We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buena Vista Motor Inn

TravelocityUSD 271*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 318*
USD 271*
USD 318*
USD 271*
USD 318*
USD 269*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buena Vista Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 446: English reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Horrible, Pay more & don't get bit or take any bugs home. Price seemed fair until you consider the cost of taking vermin back home with you. Parking was difficult & someone had peed right in front of my car trunk. Luckily this caused me to only take in a carry on, instead of all my luggage.We only stayed 1...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa A
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teressa, I am sorry that you feel that you had problems during your stay. I have tried to find your situation but was unable to find the issue you had described. I hope you can contact us again as I have checked with our Pest Control Service as we take the bug problems very seriously. Ecolab which is our...

Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

After reading a few reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little hesitant. Due to booking last minute, there was not a lot of hotels left to choose from in San Fran which didn't blow the budget or were already booked out. Upon arrival, the front desk staff were lovely. Though it is a little cramped when this same area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My husband and I arrived in San Francisco after a long day on the road without a reservation or a good understanding of where to stay so I used Trip Advisor reviews to guide us and that's how I found Buena Vista Moter Hotel. I'd say other reviews are accurate. It is over priced for the accommodations but not for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
Athens
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The 'Buena Vista Motor Inn' hotel is located centrally on Lombard Street, one of the main roads of San Francisco and is very convenient to walk to the Marina district from there or have access to the center of the city. The rooms are quite big and spacious and while the furniture is outdated, the beds are comfortable enough. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paixtaras
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the same day we stayed (after a failed Airbnb experience). We chose this place because of its great location, price and "ok" reviews. Honestly, we were quite impressed with the facility and value for money. The room was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. It is so well located that we could walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeCeeDeeCee
Taunton, Somerset
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My Family and I stayed in this hotel from the 14th of August to the 19th of August 2016. We had two double rooms, my Wife and I in one and children in the other. The rooms are reasonably small and a family room (with two double beds) would have been tight. If you have a room to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HonestWayne
Andrew A, General Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear HonestWayne, I am sorry you felt that your stay was not to your liking. However since you were here for 5 nights and you did not comment on you stay until you left, why did you not move to another hotel you looked around and found better? We try our best to address problems in the hotel and especially...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Great price with free parking, wifi and breakfast.and a central location. The rooms were old and shabby but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was new. The 3rd floor had a lovely terrace garden with a view of the Golden gate Bridge. So nice to eat breakfast on terrace or enjoy a glass of wine.An international crowd gave the hotel a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttravelravelcarol
Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This place was way above our expectations, especially as it says it's a 2 star hotel. Having been on a roadtrip for weeks and stayed in many places in California, I can assure you this is more of a 3 star hotel. Very comfortable room and great location! Very high standard in its price range. Rooms were big and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KayWAmsterdam
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The number one plus here is definitely location - the hotel is within walking distance of Fisherman's wharf and Pier 39 (about 10 minutes). This is worth a lot, as parking is scarce down there. Staff is friendly and our room was spacious and clean. As we had a backyard facing window, it was really quiet - even though the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorisHeimgartner
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This is our third time we stayed in this hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, love the location and the buffet breakfast and free parking is greatly appreciated for a family of four. Will definitely be staying here next time we travel back to San Francisco. Make sure you check rates on a daily basis for the best deals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itumidon

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
Queen Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
1,118 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#146 of 228 in San Francisco
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
544 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 228 in San Francisco
483 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 73 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $232 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Georgetown, Canada

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room at the back, front too noisy”
j0nathanelizabeths, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the rear.”
383mikef, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Level 3 has a nice shared sun room with a view where you can eat your breakfast if it is busy downstairs.”
jodgee, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a room at the back of the hotel. Noise from Lombard street in front rooms can be unbearable, especially during the night.”
Paixtaras, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look around at others, there are better, even on a budget.”
HonestWayne, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 271* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 271
TripAdvisorUSD 269
CancelonUSD 318
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates