We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fitzgerald Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 135*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 135*
USD 135*
USD 135*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fitzgerald Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fitzgerald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed as part of a couple for 5 nights. Staff were courteous but not overly friendly except for the young guy in the breakfast room who was lovely. The room was tiny but clean and fine for us as we were out every day. There was no air con or fan so it got hot at times. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aindyloves2travel
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Ok first things first. This is not a luxurious boutique hotel. It is well located but that doesn't make up for it. Rooms are small and bathrooms smaller. And the soap is poxy. Really needs a facelift. Wifi is free. Breakfast is self service. Breads and cereals. All served on paper plates and paper cups. Hotel mentions a car park...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ImprovisedTravel
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ImprovisedTravel, we apologize you had a bad experience with us because of the room size. Our Petites Doubles are among the cheapest hotel rooms you can find in the heart of downtown, and the size is the reason why we can keep the price low. However, we do provide square footages of our rooms on our website, so that...

Carlsbad, CA
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Room was small no place to put anything. It was expensive. The bathroom was tiny, like old cruise ship bathrooms. Matress was lumpy. This was a place I would not stay a second time. There is nothing luxury about this place but the price

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindysu
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindysu, we apologize you felt the room did not meet your expectations. From your review, I guess you have booked a Petite Double, which is, indeed, a small room as the name says and as it is indicated on our website, where we provide full measurement of the room. The price we offer for our Petites Doubles is below...

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Do not trust what you read on the hotel's website. This is emphatically NOT a "luxury, boutique" hotel. It is not artful, luxurious, or intimate as the website claims. It is a poorly maintained, mediocre hotel. Tiny cramped lobby; tiny, ancient, slow elevator barely big enough for two people and one piece of luggage each. Cramped room, so small the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Paul H
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul H, we are sorry you did not have a good experience at the FItzgerald Hotel. As you have mentioned in your review, boutique hotels have usually a particular style which is different from city to city, and that varies from one boutique hotel to another: the Fitzgerald hotel does have its own unique style, which is a classic...

New Ireland
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The location is central and by SF standards, it isn't outrageously expensive. But the clientele is international, arriving at all hours. The 3pm check-in is inconvenient for people arriving from the other side of the world at 5am--especially when the hotel has been notified. Yes, there is wifi. But every gay site is blocked as "pornographic". And this is San...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nipsco
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nipsco, we are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay at the Fitzgerald. We try to do our best to excel in customer service, but sometimes there is nothing one can do to avoid some inconveniences: check-ins start from 2pm as it is written in each guest's confirmation email; we do receive requests from customers who...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here while on our first trip to San Francisco and greatly enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff are very nice and answered all our questions about the area; if you have any questions ask Eric, he was epic! It was in a perfect location, especially considering the price. Would recommend to friends and plan on coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenR1337
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent there 9 nights. The location is excellent. Good value for your money. The rooms are small but cozy. The breakfast becomes boring after a while, so find a place nearby. Hotel stuff members are great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Auburn, California
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Several times a year, my husband and I spend 3 to 4 days in San Francisco and we always return to the Fitzgerald Hotel. It's a charming European style boutique hotel in a great location with the added bonus of breakfast included and best of all, a history of excellent room rates and guest services. That said, this past Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DNJarvis
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DNJarvis, thank you very much for coming back to our boutique hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay every time, and glad to know our staff was able to give you another good experience. We agree with you that being professional is not the only quality that makes a good service, and that there is nothing like feeling...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Traveling through San Francisco, California and staying at the Fitzgerald Hotel on Post Street, two blocks from Union Square, I stayed in Room 501 on the fifth floor and checked out on February 7th, 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kengoy
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in an excellent area of San Francisco. Easy walk to union square. Good restaurants across the road. And easy walk to transport links like the trams and trains. The hotel is clean, people have commented on the decor being outdated. I would say it is quaint and at least it is all clean and bigger than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieBatGirl
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for having been with us during your stay in San Francisco. We apologize that the parking voucher was not honored. The Fitzgerald Hotel is indeed affiliated with a parking company one block away from its location, which starts at $16, and you should have gotten your discount honored. We wish we had known about this issue...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,283 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#139 of 227 in San Francisco
376 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#167 of 227 in San Francisco
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
359 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
1,103 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 227 in San Francisco
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $158 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fitzgerald Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Fitzgerald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose room far from the elevator.”
816lizak, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Location in the City. Close to Union Square”
brisl2016, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Two bedrooms offers more space for a couple. 5th or 6th floor are quieter.”
H4094ASjorgep, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think it is noisy if you are on the street side; I liked being on the air shaft.”
8LauraH8, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead a non-road-facing room”
archiescat, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 135* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 135
Booking.comUSD 135
TripAdvisorUSD 135
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates