We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Whitcomb

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Whitcomb
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Whitcomb
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,291: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had helped my college-aged son do reservations for this hotel during his stay while attending the Game Developers Conference at the end of February. Although I'm familiar with the city from previous business travel, it's been quite a few years since I've traveled there. In preparation for my son's stay the following week, I called the Hotel Whitcomb and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Joan, We are more then happy to serve you and your family and we thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a couple of times over the last two years. Friendly and helpful staff. Conveniently located right next to Bart. Plenty of good food and drink options nearby too. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Russell, All of us here at the Whitcomb, would like to thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at The Hotel Whitcomb for a four day event held in the ballroom and conference rooms on the first floor. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The guest services manager Varun Kaushal and his team always greeted us with a smile. An overall great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowpea3924
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

A good day, We all thank you for choosing the hotel Whitcomb and for providing a comments to show our future guest what you experienced. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here for a salsa festival and the accommodations have been great. The hotel and rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is really friendly and the manager, Varun, was very helpful. It's in a central location that is steps away from the train station. There's an attached Starbucks which is super convenient because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maritza S
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Maritza, Thank you so kindly for your comments and for choosing the hotel Whitcomb, we all look forward to your return. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice front desk staff; friendly genuine, and went out of their way to meet needs of their guests. Varun Kaushshal helped me find my lost cell phone; he genuinely cared that I found it. Overall hotel experience was great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and of course we are grateful we could find your phone. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was treated like a queen here. I highly recommend this hotel. Very personable service. Everyone here was happy to help me with all my questions. The decor here is stellar! Gorgeousness. Ask for Varun Kaushal-he made me feel like I was at home and went out of his way to make sure my downtown San Francisco was a memorable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krista B
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Krista, Thank you very much for your comments, we are truly grateful just to be apart of your memorable experience. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Lisle, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this place as others have indicated because it was a reasonable priced hotel in downtown SF - and it is located ideally. We had a few woes with check in when we had to wait over 45 minutes to check in. There was a long line already and at times only 1 person checking people in, sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick Z
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Patrick, I would like to apologize for this extended delay while checking in, some customer service issues are preventable, such as this, i have spoken directly with managers to ensure proper staffing if applied to prevent issues like this in the future, Thank you for your comments. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Sonoma, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here during the Salsa Rueda Festival and enjoyed my visit. Yes the place is a bit old school and the building is sort of quirky but the great staff, comfy rooms and awesome location make up for any minor faults. Shout out to Varun Kaushal, one of the guest services manager, for helping find my friend's phone when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buyacubana
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your continued patronage, we look forward to seeing you next. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff were very welcoming helping me with an early check in and worked hard to make sure I'm happy with my stay. The location lends itself to an easy access to different parts of SF. The hotel is reasonable clean and if you need a good room that will be comfortable and clean, this host will do. Don't expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJesic
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Good day Jesic, Thank you for choosing the hotel Whitcomb and we are glad we could attend to your needs during your stay. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

Herndon, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was the worst quality hotel I've stayed in anywhere in a world where I've paid over $70 a night. I paid $300 per night for 2 nights thru a PriceLine "deal". It was safe inside, the hallways had moldy carpets, no TV remote control in room, and the shower was broken. No complementary anything. General Lousy Feel. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidFink88
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry we didn't extend to you the value you have come to expect in your travels. Kevin V/Director of Rooms

763 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (639)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (261)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
1,119 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 229 in San Francisco
1,052 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#131 of 229 in San Francisco
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#128 of 229 in San Francisco
970 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
721 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: $171 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My son chose a 2 double bed room & found roommates to help share the expenses of this conference.”
 of 5 bubbles 738joank, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“conveniently located”
 of 5 bubbles dleishman, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I tried 4th floor without issues.”
 of 5 bubbles sergiocB602VH, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hopefully you'll get Varun as your check-in agent!”
 of 5 bubbles dtidave2017, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to call operator for free wifi code.”
 of 5 bubbles ttheard, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5