We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
290Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
110Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Neighbourhood
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
175Reviews
37Photos
15Q+A
16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 56
  • 40
  • 21
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Was ok. The location is great. An ok value for what S Fco normal values are, the service downstairs was friendly, mainly no complains. The elevator is too small and it looks like they are doing some remodeling. All things considered: ok.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We're just happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Best Regards, Post Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
The $300 security deposit on arrival was a surprise for me, though the admitting clerk stated that it had been revealed on the Internet (I still have not seen it). While the room was cute (bunk beds, twin combination desk/bureau) and the hotel was generally clean (aside from a
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel
Responded 7 Nov. 2018
We appreciate that you've taken the time to share with us regarding your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your valuable business. Best Regards, Post Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
We stayed at the Post Hotel in 2017 while visiting San Francisco for the first time. The hotel is located quite central, which was great for us to get around. In retrospective I would probably stay in a different area next time I visit this spectacular city, but that comes down
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel
Responded 29 Sep. 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Your stay does not sound like the type of stay that we generally provide for our guests, and we apologize for all of the little issues that you had during your time here. We will review your comments in detail as a team, and we see what changes that we can make in terms of both improving our property and training our staff, to improve our future guest's experiences. Thank you again for your detailed comments, we really appreciate them. Best Regards, Post Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
This is my first time writing a bad review for anything but this is the worst hotel I’ve stayed in and I travel a lot. I was visiting my dad for two days in San Francisco. The first night I came in there I noticed two bugs crawling on the floor and I stepped on them. I pulled
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel
Responded 27 Aug. 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your review. We are extremely disappointed to hear of your experience with cockroaches and bed bugs; please be rest assured that our pest control experts have been on-site, and have dealt appropriately with this matter. Thank you for your valued business; we appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel, and taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. Best Regards, Post Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Not a bad place for a one night stay. The room was small but modern. The elevator worked very fast. No on-site parking but there is a parking garage around the corner. Most of the parking garages charge $35 for the whole day.
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Post Hotel
Responded 21 Aug. 2018
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Post Hotel Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
O quarto completo é só esta foto
Hi - was nearly two years ago that I was there, and at the time I saw no roaches in my room, and that is something that I would have noticed. Not to say that there weren't any elsewhere in the establishment. And as I said, that does to back a little ways. I stick by my assessment - if you are looking for something safe, clean, and low-budget right in the thick of things, the Post is (or at least was0 a great option.
0 votes
Show all answers
We were able to get to SFO pretty easily via BART. I'm not sure what time it starts running on Sunday mornings though. There were signs at the front desk about an airport shuttle - I thought I saw something about it costing around $20. I think Alcatraz Bike Tours, which is only about 30 feet from the hotel entrance, also arranges for a hotel shuttle. The shuttle might be worth it, as the BART one-way trip still cost around $9.
1 vote
Show all answers
There are plenty of parking lots that are adjacent to hotel and restaurant- no charge for parking.
0 votes
No it doesn't
0 votes
Show all answers
No idea. We travelled by car
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"Try to avoid any room overlooking Post St. if you want a quiet nights sleep. Avoid 325!"
"Private bathroom"
"217 good shower"
"Try and get and inward facing room. SF is noisy 24/7"
"room with front to Post St is a little noise at night"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
USD 137 - USD 316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan FranciscoDowntown San FranciscoDowntownTheater DistrictUnion SquareLower Nob Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing