We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northshore Hostel Maui

Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (19)
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa!
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
Mountain View
Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
20Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet hours pancakes private room the kitchen rental car airport shuttle pancake mix bathrooms were clean great place to stay quiet place enjoyed my stay female dorm light sleeper felt safe free breakfast air conditioning common room
Updating list...
211 - 215 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hostel is so close to the bus lines, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly, the shuttle to the hostel from the air port is a big plus! Had a blast and I am not a spring chicken! The staff were very helpful...More

Date of stay: October 2013
2  Thank GenTraveler
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 10 December 2013

Mahalo GenTraveler, we appreciate your kind words and thank you for staying with us...hoping to see you and your friends again someday....aloha

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed because it had the best reviews on Maui, and they did not disappoint me. Clean and cozy. Staff were all nice and they have a very good info notebook for guests to find out about bus routes, nearby stores and beaches, etc. They've...More

Date of stay: October 2013
1  Thank TreeFaery
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 2 November 2013

Mahalo TreeFaery for your kind words, we're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again someday....a hui hoa! Aloha...

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at this hostel in a private double room for three nights and were highly impressed. We were picked up from the airport and driven back to the hostel (10-15mins) and given a very thorough introduction to the hostel - the owners leave no...More

Date of stay: October 2013
1  Thank Katrina M
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Katrina Mahalo for your visit, you were delightful guests and we enjoyed hosting you. Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and complimenting the hard work, dedication and care we exercise in the execution of our duties....we appreciate you....mahalo and...More

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Firstly this hostel is not the place to stay unless you have a car. Its in the residential part of maui so its not close to the beach or does it have any night life. Closest big supermarket is a 15 min drive not many...More

Date of stay: October 2013
1  Thank wanderer4442013
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Sir, in response to some of your many complaints: From our web page: 'The Northshore Hostel Maui is conveniently located two blocks away from the Wailuku bus station giving you easy access to transportation to all parts of the island. Many guests choose to...More

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bed bug bites showed up on me on second day of my stay. The first night was quiet, then two new guests arrived and they were always slamming doors. You could hear door slamming during the late hours of the night. Staff never told them...More

Date of stay: October 2013
1  Thank Lupe210
Response from Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel MauiResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Lupe, We are sorry your stay at the Northshore Hostel was not a positive experience. Had you brought your concerns to our attention while you were a guest we would have worked hard to make your visit pleasant. Upon learning of your complaint (after...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eugene K
12 August 2017|
Response from Amity S | Reviewed this property |
About 2 miles. Looks like you can take the Maui Bus as well.
Khandi K
3 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hi Khandi, it is safe to walk to Maui Beach hotel but much easier by taxi.I f you are willing to pay the staff to drive you (which I cannot arrange) you might as well take a taxi or perhaps you might contact the tour company... More
Krista S
9 March 2015|
Response from Michael D | Property representative |
Hi Krista, it is always easy to meet people here at the hostel...the kitchen and the lobby provide great opportunity to socialize! We hope you enjoy your visit, thanks for writing!
Room Tips
"At the back, a 3:30 am Rooster (#16) At the Front (#3) noise from the main Street. So pick the middle."
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Ask for room 17 right on the corner good breeze through two windows"
18 Sep. 2018
Read review
"Easy access to the whole Island"
20 Jun. 2018
Read review
"Ask for a private room with a window to the outside, our window was to the hallway."
20 Jan. 2018
Read review
Show More 
USD 86 - USD 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
northshore maui hotel wailuku
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing