We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Metropolis

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Metropolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 504: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Metropolis
 Click to rate
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms in San Francisco are supposed to be small, and these one fit the bill. Very cool, modern lobby. Older decor, well maintained. Walk to Giants game. Close nightlife in Union Square. Above average boutique hotel. Plenty of surface parking. Parking is $$. I would go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve752
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow...sirens, car horns and neighboring rooms kept me awake all night. The room is ok but older light fixtures and other electronics show wear n tear. They tried to give it a Facelift but if u look a little closer you can see Beneath the bandaids.....one can find similar deals on quieter streets. Where the hotel has actually been renovated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rfmudflap
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Rfmudflap, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Awful place. Lobby is run down, and lift is tiny. Room was both. Staff disinterested. Alcatraz would have been more amenable. The Hotel pesents rooms on its website that look fine, so if you are already booked take a picture or a link and make sure you get a room like the ones displayed. We stayed one night of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howardti
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear howardti, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

WATCH OUT - Parking costs $37 for one night! The only thing that is included in the initial price is a nasty room. Box spring beds in a very old building with the windows leaking through cold air and sound from the streets below. We could hear clear lyrics from music playing down on the street and feel cold air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_Agent_007
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Vacation_Agent_007, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain knowledge...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights. Don't be put off by first impressions - yes it's on the outskirts of the tenderloin but we were never bothered by anyone. Hotel staff were nice and friendly and beds were comfortable. Hotel could probably do with a touch up as the colours are dated but I do believe there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DPDB
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear DPDB, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the hospitality of our team during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second stay at this hotel. On this trip we were upgraded. I loved our room. It had a balcony (it was under repair and we had someone working outside in the morning-nevertheless I thought it to be a great little room with a BEAUTIFUL view). This room has potential. I know this hotel gets lots of complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kashunda M
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Kashunda M, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the hospitality of our team during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here in the past and I like it very much. My last stay was early this march 2017. The rooms and the hotel itself is very clean. The staff is friendly. I am gonna stay here again in a month on my next trip to san fransciso. It's near everything in walking distance. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Carlos M, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and the hospitality of our team during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This place was just gross. For one - there are homeless people everywhere. I mean everywhere. While,they do leave you alone it still isn't something I want to see every time I walk oit of my hotel door. Our tv didn't work, nor did the shower drain properly. Toilet clogged and always had fl coal to extra towels. Hallways smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda F
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda F, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent visit with us. Your feedback is appreciated but we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations and for that I apologize. On behalf of our Hotel Manager, Luis Morales, I would welcome the opportunity to have you discuss with him offline to gain...

Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Booked by my corporate travel agent. Homeless people sleeping on the street across from the hotel, male strip club with signs to "Touch our Junk" around the corner, men working on the deck RIGHT OUTSIDE MY WINDOW in the morning (no warning), pipes poorly wrapped in the teeny tiny bathroom, holes poorly replastered on the walls, sloppy paint job, pipes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbinredhead
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear robbinredhead, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. To clarify, there is no male strip club in front of the hotel, as that venue you are referring to is located north of Union Square, closer to the Hyatt, Ritz Carlton, other hotels and high end retailers. Ultimately, we unfortunately were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and for...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The location was perfect for walking or taking public transportation. Hotel room was good three star accommodation with very comfortable beds, clean linen, and everything else we needed. Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. I didn't see any gangs, just some young people hanging out a block away, and yes, there were homeless people around the neighbourhood but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chichamus
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Chichamus, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your candid feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco! Best regards, Nick Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco for Hotel Metropolis

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 227 in San Francisco
746 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#130 of 227 in San Francisco
1,212 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
2,890 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 227 in San Francisco
1,394 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Metropolis embodies the quintessential urban hotel experience and offers a unique perspective on the grit and beauty of city life. This non-smoking boutique hotel features 105-rooms among ten stories of a historical building located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations. The hotel is located just one-block from Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Three blocks away are Union Square and Moscone Convention Center. The Hotel Metropolis is well suited for vacationers, families, convention goers and business travelers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 25 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2805
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: $191 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel San Francisco
Metropolis San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metropolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Its in the city, so get a higher floor to avoid street noise.”
Steve752, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the seventh floor. Some city noise but hey, it's the city.”
Chichamus, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
730evgenia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not the top floor”
johndoe807, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the tenth floor facing the Market Street”
humzahy, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5