We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quimby House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 343: English reviews
Start your review of Quimby House Inn
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here recently on business in the area and found it to be quite nice. My room and bath were very spacious and the inn was pleasant with a nice seating area in the lobby. Parking was available in the back. The location is central and close to restaurants, shops, etc in the heart of Bar Harbor. The innkeeper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank betteskid
Middletown, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the Annex with our dog. They were nice about it. Could barely hear the beagle in the room next door. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful in recommending places to eat and what to do with our dog. Would like to point out that at this time of the year there were only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Quimby House Inn was open in mid April and was pet friendly. The inn is in a good location in Bar Harbor and it's close to Acadia. The room was comfortable and clean. Our room included a kitchen. We were able to check-in​ after hours so we didn't have to arrive in the afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very uncomfortable beds in Annex building. Couch is terribly uncomfortable. Found hairs in the clothes drawers. I've stayed in better hotels. There is a small fridge but no coffee table. Also a tiny boob tube in the bedrooms. Blankets, towels, and sheets are terrible. We stayed here because it's dog friendly but not even worth it. I'd rather camp outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter as we were attending accepted students day at College of the Atlantic. Staff were very helpful and responsive. It is within walking distance of the college and of all of downtown Bar Harbor. Staff was very helpful in suggesting excellent places to eat. Very clean and neat Inn. Have already booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele5619
NC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely inn with a lot of character. Our room was very spacious with a gorgeous king size bed. It was 9 degrees F when we arrived, so the room was rather chilly but the supplemental heat made it comfortable before long. It required a drive around the block to figure out the parking, but their lot is off street,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HalDahl
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed off-season. Staff was wonderful and friendly. Our room was spacious and well cleaned. Everything was very cozy and really felt like home. Inn was within walking distance of most of downtown Bar Harbor. Absolutely loved the experience and would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene W
Pensacola
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I never made to the Inn. Made a reservation on Booking.com. This website states that the Inn is pet friendly, after contacting the Inn I found out that it is dog friendly only. That's not pet friendly. My cat travels with me and I have run into this problem before. Somebody needs to get the facts straight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleys2005
YPSILANTI
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were in the area for a funeral and it was a very cold weekend. The room was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the hosts warm and friendly. We were near the front door but in off-season there's almost no traffic on the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MICHEL S
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

First off I need to say that Booking.com is probably the major problem with what was supposed to be a nice long 21st anniversary weekend for us... BUT with that said, I am very disappointed with the whole processes & hidden fees associated with staying here. We wanted to bring our dogs with us, so I was required to book...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki H
athiker2000, Owner at Quimby House Inn, responded to this review

First and foremost I want to apologize to you. I wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you personally and make your 21st anniversary weekend the celebration you had anticipated. After seeing this review, I did immediately got to the website you mentioned to be sure that this would not happen to another guest; I am not at...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (127)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Room 101 (20)
Viewed
Room 209 (19)
Viewed
Room 211 (18)
Viewed
Room A119 (20)
Viewed
Room A222 (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
334 reviews
1.4 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
587 reviews
0.2 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
414 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Address: 109 Cottage St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1442
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Price Range: $135 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quimby House Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Quimby House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the annex!”
CBG327, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 101”
roboxford, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not get a room on the street side of the main building”
angeladD4737UR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back and noise is a non issue. Especially on the top floor.”
nraleigh08, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have luggage you may want a first floor room...not as many stairs”
jeanm648, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5