We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental San Francisco

Save
Share
888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
InterContinental
USD 331
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 331
View Deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/21
StayForLong
USD 276
View Deal
eDreamsUSD 331
PricelineUSD 331
Booking.comUSD 331
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1198)
Room & Suite (782)
Dining (77)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 23/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental San Francisco
Updated 23/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#60 of 247 hotels in San Francisco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area's upscale landmark hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround.
Read more
Room & Suite (782)782
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
3,445Reviews58Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,707
  • 1,159
  • 357
  • 125
  • 98
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
willynellson wrote a review Feb. 2021
Reno, Nevada78 contributions31 helpful votes
Absolutely loved it. Literally first time in my life I actually went to sleep so deep it scared me, that's how quite it is and the bed was really soft! I love that even covid 19 has really hurt these hotels in like no pool and etc. But this hotel is doing there best to work around that!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
TimoLV wrote a review Jan. 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada24 contributions48 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed here in the presidential suite. I enjoyed having fantastic views of both the city and the bay. In room dining was consistently fantastic, as was the service provided by everyone at the hotel. This was truly home away from home with room to enjoy the experience. I will be back, this is the only hotel I stay in San Francisco, it’s always great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Long W wrote a review Feb. 2021
San Francisco, California249 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
Never again will I stay at any Inter-Continental Hotel. It is bad service and not up to the standard like what Marriott provides. I booked 2 nights Deluxe (picture 2 and 3) room stay at SF Inter-Continental back in January. When I checked in this afternoon, I got a double bed standard room (picture 4 and 5) at the 19th floor. She said Room 1907 is a deluxe room with great Bay View. When I walked in, it was obviously a standard room to me like what the website shows about the room. When I went back to the front desk and asked for the manager, he said they were fully booked (in the pandemic) and that room is deluxe room because it is above the 12th floor. I would say there is a business fraud going on here. How could you use a more spacious room as the sample for a worse room which I paid extra for. I knew I would not get upgraded like what I get at Marriott because I am not their member. That's why I specifically paid extra to get the room I desire. He didn't suggest any other compensation. I had to totally cancel the whole stay and requested the full amount refund. He thought I would leave just by saying it. Unfortunately, I forced him to process the refund at the sight with the receipts. Don't fuss with a Chinese like me.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded yesterday
Hello longwu, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your most recent visit. We want to ensure we always meet your expectations, if not exceed them. However, I am sorry to hear about the issues encountered surrounding your reservation and the room allocated. We care about your experience and I have made the hotel management aware of your comments. I am certain that appropriate steps will be taken so similar situations may be handled in the best possible way. I would also love the chance to look into this further, so I have sent you a private message to get more details. I hope you give us another chance and to serve you better when you travel back to the area! Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
New Horizons wrote a review Nov. 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The pandemic has created barriers to excellent customer service and the Intercontinental mostly succeeds in moving past them. During my four night stay for business, most of the staff was helpful, professional and friendly which I appreciate under these trying circumstances. Two very unfortunate developments stand out and raise questions for potential guests who may find other hotels more appealing: 1. The presence of likely homeless guests in the hotel. A presumably homeless person and dog was found in the elevator disoriented and somewhat menacing. 2. Inefficient and inappropriate support from a customer support team member, Caitlan. My request for FedEx packaging and paperwork, routinely provided by better quality hotels, was met with delays and incorrect information. In the end, i had to manage the process, devoting an hour to it, time better spend on business at hand. At no point did Caitlan apologize. Indeed,, some of her responses were marked by hostility. During the pandemic, more measured and thoughtful responses by hotel team members, combined with a recognition that guests have honorable intentions, seem particularly important. This is an area of potential improvement for the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jose C wrote a review Nov. 2020
Oakland, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is situated in a dream location, next to Moscone Center, at one block of Bloomingdales, and very close to everything. The hotel is clean (very!) and crew is efficient, friendly, and fast. But... It's not a family hotel. The restaurant is close at this moment, the bar is open with taking out food. No place to sit at breakfast!! Starbuck is around the corner but in the same situation. That ruin our weekend. In fact, I would not use this hotel if I know in advance no restaurant is open. The second negative point is around the hotel are a lot of homeless people. If you are on the lower floors, be prepared to hear screams all night, and walk on the night is kind of no, especially, with your family. Another unexpected surprise was hotel charge you $100/night for "security reasons". So, if you want to go on a romantic night, I would suggest Hyatt Regency at embarcadero; if you want a weekend in the city, maybe another hotel closer to Union Square could be a better option. The only option I can use this hotel is if you are for business at or close to Moscone Center. For the price for the night, I was expecting at least a decent place to seat and have breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can afford. Homeless people at night will make your night a nightmare
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at InterContinental San Francisco
Responded 7 Dec. 2020
Hi J7721OSjosec, Thank you for making us part of your visit and for sharing your review. We are committed to delivering luxury travel as it should be. While we're elated to know that you appreciate our hotel's location and staff, I understand that we fell short of your expectations. Due to the mandates in place for the prevention of the COVID-19, our hotels have imposed certain limitations and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. Regrettably, you felt our efforts inadequate and our services on par with the brand. We appreciate your honest feedback and would like to assure you that your thoughts are heard. We always challenge ourselves to be better and feedback like yours will serve as a constant reminder to enhance our Service Hospitality. Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction and comfort. We look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in the near future. Safe travels, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 189 - USD 615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental san francisco hotel san francisco, san francisco intercontinental
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San Francisco / SoMa / South Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
556
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental San Francisco
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental San Francisco?
Nearby attractions include San Francisco Urban Adventures (0.4 km), Barbary Coast Dispensary (0.3 km), and Yerba Buena Gardens (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental San Francisco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental San Francisco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montesacro Pinseria, Blue Bottle Cafe, and 54 Mint.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at InterContinental San Francisco?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does InterContinental San Francisco offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.