We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Traveller (254)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (28)
Overview
240 Fort Mason, San Francisco, CA 94123-1335 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
2 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
139
159
57
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
139
159
57
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort mason the golden gate bridge free parking bed dorm hi hostel fisherman's wharf girl scouts common room great kitchen amazing location lounge area bring earplugs shared bathroom public transport stayed here for nights cable car union square
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel in a very peaceful and historic location with a picturesque view over the San Francisco Bay. Rooms are comfortable and there are plenty of common areas: lawn, movie theatre, two kitchens, lounge, etc. I noticed that the management of the hostel is very...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Connector403259
Response from TerikaTischer, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's WharfResponded 1 week ago

Thank you kindly for this raving review of HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf! I am super stoked to learn that you enjoyed your visit so immensely. We are very proud of our commitment to helping the environment, so thank you for noticing our efforts! Hopefully...More

Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in October, staff are exceptional all of them. And Cafe Franco is great for food and drinks, cheaper than eating out, as it's a little pricey. Was in the 4 bed dorm. If I came back would stay again. Everything...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank JonyNineFingers72
Response from Terika T, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's WharfResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you for your review of HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, it sounds like you had a wonderful time while visiting us! It pleases me greatly to learn that you had such a wonderful experience. Hopefully you were able to join one of our activities...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

I stayed a total of 3 nights here, 2 in a 4 bed room that was just awesome, very clean, not overly crowded and had lounge/small kitchenette/bathroom area off it, would highly recommend staying here. Unfortunately my 3 night (2 night gap in Yosemite between...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Kiwideno
Response from TerikaTischer, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's WharfResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for this amazing review of HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf! I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much while visiting us in our humble home on the hill! Thank you for reminding future guests to bring power banks...More

Reviewed 25 October 2018

My girlfriend and i stayed at this hostel for 5 nights in mid-september in a shared room. There is an awful lot going for this beautiful hostel. The beautiful location for starters - looking out over the bay and Alcatraz in the distance - the...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank AdrianH210
Response from TerikaTischer, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's WharfResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for this incredible review of HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf! It really is refreshing to hear you say that a snorer in the room is not our fault. You have no idea how often folks get mad at us for that...so I really...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

The location could not be better. Walking distance to the bay, great views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge. I encounterd friendly and helpfull staff. The bathroom facilities were just ok, nothing special. The room however was one of the worst I have ever...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Namaste074
Response from TerikaTischer, Manager at HI San Francisco Fisherman's WharfResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback about HI San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, I appreciate the frankness regarding your sleeping situation. I apologize that you found your room to be uncomfortable. I would love to know which room you were in so that I may help initiate...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Stay in a National Park overlooking the Bay at San Francisco's first and best hostel! Both shared and private rooms available, cafe serving three meals/day plus free continental breakfast, free parking, free More WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. In a beautiful park setting near North Beach, Pier 39, and cable cars. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Restaurant
Spa
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
172
Price range
USD 31 - USD 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Location
United States > California > San Francisco > Fort Mason / Marina District
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
172
Price range
USD 31 - USD 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Location
United States > California > San Francisco > Fort Mason / Marina District
Photos
Traveller (254)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (28)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 234 nearby hotels
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
801 reviews
.49 km away
Van Ness Inn Hotel
264 reviews
.67 km away
Redwood Inn
493 reviews
.67 km away
Town House Motel
328 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,328 nearby restaurants
Off the Grid: Fort Mason Center
180 reviews
.26 km away
Greens Restaurant
995 reviews
.33 km away
Ghirardelli-On-The-Go
150 reviews
.55 km away
The Pub at Ghirardelli Square
495 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,980 nearby attractions
Ghiradelli
16 reviews
.57 km away
Ghirardelli Square
3,297 reviews
.52 km away
Fort Mason Center
124 reviews
.51 km away
Fort Mason, the Great Meadow
54 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
drdeez
4 December 2018|
Answer
Response from Terika T | Property representative |
Hi There, We have lockers in all of our shared dorm rooms. You can bring your own padlock or purchase one at the front desk for $4. Additionally, we have a secure luggage room you can use before check in and after check... More
0
Votes
Chanel S
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John M | Reviewed this property |
I took a shuttle (Lorrie's Shuttle) from the airport directly to the hostel's front door ($17.00). From the hostel to the airport I reserved through the hostel and it was only $14 with pick up at the front door.
1
Vote
pongo2014
1 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Terika T | Property representative |
Hi, Breakfast is served daily from 7:00AM to 10:30AM every day of the week. Please let us know if you have any further questions!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Go for a private room or 4 bed"
Kiwideno
29 Oct. 2018
Read review
"Smell it first!"
Namaste074
2 Oct. 2018
Read review
"you cant pick the specific rooms despite what booking.com would have you believe. I have gathered that if..."
Suzanne739
8 May 2018
Read review
"Great Location Off the Water"
trangl395
8 Aug. 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing