We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pacific Tradewinds Hostel

Save
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(31 reviews)
“pb j”(7 reviews)
“quiet hours”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Offers from Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
386
60
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
386
60
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roompb jquiet hoursflights of stairsbunk bedsmeet other travellersother gueststhe financial districtlaundry servicefelt like homeawesome staydorm roomfourth floorno elevatorenjoyed my stayhome away from homeamazing location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very apprehensive to stay at a hostel. This was the best experience away from home. Free ramen! What more could you want! Everyone was extremely welcoming and kind. The location is very convenient. Can’t wait to go back!

Thank Mary Anne H
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Had this place recommended to my by a friend, and price was good so I thought I'd try it. The people here are so incredibly friendly and welcoming, facilities were good and atmosphere was relaxed and cheerful. Stayed in one of the quiet dorms (on...More

Thank Steph X
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a fantastic week long stay at Pacific Tradewinds. The people were amazing, staff were relatable and extremely helpful. Pacific is a place where there are no strangers, just friends you haven't met! (that was on their website and it couldn't be more true!)...More

Thank Besta W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel was cute, clean and had a very caring staff. It’s very close to Chinatown, so there is food nearby. Neighborhood felt fairly safe, and the hostel is good about requiring a key to get into the building. I enjoyed the community activities I...More

Thank carbetarian
Response from sfhostel, Manager at Pacific Tradewinds HostelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you! We enjoyed having you hang with our little family here at Pacific Tradewinds and hope to see you on your next adventure to San Francisco. Until then, happy trails...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful time, did Yoga in a cathedral with Chad, the manager, and enjoyed getting to know my fellow backpackers. They also have free PB and J sandwiches and ramen, which is great if you're on a budget. Can't recommend this place enough!

Thank shannonf168
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in San Francisco
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
USD 42 - USD 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 42 - USD 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Nearby
Financial District
The Financial District lies just east of Chinatown but
can seem a world apart given it’s San Francisco’s
version of Wall Street. The rush of business people
make up a hectic weekday and add to a frenetic pace of
life, but visitors who spend a few hours walking the
narrow streets will be rewarded with fine examples of
historic and contemporary architecture, including the
iconic Transamerica Pyramid. After business hours,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
buddha474
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Unfortunately, because we are in an old historic building is has been deemed technically infeasible and financially prohibitive to install an elevator. For guests unable to navigate our stairs we will arrange equivalent... More
0
Votes
PragatiSingh
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from sfhostel | Property representative |
Hi Pragati, I recognize your name so I know we have already answered this question for you personally, however I will answer it again here for the benefit of other readers. As a small hostel, it's necessary that all our... More
1
Vote
Lauren S
26 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShelbyTucker | Property representative |
Hey Lauren. As we are right in downtown San Francisco, we do not offer parking. There are parking garages 1 block away for $28/24 hours. Alternatively, we know of some first come, first served free street parking across the... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Floors other than the one on the same floor as the lobby would be quieter. The lobby floor is quiet during..."
Read review
"Try the free PB&J!"
Read review
"There is a no noise policy past 12am, so even if you book a "social" dorm, you will still get quiet..."
Read review
"You can ask for a little room (4 beds) on the third floor, it's quiet and the bathroom is bigger ;)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing