We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 435: English reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived and we were upgraded to a private dorm, which was awesome! Nice room. Showers nice and clean, until the stampede come through and make it a mess. Suggest there are more cleaning schedules through the day for this. Very far away from anything; no beach, no shops. Made us feel quite stuck. The tours were awesome and helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatttyxx
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our tours and our great tour guides Zack and Nick! Wailuku is not a typical tourist town but it is a cute little town with some interesting shops, good food and beautiful Iao Valley right down the road! We also offer a beach...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Cool very cheap hostel, very cozy ! Dorm mixed with garden view ! Tours were all for free (we give some money anyway), dinner eas free, drinks and hawaiian punch free in evenings 2 hours long ! They brought us to an amazing beach , may be the only one in hawaii where everybody was naked, some old guy with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joao C
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I recently stayed at the Banana Bungalow Hostel. This was my first time staying at a hostel, so I was unsure of what to expect - but was pleasantly surprised. I loved the atmosphere, the staff were great, and the tours were awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

This place has no AC. It's dirty. The staff is not helpful. They have a lot of chickens that like to crow at all hours not to mention it's loud. The house is old. The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. When I tried to get a refund, even outside of 48 hours the manager said absolutely not. They know they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frank M
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We do not have AC and we don't advertise as such so I'm sorry you were expecting that. While we don't have any chickens, they tend to roam around Maui and unfortunately we cannot keep them out of our yard. I'm sorry if the chickens kept you awake!...

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I extended holidays to include a trip to Maui and so glad I did! I was low on cash and not comfortable driving on the 'other' side of the road. The free tours included were a highlight of my whole trip, thanks to Nick and Zac the incredible tour guides! They had great awareness of the safety of the group...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amy T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Banana bungalow was a good hostel to stay at. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere, and i would recommend getting a car while there. The staff I felt with were a bit useless and not very friendly, but my friends had other staff and really liked them. Good showers and toilets. Was a bit scared i was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShezLeo
Reviewed 25 February 2016

My experience staying at the Banana Bungalow on three different occasions in the past year has been nothing short of wonderful! My total combined stay has been just short of three months in those three combined stays. This was not my original intention…and in fact, I only planned to stay at the Bungalow for three days upon my first arrival—simply...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jerry F
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I have to say this hostel was a unique experience. Almost notorious on the island, it is known as a party hostel. They do party but strictly shut things down at 10 PM. As far as I saw they were very clean and had hot water even at the busy times (in most showers). There were always enough bathrooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank a2ztraveladdict
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This place is an experience ! ! ! personally , I would not have missed it for the world and if you have any sense of adventure neither should you ! Never have I met such a mix of people from many countries. The staff manage this place incredibly well. They do it with a very light touch but it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank malloryhelen
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

They keep this place pretty clean considering the amount of people coming and going all that time. The free tours are really a great add on. Quiet time after 10 is strictly enforced but bring ear plugs anyway. People are awake and moving around at all hours. If your staying in a dorm, a big suitcase will be hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kelsie E

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
992 reviews
3.3 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
506 reviews
5.7 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,052 reviews
0.3 km away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
423 reviews
21.7 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor had better showers”
 of 5 bubbles Daisypledger, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“friendly staff, good tours, awesome vibes”
 of 5 bubbles JWalker4568, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms looked like an excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles KellieM612, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms with multiple beds, or private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles 602jerryf, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid " TV" room if staying more than a couple of nights as it is dark with no windows. I was very happy in a 4 bed all female dorm !”
 of 5 bubbles malloryhelen, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5