We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Metropolis

CancelonUSD 170*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 204*
USD 170*
Great Deal
USD 204*
USD 204*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Metropolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Metropolis
 Click to rate
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Like others on here, I also read the reviews of this hotel after booking and was slightly anxious as to what it would be like, but tried to remain open-minded. The matter of fact is yes, it's close to the transport network and shops etc. which is a massive bonus...however we did not feel at all safe in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie B
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Abbie B, Your feedback is greatly appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. We will be using this example as a training opportunity with our team so that we may improve the experience for our future guests. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis, I would welcome the opportunity to...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

If what you need is a clean place to sleep and shower before heading out to explore SF, this place is great. When I travel, it is mostly for leisure so 'hanging out' in my hotel room is not something I do. This was perfect for a good night's sleep and a shower. It works for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Erin H, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was just okay. We arrived to the hotel to be greeted by a parade of homeless people to then leave our car with the parking attendant, not sure if we should just hightail it out of the hotel before even entering. We decided to chance it and head inside. The lobby was clean and the gentleman at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank techgirl2013
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear techgirl2013, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your comments are appreciated and we will be sure to share with our Hotel Manager about your experience with the elevator so that can be looked into asap. Thank you again for your feedback. Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am such a massive fan of this hotel. Stayed here for 5 nights from the 28th to the 3rd of May. After reading reviews when I had already booked I'm gonna admit - it really put me off. Thank God I didn't let it stop me going!! So here comes a large review haha This hotel is fantastically located...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rakfay
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Rakfay, We truly appreciate your candid comments about your recent stay with us! I am sure your feedback will definitely help our future guests plan their visit accordingly. As you mentioned, upon exiting the hotel, head left, not right, and you're good. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms in San Francisco are supposed to be small, and these one fit the bill. Very cool, modern lobby. Older decor, well maintained. Walk to Giants game. Close nightlife in Union Square. Above average boutique hotel. Plenty of surface parking. Parking is $$. I would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve752
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Steve752, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco, for another Giants game perhaps! #GoGiants! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow...sirens, car horns and neighboring rooms kept me awake all night. The room is ok but older light fixtures and other electronics show wear n tear. They tried to give it a Facelift but if u look a little closer you can see Beneath the bandaids.....one can find similar deals on quieter streets. Where the hotel has actually been renovated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rfmudflap
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Rfmudflap, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awful place. Lobby is run down, and lift is tiny. Room was both. Staff disinterested. Alcatraz would have been more amenable. The Hotel pesents rooms on its website that look fine, so if you are already booked take a picture or a link and make sure you get a room like the ones displayed. We stayed one night of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howardti
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear howardti, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WATCH OUT - Parking costs $37 for one night! The only thing that is included in the initial price is a nasty room. Box spring beds in a very old building with the windows leaking through cold air and sound from the streets below. We could hear clear lyrics from music playing down on the street and feel cold air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_Agent_007
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Vacation_Agent_007, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights. Don't be put off by first impressions - yes it's on the outskirts of the tenderloin but we were never bothered by anyone. Hotel staff were nice and friendly and beds were comfortable. Hotel could probably do with a touch up as the colours are dated but I do believe there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DPDB
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear DPDB, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the hospitality of our team during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is my second stay at this hotel. On this trip we were upgraded. I loved our room. It had a balcony (it was under repair and we had someone working outside in the morning-nevertheless I thought it to be a great little room with a BEAUTIFUL view). This room has potential. I know this hotel gets lots of complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kashunda M
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Kashunda M, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the hospitality of our team during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
751 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 228 in San Francisco
2,908 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
1,410 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $195 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On the edge of a questionable neighborhood, but if you remain aware of your surroundings, you'll be fine. I traveled solo and felt safe.”
erinh651, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Its in the city, so get a higher floor to avoid street noise.”
Steve752, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the seventh floor. Some city noise but hey, it's the city.”
Chichamus, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
730evgenia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the top floor”
johndoe807, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 170* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 204
Orbitz.comUSD 204
Hotwire.comUSD 204
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates