We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Downtown Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 551: English reviews
Start your review of Downtown Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place and have stayed with them countless times. My wife and I go to Asheville for the mountain biking, the breweries, restaurants and general cool vibe of the city. This hotel is a great place to stay ... perfectly located in the heart of the city. Yes, it's older, yes, it can get loud at times (but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is simply no other place to stay in Asheville that offers what Downtown Inn does - the most affordable rates and the best location. Yes, it's pretty dumpy overall, but the rooms are clean and comfortable, the parking, wifi, and breakfast are free, and you are literally smack in the middle of all the best restaurants and bars and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks420
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Are these the nicest, most elegant rooms? No, they're a bit run down. But you absolutely cannot beat this location in downtown Asheville. Ever single restaurant and shop was in walking distance from here, and it was an amazing way to get familiar with the city. There's free parking in an enclosed, walled-off lot connected to the hotel, so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were heading down to Asheville for a 4 day hiking and brewery trip. We were looking for a hotel close to downtown and the breweries. The majority of the hotels that we looked at were very expensive. We did not plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel and were looking for a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is just ok. What makes it good is the LOCATION. We did not drive our entire stay in Asheville. Bailey, the girl at the front desk, was the sweetest! They had extra bathroom necessities if you forgot them. We noticed the breakfast the last day, which was a typical continental breakfast (pastries, cereal). But we were in Asheville...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frolikchocoholik
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This incidence described here by the guest is true. We are in the process of replacing the tub drain covers that injured the guest. It was a plastic cover of an access panel that fell and we sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and are making every effort to prevent this from happening again. The manager did not talk to the...

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights here while exploring Asheville..the on line description made it seem a great bargain for the money...it was NOT! Paid extra for the "mountain views" room, but the mountains were covered in smoke due to area forest fires. The room smelled like cooked cabbage. On Friday night, we were kept awake by partying twenty somethings, so I complained...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MountainMama808
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This guest stayed in room 522. We have two different people check each room and we did not find any evidence of smell like "cooked cabbage". The noise complaint was received the next morning, but it is our practice to take immediate action to confront the noise problem. All of our rooms are the same rate and we do not...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed here last weekend for a birthday trip. The total cost for 3 nights here equaled 1 nights cost of Aloft so we decided to stay here. The rooms were very clean, housekeeping was great each day and the location can't be beat. Also - the king bed in our room was one of the best beds I have slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan G
Albany, NY
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

People here were great and are doing their best but the hotel is worn out. It isn't clean in the public areas. Paint was chipped everywhere. The breakfast area was sad. It's a pretty good location but It needs major capital investment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WRButler
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We understand the concern the guest has expressed here. We are in the process of a major capital investment. For example, recently we built a new elevator tower at the cost of $500,000. During 2016 we replaced the window PTAC units with mini splits units in all rooms and ground floor at a cost of $450,000. The philosophy behind such...

Redding, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The good: Room is clean, comfortable and feels safe. The location and price cannot be beat! The staff is friendly and accommodating. The offputting: The lobby is entered through an underground parking lot. It is a little shabby, and at times there may be what appears to be homeless people hanging out in the lobby for a short time (homelessness...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mammamaria_12
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Our parking lot and lobby entrance are located at street level and we do have a canopy. We do not have any part of our building or parking lot under ground. We are an exterior corridor hotel. We have provided safe and convenient service to our guests for the last 30 years.

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Ok so we had a very impromptu trip to see a band friend.. We checked in and happy they honored our AAA.. Although, they required all of us show our drivers license even guests stayin in room.. We had 5 rooms, some were not so bad and renovated others we terrible, my friends had to change their twice cause there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer S
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We have no record of this guest staying with us. Even if the guest stayed with us this review is not even close to the condition of our hotel and we will not try to respond and give it any kind of merit. If the guest stayed with us then obviously he/she might have been annoyed as they were required...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: $73 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Downtown Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a "mountain room" for more quiet.”
frolikchocoholik, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher floor room with mountain views”
NancyOO7, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter than those in the front.”
TwoAtlantaTravelers, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street provide a great view!”
C7545MKkennethc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe you should forget the pool side in the summer unless you are here mainly for the pool.”
  • Arranged amenities in our room 102 in one locale.
Carfash, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5