We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buena Vista Motor Inn

Booking.comUSD 269*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 318*
USD 269*
Great Deal
USD 279*
USD 279*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Buena Vista Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, had room 201, its big not up to date, but nice room, there is noise from lombard Street, but no problem unless you are very sensitiv, the price is ok for San Francisco, there is af rooftop where you can smoke if you do that, breakfast can you take to your room, there are free parking, an the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claus J
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Claus, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our affordability and location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second stay here and would not have chosen anywhere else. Great location easy to walk to piers. Free parking, yes Free! Unbelievable in San Francisco, good large rooms with toiletries. Clean and comfortable. Adequate breakfast and lovely staff. Great roof top view over the city and towards Golden Gate Bridge. Really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janiensk
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your kind words mean so much to us and we are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs so well again on this visit. We hope to see you many more times in the future, and thank you for making our hotel your choice in San...

Broadstone Dorset
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted a reasonable hotel as we were only staying a couple of days prior to a cruise, The hotel was easy to find, we arrived late afternoon, reception staff were helpful. The room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel, we could not shut the windows fully so couldn't shut the traffic noise out, we also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0nathanelizabeths
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing such a detailed review. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient and our staff to be so helpful. It is very disappointing to hear you had such a poor sleep on your first night, however, I am pleased that we were able to relocate you to a quieter area of the hotel...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Check in through a thick glass window with a tiny slot. Shuttered 'lobby'. Not very inspiring from a safety point of view. Enter your room and it very loudly announces the need to double lock your room. Not very inspiring from a safer point of view either. Broken wash basin and cheap toiletries. Carpet that hasn't been cleaned in years....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robinder S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not particularly enjoy your stay with us, and that our hotel was not suitable for your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay here left us dissatisfied and uncomfortable. The hotel is very small lobby and when we arrived there at 10pm they have only open the small window for the contact and this reflects insecurity for the place. The room is very old and lack proper maintenance. Breakfast is very disappointing for what the cost they charge at over US$200...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suwatss
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry to understand that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay with us, and that you were not entirely comfortable here. We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes. We would love to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Best time in san francisco. The location and cleanliness of the hotel loved it and the breakfast very good. The staff very helpful. The best part is passing the bus big bus for the tour of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paty M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to have provided you with such an ideal location for your stay in San Francisco! Thank you for your feedback, we trust that you had a great time in the city, and that you will return for another visit soon. We would love to be your hotel of choice when you do! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had booked into another hotel that had advertised that off street parking was available (we had a rental car) – but we had been deceived by the advertising and in fact we would have had to pay a significant amount of money to park it a few blocks away. Buena Vista came to our aid – and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

We just love being called "awesome", thank you! It's great that we were able to accommodate you when you were so disappointed with the other hotel, and even better that we were able to accommodate you so well! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that our staff gave you such great, useful information. We...

Peekskill, New York
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nothing fancy, but a good clean hotel with good value. It has a nice back garden for a quiet cup of coffee and a roof deck with a nice view. The beds were fine and the breakfast was nice. The only complaint was the water pressure was terrible. Other guests said the same thing when we talked with them. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, although we apologize if our water pressure was not quite to your satisfaction. The age of our building does mean that we don't have just the same pressure as newer, more modern buildings. We hope that this does...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Not recommended. Pulled in here after a lovely drive up from LA. We were all in great spirits until we were checked in. Without going into too much detail the girl at reception was short, rude and unhelpful. After going into our smelly rooms I literally walked back out, cancelled our booking via a website booking dot com (burning $400...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tim, We are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations, and that you were not greeted in the manner in which we aim to greet all of our guests. We apologize for the fact that our property was unsuitable for your needs. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This motel is in a brilliant location. The Big bus tour company, City Sightseeing plus public buses stop just outside the motel. The free parking was the main reason for staying here. We walked everywhere and you can avoid the big hills of San Francisco walking to and from this motel to most major sites (except of course the crooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodi m
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jodi, We are happy to have met your needs, and the needs of your family so well on your visit to San Francisco. We do, as you say, have a great location for exploring the city, and hope that you enjoyed your trip to the city! On your next visit, please do ask for advice from our staff regarding...

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
King Room (36)
Viewed
Queen Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
1,118 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#146 of 228 in San Francisco
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
544 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 228 in San Francisco
483 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 73 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buena Vista Motor Inn is an exceptional value hotel, offering comfortable rooms, friendly service, a convenient Lombard Street location in San Francisco's Marina, and exciting Bay Area packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motor Inn

Address: 1599 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: $232 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buena Vista Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buena Vista Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Motor Hotel San Francisco
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Georgetown, Canada

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Buena Vista Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room at the back, front too noisy”
j0nathanelizabeths, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the rear.”
383mikef, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Level 3 has a nice shared sun room with a view where you can eat your breakfast if it is busy downstairs.”
jodgee, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a room at the back of the hotel. Noise from Lombard street in front rooms can be unbearable, especially during the night.”
Paixtaras, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look around at others, there are better, even on a budget.”
HonestWayne, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 269* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 279
Hotels.comUSD 279
CancelonUSD 318
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates