We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,175: English reviews
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The decor is fabulous, very modern. The building is beautiful. Rooms are nice spacious and clean. The bar is a great hangout. Overall the Hotel Adagio is a great place to stay i just wish the price was a bit more affordable. Have fun, enjoy your stay and get yourself a drink at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mwhite813
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Mwhite813 – 5-stars, well thanks! I was very happy to read that our staff was friendly and accommodating; and the rooms were enjoyable! Our rates do tend to fluctuate – as most hotels do – it’s possible if you book early and our rates may be more reasonable for your next business trip. We look forward to your next stay!...

Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Far away from Marriott standards. Housekeeping very busy, cannot cleaned the room till 5 PM. Bath in the room is very small and old, despite their recent renovations. Breakfast in a dark room with no windows, and a poor menu. In the lobby , a cozy bar without coffee Machine, I ask for an expresso and they indicate me Starbucks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrB750
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear CrB750, Thank you for your feedback. My sincerest apologies that we didn’t service your room until later in the day. We do have a new team that is still learning; however, we are always looking to improve our processes. We have recently hired a new Executive Chef (by recently I mean 2 weeks) and we are looking to improve,...

Richardson
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was a last minute change from the Marriott Marquis due to room size (traveling with daughter and 2 toddler grandkids). Wasn't able to get a room as far from the elevator as wanted but will say it was a remarkably noise- free room. Only downsides were having to call guest services for ice and no coffee in room -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyj100
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you kathyj100 for the lovely 4-star review! As our hotel is smaller than average about 75% of our rooms are near the elevator but we do try our best to minimize the noise levels – I’m very glad that it worked for you and your family! That earthquake was a shocker so early and yes, the elevator was down...

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed three nights for a conference held by my company. The personnel at the hotel were really young and inexperienced., such that I wondered whether this is a place that Marriott uses to train new people. They were consistently very nice, and everyone apologized whenever something went wrong, but things went wrong too often. Ex: since I'd never been to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Marie S, Thank you for your feedback. We do have a young and vibrant team that is still learning; however, there is always a manager on duty to assist our guests with any issues. I do sincerely apologize that we were unable to host you for another evening – I will make sure to follow up with the desk...

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Used my points to stay here and loved the service. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. The only downside is the valet parking cost. It's $49 and there is a tax cost of about $9 additional. This is per day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BonnieH08
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you BonnieH08 for the great 5-star review! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us – as most downtown hotels, we don’t own our lot and parking is relatively expensive; that little extra is the state/city taxes of 16% in San Francisco. We do hope to see you again soon – another get away!? Best, Michael Pace General...

Medina, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice hotel on Geary St. With lots of POI's around the location. Staff are extremely nice and helpful. Parking is a little expensive though ($49 per night) while the next door parking lot was $25!!!! Priced at a 4-star level but I would give it 3-stars only for the quality of the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jalloun
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you – Jalloun for review – We’re always looking for things to improve on. San Francisco parking is expensive in general – as most downtown parking lots are not owned by the hotels, but rather leased so pricing is not our own. I hope that we have the chance to serve you in the future. Best Regards, Michael Pace...

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel is nice, but not elite. The surrounding businesses are a little suspect. Not sure why concierge called to ask me room preference, and then provided a different choice on check in. Not how you treat elite platinum members.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Volman879
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thank you – Volman879 for review – I’ll be reviewing this with the staff; I’m not sure where the disconnect was but we hope to serve you again in the future! We’ll make it better the next trip! Best Regards, Michael Pace General Manager

Luton
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in San Francisco at the Adagio. The rooms are pretty basic - bath is uncomfortable. The breakfast area is small and you need to get here early if you want a table. Overall the stay was ok - but the Fisherman's Wharf area of town is better in my view. I was surprised at the amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H12HUB
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear H12HUB, Thank you for your feedback – as you stated we are a boutique within 2 ½ blocks of Union Square. As we are a boutique, some of our areas are smaller than other hotels; I think this brings some charm to our hotel. We do offer a lot of the same amenities and services of a standard sized...

Astoria, New York
Reviewed 23 August 2014

For a long while, I grappled with whether to give this hotel two or three stars. In reality, it's probably around 2.5. Given the price point of this hotel (I paid $270/night, and have seen it significantly higher than that), I'm not giving the Adagio the benefit of the doubt. I should mention that I was initially hesitant to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony D
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Dear Anthony D, Thank you for your feedback – we do appreciate the opportunity to make things better in any area. While we can’t undo your experience, but we would like the chance to talk to you directly regarding your concerns. We do have some initiatives in process to help with some of these concerns you addressed but would like...

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We liked the room size and furnishings and the staff, breakfast not so much. The location was great, easy to walk to many destinations. Parking rates were above the hashtag next door, so next visit we will park elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
Michael P, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review

Thanks Cliff G – for the great 5-star review! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay, we’re looking to revamp breakfast – next trip, try it again and let us know what you think! See you again soon! Warm Regards, Michael Pace General Manager

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Pre-Renovations (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 227 in San Francisco
1,900 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1650
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Price Range: $276 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
USA
Danville, California
5 months ago
Lisburn, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on a higher floor which I'm sure helps with street noise”
 of 5 bubbles MsColorado, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None of the rooms are good if you have to deal with the Front Desk...”
 of 5 bubbles Perigrinator, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“"Artist's Studio" for some extra square footage. Upper floors avoid traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles dmj772, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“804 (king bed)”
 of 5 bubbles 469pattys, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They charge for Wifi for some reason. Call downstairs to ask about the charge--or anything, really--and chances are good that they'll comp you for it.”
 of 5 bubbles scjones86, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5