We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge by the Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge by the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 856: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge by the Bay
 Click to rate
Sacramento, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The stay was ok bed had crumbs in it. All night doors slamming. Vending machines broke. Parking fee to stay at a hotel. If you don't have a credit/debit card don't bother going here. Ppl are nice

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L5707NFmichellet
San Francisco, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall this is a great place for us to stay. It is walking distance from Fishermans Wharf and next door to our favorite San Francisco restaurant. However, we can never get an early check-in event though we are platinum Wyndham members. Even though rooms are available, we have been made to sit in our car in the parking lot for...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 379marlenef
Denton, NE
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Travelodge by the Bay was a great choice for us, easy to find, great location, clean rooms, nice breakfast, and great tips from the front desk. We loved our quick trip to SF, and would readily recommend this hotel. Wonderful neighborhood to walk in and take in the sights. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianekH594OC
New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Granted this is a lodge, don't expect 5-star hotel amenities. You have the basic bed, fridge and decent sized bathroom. The walls are very thin, you hear people talking from time to time - but it's bearable. The pros are this is a central location to spots like Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate, Union Square, Chinatown, Alamo Square...etc. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
Corona, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

do not stay here. they take all kinds of unnecessary fees out of your account and then do not refund them!!! me and two other couples pitched in for an average room that costed $917!! but when I arrived hey told be the total would be 977. for a security deposit. at the end of my stay i got a...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayannaj2017
Management response:

Dear ayannaj2017 Thank you for having stayed with us, You are more than welcome to contact the hotel if you wish to discuss this in private. As a reminder the hotel does hold an additional $20.00 for each night for incidentals, this will be returned to you at check out time. However if guest have additional costs such as parking...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was very good and only 15 mins to most attractions by the bay. Room was comfortable and it included a continental breakfast that saved a little money. My only issue is that usually when you rent a room you get a car space included, seeing as this is a drive up motel. But here they charge you USD$17.50 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
Management response:

Dear Tony Thank you for the review and I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed in paying for the parking. Parking is very tight in SF, our parking prices are very reasonable. I am glad that you found the room to be comfortable, and that the breakfast was to your liking. We look forward to a return visit.

Roseville, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bed was a little stiff, the room was clean, the location was good, BUT the paper thin walls were a nightmare. I could here word for word what our neighbors to the right were saying, and we had to endure about 2 minutes of people having sex above us.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brandonc897
Management response:

Dear Brandon Thank you for the review, I am happy to hear that the hotel location worked for you, as well as that the room attendants are doing a great job cleaning. However, I am sad to hear that you found our walls to be paper thin, thank you for leting us know, it is something for us to take...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmacU3621BW
Management response:

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not stay on the bottom floor! If I stayed there again it would be on the 3rd floor. Very loud and noisy. Soda/water vending machine was out of all product for the 3 days I was there. Front desk was aware and I had to walk 2 blocks to find a soda. Inconvenient. If staying here and going to...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarilynRuggles
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for the review. The hotel has two buildings, you can request rooms on higher floors or on the opposite building if you are a light sleeper. We are sorry to hear that the vending machine was not restocked we will reach out to our vendor. On a beautiful and sunny day in San Francisco the walk...

Kingsburg, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The parking spaces were so small I could not open my driver side door. Then at check in they informed me I had to pay $17 to park on hotel property. Our room was by the office and close to street. Very noisy traffic all night. At midnight there was loud talking and yelling above office. Very hard to sleep....

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 387wallaced
Management response:

Dear 387Wallaced Thank you for your review. Yes, parking is $17.26 per day. From the description that you gave it sounds like you stayed in an ADA room, which is a room modified for a person with a disability and needing a spacious bathroom, the one you described is a roll in shower. This is the same reason that this...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
526 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#106 of 229 in San Francisco
1,089 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 229 in San Francisco
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#44 of 229 in San Francisco
3,973 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated Sleepy Bear Honor Roll 3 Years running and voted 2006 Property of the Year. The Travelodge by The Bay has also won the Guest Satisfaction Award. the Travelodge By The Bay is located just 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, 2 blocks from the Cable Cars and The Crookedest Street in the World. The Travelodge by the Bay has just completed a full property renovation. Experience an enjoyable nights stay with convenient amenities and nearby attractions. We offer clean and affordable guest rooms, indoor and outdoor parking, safe interior corridors and much more. The Travelodge By The Bay provides quality, comfort and cleanliness in an excellent location at a reasonable price! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge by the Bay

Address: 1450 Lombard Street, Van Ness & Franklin, San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $195 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge by the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travelodge
San Francisco Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge by the Bay staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge by the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors are noisier. So if you want quite, get a 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 962johnnyp, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want quiet, request a room away from Lombard street. Also, if you are a solo woman traveler, ask,for,an interior entry room.”
 of 5 bubbles Lisaann321, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet night go for top floor, as far away from the car park entrance as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles ffionj979, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose from vibrating room or noisy. Pot luck.”
 of 5 bubbles stormylondon, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“top floors quieter, recommend getting room a littler farther from the street”
 of 5 bubbles athea0, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5