We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

USA Hostels San Francisco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
USA Hostels San Francisco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for USA Hostels San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 703: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The rooms/amenities were clean. The location is pretty central. The attractions are easily accessible. The most important thing is all the events, many free, that are organised by the hostels: walk tours, bike tours, pub crawls, karaoke nights. I have really liked the walk tour guided by Brian. The staff was very friendly and I have been able to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FaithJay007
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Location: It is only few blocks away from Union Square, which is kind of a center for shopping. Also there are a lot of cafes, restaurants around the hostel. Rooms and Cleaning: I have stayed in a 4-bed female dorm with shared bathroom. It was pretty comfortable. Sheets were clean. Also shared bathrooms were literally "always" clean. That's why I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Begum K
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 21 November 2015

I overcame my fears of hostels in SFO. It has a warm and helpful staff, clean, everyday one person of the staff offers free tours, excellent to interact and make new friends. Breakfast was ok, few options.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leticia L
Reviewed 20 November 2015

We loved our stay here, super clean place. Free breaky, clear instructions to hotspots in San Fran and great location. The staff is very courteous and they offer tour packages to places like Muir woods etc. Good deal for sure :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ishara N
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

This inner city hostel could hardly be better; efficiently run by super friendly and helpful staff, with daily activities that are ideal for mixing and mingling. Location is downtown, so it has a hotel style layout, dorms that are adequately spacious, and little pod outlets and lamps on the beds super convenient and give a hint of privacy. Rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teacher h
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Worst ever experience. Made a reservation for 2 days. It's written on website that calling before 6 p.m. will not incur the one day cancellation fee. I called the reception to make sure that I was not arriving since I was stuck in Palo Alto for some work. The guy on the phone made sure that my reservation was cancelled....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kunal B
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a private room here so can't comment on the dorm rooms. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to be able to watch a little TV before going to bed - which actually had some decent stuff on. We had our own bathroom in the room but from what I saw of the common bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jhunt31
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Francisco, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It's great to know you liked our private room. We renovated them just a couple of years ago and think we offer more in a hostel private with a microwave and fridge to complement the cable tv. Also, thanks of the hostel activities shout out. We do have something going on almost every day and/or...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We were extremely disappointed by our stay here. Yes, this is significantly cheaper than hotels in San Francisco, however, we wished we had chosen to spend the extra money on a hotel. The area is very sketchy, the hallway to our room smelled strongly of urine, the elevator made a VERY loud noise which kept us up almost the entire...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travelas2
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Francisco, responded to this review

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are rather puzzled and wonder if you have reviewed the correct hostel as we have had no complaints about the temperature of the water and we clean our recently renovated hostel daily, so if something did have an off smell, i'm sure we would have addressed it immediately....

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 29 October 2015

This was my first hostel experience. I was a little unsure about booking a hostel, but the hotels we looked at were pricey and did not not have private baths in the rooms. We stayed here 2 separate times in 2 weeks and were very pleased. We had a private room with a private bath. Both were clean. Every staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Francisco, responded to this review

We always love it when we can make a fan of a first time hosteller! Thanks for the great review. We also have fun and modern hostels in Hollywood and two in San Diego. We hope you try our other locations. Happy Travels.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I was very hesitant to try the hostel experience. But this place gave me a better experience than any 5-star hotel ever has! The staff, the location, the atmosphere, everything was outstanding. I stayed in a private room with shared baths. Everything was clean. I thoroughly enjoyed the planned events too! Don't waste money on an expensive SF hotel when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wanderlustnat
USAH, Guest Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Francisco, responded to this review

Wow! Thanks for the great review! We're so happy that we could make a fan of a first time hostel guest. And we agree...why stay at a hotel, we're much more fun!

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,240 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
4,748 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
4,983 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 3 blocks from Union Square and close to tourist attractions, this award-winning hostel offers value-priced dorms and privates. Rates include a daily breakfast of fresh fruit, baked goods, all-you-can-make pancakes and oatmeal daily along with fruit juice, coffee and tea. The hostel hosts daily free activities offering solo travelers and other many chances to make new friends and take home great memories. Most guests are young, international travelers and this is not the appropriate property for families with young children as the hostel has some late night events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Francisco

Address: 711 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $74 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from USA Hostels San Francisco staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Tampa, Florida
Puerto Rico
Austin, Texas
7 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from USA Hostels San Francisco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you stay in dorm room, pay a few bucks more to stay at one with private bathroom. Then you can have the public bathroom as a backup. ”
 of 5 bubbles royc1031, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“With bathroom in the room. Good privacy in all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles O8093HGlaurat, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Better mattress would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and comfortable. Each bed has lamp and charging port. Bring your own lock ”
 of 5 bubbles 501hilarym, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All are great”
 of 5 bubbles borisno3, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5