We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northshore Hostel Maui

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Northshore Hostel Maui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Northshore hostel has become a sort of home away from home. With the wonderfull environment of good people and well maintained facilities along with the lovely staff. Thanks northshore for providing such a comfortable place for me to rest and recover while on my business trip all while not making a dent in the check book. If your looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taylor L
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Taylor, thank you very much for your kind and honest review of The Northshore Hostel Maui....best in the islands and the world!

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We loved it there. the staff was amazing and so helpful (especcially Janine). They helped us with everything: planning our daily trips, fixing our car, finding a cheap car rental, finding good hostels on the other islands. I've rarely seen such great staff in a hostel. In the end of our stay Janine (and her put dog Elvis) was more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling917
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

We actually enjoy this!!!!

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night only while waiting on connecting flights. Wish I coulda stayed longer! Friendly, informative staff. Clean, comfy rooms. And homemade complimentary pancakes! Highly recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina G
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Wish you could have stayed longer too...come back again!

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Spend few nights there, one of the best hostel in the world where I was. Fantastic, helpfull crew, nice rooms, and good location on island. Free pancakes and coffee, big kitchen with lot of stuff. You can drink alcohol inside

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gábor H
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Gabor, thanks for the kind words. We think we're the best too! Aloha.

Raglan, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I originally planned to stay here for 4 nights but ended up staying 10. The staff are all super helpful and awesome people. The hostel is VERY clean. Even the rooms/dorms are swept and mopped everyday. The kitchen facilities are fantastic. Also the free pancake and coffee breakfast is a huge bonus. There is a quiet time from 1030 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chelle F
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind words and thanks for staying with us!

Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hostel is very dirty and smelly. The structure is decrepit and the place where is located is a bit depressive. The double room are small, uncomfortable and very high priced for what they offer . All bathrooms are shared, but nothing to complain here. The lady at reception desk was very kind and helpful. They have good general services...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filomena M
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Filomena, we regret that you're experience was 'Terrible' and had so many complaints about our hostel, and that you've posted a similar review on Booking, but pleasantly surprised at least that you found 'nothing to complain here' about having to share a bathroom. We're happy that you found something that we did to your liking. And yes the lady...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We were there for 5 days and stayed in a private room. Very quiet to rest and clean. We had free pancakes, coffee, tea and basic kitchen needs. Be aware of the parking lot you have in front of the hostel. When they say 12h parking is 12h h parking!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela T
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thanks for taking the time to post a review and most of all thank you for staying at the Northshore Hostel Maui....we appreciate your business....Aloha

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 1 July 2016

I've always loved Maui but accommodations can be so expensive. This was the first time I'd seen Northshore Hostel in my search so they must be busy a lot. I'll start with a few of my not so favorite things. The bed was just ok. My room did not have air conditioning, only fans, so it was almost always a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happy_nomad_11
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear happy_nomad Thanks for your summary of our business and taking the time to write. We're happy you found your Maui home and that we could provide a pleasant experience here at Northshore Hostel Maui....mahalo nui loa!

Port Ludlow, Washington
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Second time I've stayed here, as some mainland flights arrive in Maui too late for Molokai connection. Such a deal: free shuttle from airport & back (do tip!), people who work here are nice & helpful, the other travelers are always interesting. I'm happy to share a dorm room, as long as I get a lower bunk! Felt very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathpurvis
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear kathpurvis Mahalo for your kind words....we hope to see you back soon at Northshore Hostel Maui!

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I came for some much needed R&R and found the hostel a perfect place to stay. They do a great job at keeping the place clean and organized. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I have stayed before and will definitely come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda G
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this review

Dear Alone....thanks for your visit...we're happy you enjoyed your R & R at Maui's best hostel.... The Northshore Hostel Maui! Mahalo

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,027 reviews
5.6 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
3.2 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,081 reviews
0.8 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
21.4 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $60 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northshore Hostel Maui staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Northshore Hostel Maui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get there early so you can set up your bed in the light and get blankets/towels; try to get a bottom bunk”
  • Door to 8 person dorm
jesuisbeth, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 4!”
sarahaC2230RG, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Space for your own groceries so you can cook. If you're Canadian, byo maple syrup...seriously...”
mats0660, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“show up early to claim a bottom bunk!”
uhanepono, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'd rather stay in a private room.”
angelat442, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5