We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monarch Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monarch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Start your review of Monarch Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, we walked to most of the spots we wanted to visit and it was easy and fast to do! The rooms are a little basic, but for the price, it is good value. There were some homeless people on the street near the hotel which is a little unsettling but we noticed that was the case on most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham-M95
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the value that we provide in this area, and that you enjoyed both your room and our fantastic location. As you noticed, San Francisco does have an element of homelessness, as do most cities...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Great location since its in downton San Francisco. Very comfortable for the price per night. Nice and helpfull people in the front desk. No food service in the hotel but you can catch a meal in lots of places nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence Nicole A
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Florence, We were delighted to welcome to the hotel recently, and we're just as delighted that you had such a great stay. We'll be sure to pass your comments onto our staff, they are always happy to receive positive feedback from our guests. We hope that you will think of us the next time you need a room in...

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a 4 day weekend vacation and were very disappointed. They really know how to edit their pictures, because it was nothing like what they posted. I could have been okay with it, except the heater did not work and our room was chilly. Luckily my boyfriend was able to fix it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cc_1116
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read your review, and see that you experienced so many issues during your stay. We do wish that you had alerted us to the fact that your shower and sink were draining so slowly - we would gladly have rectified the problem or transferred you to a more suitable room. We will be sure to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The Monarch is charming and clean. The view of the beach across the road is amazing. The complimentary breakfast was perfect and enough to hold you over until lunch. Bring your camera and some wine and get ready to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, we loved reading your review, thank you very much! It's really great that you enjoyed both your stay with us, and our complimentary breakfast so much. Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope that you will have a reason to stay with us again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I rarely write reviews but after reading some of the scathing reviews, and wanting to cancel my own reservation after reading them (but had booked a nonrefundable reservation), I wanted to make sure this sweet little hotel receives the credit it deserves. I just stayed one night, prior to a residency interview in SF, so to be fair, was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Lauren for making an exception for us, and taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that you found us to be a reasonable, yet clean and comfortable hotel for your short stay. We sincerely hope that your residency interview...

las vagas
Reviewed 26 October 2016

It was a Saturday and the eve before a Giants game SF was busy and I finished work at 7:30 pm having completed a 12 hr shift at UCSF Parnassus. I was not looking forward to the 70 mile drive home, when horror of horrors my car notified me that my rear tyre pressure was very low. Tired, in need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hyawatha
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, so sorry to hear about your car, but we are delighted to hear that we provided a comfortable stay during this unfortunate moment. We always aim to provide a relaxing and comfortable environment and so we are thrilled to see that we achieved that. I hope this means you'll be back again someday on your next visit. Thank...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This is a reasonable pick for a quick overnight stay. Old and in need of a facelift, rooms are nonetheless clean. There's no breakfast in the price and the complimentary coffee in the lobby is not great. The immediate neighbourhood is inhabited by a number of homeless and drunk people - plenty of nighttime shouting and scuffles to be heard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, we pride ourselves on our service with clean and comfortable rooms, so we are delighted that you had such a positive experience with them. Just like many cities, our city also suffers from homelessness. But, we assure you that our hotel is safe, and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived to find the weirdest smell in our room as promised we did get a new room within minutes only to find yet another fault bar the noise outside which could not be controlled the electric would flicker every so often... The smell always lingered but nothing like the first room we were in. I didn't experience the great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary D
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, we are disappointed to see that you did not have a great stay with us. We obviously did not check or air your room adequately. Your room should always feel and smell fresh. This is not the usual comment we receive from guests. Our goal is for you to have a pleasant stay and we sincerely hope you...

Singapore
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had a really amazing stay here. Dhon is one of the best staff. Very helpful in giving us information about the city. We love our stay here. Great service. The location is very accessible in the most tourist attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeneY111
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

We're so happy that our staff, specifically, Dhon, made your experience extraordinary and that you found location to be convenient and perfect to visit local attractions. We love to hear comments like yours - many people have this experience when they stay with us but don't take the time to leave a review, so thank you! We hope you enjoyed...

Reviewed 1 October 2016

I have to either find an overnight parking spot myself or go valet parking with the hotel. It took me half an hour to wait for the valet parking. More temporary parking spots should be provided at least for customers' sake to wait till the valet comes. Anyway, it all sucked. In addition to the parking, the chair in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry X
MonarchHotelSF, Guest Relations Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Henry, thank your for sharing your concerns with us. We do provide valet parking, but unfortunately, due to high rush we could not facilitate the request right away. I complimentary understand that it much have been a frustrating experience waiting for car to be parked. Please know that we are looking into it and will fix the process to...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
344 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
1,077 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#174 of 228 in San Francisco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#153 of 228 in San Francisco
805 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
2,245 reviews
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 1015 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $142 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monarch Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Hotel San Francisco
Monarch San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
4 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the elevators (I was given one, for quiteness”
 of 5 bubbles hyawatha, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose rooms with windows away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles 933alenr, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like elevators, get a room on a lower floor. It's a tiny & old elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 692sandig, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms with better view and more sunlight”
 of 5 bubbles anthonycK4482ID, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't book”
 of 5 bubbles B1936ETsaram, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5