "mountain" atmosphere of the place, especially the porch that ran in front of all the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKJohnson43056
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, Thank you for stating the truth, that the room was clean! We did have an issue with our central ac in one of our buildings last weekend, but we actually got that fixed. I am sorry you were uncomfortable due to that! I am not thrilled by the central heat/ac in our front building, but it is...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Dirty. Smelled horrible. Stains on carpet, curtains, tile and counters. Disgusting. Words can't describe what a dump this place is. Better to sleep in your car or on the street than in this nasty, filthy place.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Doug C
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Well, why didn't you just leave and sleep in your car then? We have no problem refunding folks if they come back down to the office and let us know this isn't their cup of tea. It is true that some of the carpets have stains, so that makes the room look a little shabby, but the rooms are clean.

Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

It's a very kitsch place but beware its also a transient residence where we had two people get kicked off property by cops within an hr of staying there.. I liked the old fashioned country story on the wall inside the office about two of the characters of some local notoriety in the shape of huge neon signs that being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TERRI LYNN R
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We are glad you enjoyed our "updated" mountain décor in the lobby. We are always trying to improve this place, which is part of the living history of Asheville. That living history includes the owner, a Greek immigrant who has been running the place since 1964. We hear a lot about Chris, usually how nice and interesting...

Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 September 2015

I wish I had checked trip advisor before coming to this horrible motel. for $109.00 a night with no towels (we had to ask for them in the office), To a man being arrested in the parking lot to no hair dryer in the room this was a bad idea to stay here. So when you read this review it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1945Sandy
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am at the point of exhaustion with you bad reviewers , WE ARE NOT THAT BAD!!!! We have eradicated the drug users who used to try to stay here, we have eliminated the working girls. We are in a business zone with lots of folks passing by on foot to the buslines from every direction under the sun. The...

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Well, when you walk up to the bullet proof glass window you will be stared at by a chick with tattoos in a plastic chair blowing smoke at you while your family waits in the locked car. If your lucky like my family you'll venture to the hidden dark rear building. You know, the one past the old pile of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karl P
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Well, where to start I am not sure "fiasco" really applies here, but whatever. I am immediately struck by the pretentious tone of someone offended by a hard working man's boots outside their door. Wow. The fact of the matter is, we offer weekly rates, and many folks stay here for extended stays especially doing long term construction projects. Just...

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2015

My mistake was discounting the other horrible reviews and staying here anyway. Please take them seriously if you want to avoid a fiasco! My family and I stayed here one night because our child was involved in a sporting activity. We arrived after dark. The premises were creepy--behind one building was a dump filled with late model televisions. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ascrombie
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

As for this review response see the more recent message .

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Sleep in your car instead of this hotel!!! The desk clerk was great but said her boss was 92 years old, which explains the smell of moth balls. It is obvious that the owner has already passed to another time or does not care at all. Our first room had feces all over the toilet. They gave us another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J J
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We are disappointed to hear of all of your issues with our property. However, it is absurd to suggest that our housekeepers would leave feces on a toilet in an otherwise clean room. I am sure that was a complete exaggeration. Second- we do not offer rooms thru hotwire, but rather Expedia and orbitz which will in fact refund...

Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here July 27th & 28th. Was in town for the Slayer concert. I paid $144 total for two nights. You do the math. Should've been $80 total. Total white trash dump. I'm white. So nothing discriminative. The hotel clerk was an older lady, but extremely nice. But that's the only thing nice about the hotel. I arrived around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZackPilcher
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , Surprising that a hard core Slayer fan would have such a problem with our establishment. I have old folks and families and every type person in between stay here and be completely comfortable. Your assessment is very harsh as well as exaggerated. However, we do have work to do, and are constantly making improvements so that even the...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Nasty! I didn't read trip advisor before I booked. It had 5 stars and good reviews. The place was broken down, dirty, old. Huge carpet stains, smoky, unsanitary, lights didn't work . I couldn't let my kids sleep there. We were lucky we got a room at Days inn a block up. A biker gang and their babes should feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BABAtlanta
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry you were unhappy with our establishment. However, since you did not actually even stay here, I am not sure why you chose to be so critical of us. We have a few issues, and we are working hard everyday to improve our facilities. We are a motel that offers weekly stays and smoking rooms, and...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Asheville - Tunnel Rd.
0.4 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 63 in Asheville
1,029 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard Asheville
Courtyard Asheville
#41 of 63 in Asheville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Asheville
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#44 of 63 in Asheville
336 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $72 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the New Section if you want my modern / or stay in the Old Section as it is just cool to see the passage of time!”
 of 5 bubbles gckhd55, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
 of 5 bubbles Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
 of 5 bubbles capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front are easily accessible if you have a lot of luggage.”
  • Queen bed and bonus recliner.
 of 5 bubbles B2306OTkateg, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5