We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I stayed at the Banana Bungalow for 8 days and completed all of the tours they offered. This was my first time travelling as a solo traveller in a hostel and it was an amazing experience. I opted for a women's only dorm and was able to get a room with one other female roommate. The staff at the hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emilypostma
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Best place to go! Nick and Zach for the win😏 They put some extra tips in our stay. Everything was perfect! Also met incredible soul from all around the world. Montreal, Qc girls own the place. Road to Hana for sure.. Once is never enough🙃 Thank you all guys!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie G
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I'm a resident on Oahu and took a trip to Maui with a friend for an extended weekend. The private double we stayed in was clean, except for termite droppings in the window sill. Bathrooms were cleaned daily and the best part were the tours that were offered daily! Staff is friendly and VERY helpful! To make a long story...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie P
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived and we were upgraded to a private dorm, which was awesome! Nice room. Showers nice and clean, until the stampede come through and make it a mess. Suggest there are more cleaning schedules through the day for this. Very far away from anything; no beach, no shops. Made us feel quite stuck. The tours were awesome and helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatttyxx
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our tours and our great tour guides Zack and Nick! Wailuku is not a typical tourist town but it is a cute little town with some interesting shops, good food and beautiful Iao Valley right down the road! We also offer a beach...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Cool very cheap hostel, very cozy ! Dorm mixed with garden view ! Tours were all for free (we give some money anyway), dinner eas free, drinks and hawaiian punch free in evenings 2 hours long ! They brought us to an amazing beach , may be the only one in hawaii where everybody was naked, some old guy with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joao C
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I recently stayed at the Banana Bungalow Hostel. This was my first time staying at a hostel, so I was unsure of what to expect - but was pleasantly surprised. I loved the atmosphere, the staff were great, and the tours were awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

This place has no AC. It's dirty. The staff is not helpful. They have a lot of chickens that like to crow at all hours not to mention it's loud. The house is old. The kitchen and bathrooms are filthy. When I tried to get a refund, even outside of 48 hours the manager said absolutely not. They know they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frank M
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We do not have AC and we don't advertise as such so I'm sorry you were expecting that. While we don't have any chickens, they tend to roam around Maui and unfortunately we cannot keep them out of our yard. I'm sorry if the chickens kept you awake!...

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I extended holidays to include a trip to Maui and so glad I did! I was low on cash and not comfortable driving on the 'other' side of the road. The free tours included were a highlight of my whole trip, thanks to Nick and Zac the incredible tour guides! They had great awareness of the safety of the group...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amy T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Banana bungalow was a good hostel to stay at. It is kind of in the middle of nowhere, and i would recommend getting a car while there. The staff I felt with were a bit useless and not very friendly, but my friends had other staff and really liked them. Good showers and toilets. Was a bit scared i was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ShezLeo
Reviewed 25 February 2016

My experience staying at the Banana Bungalow on three different occasions in the past year has been nothing short of wonderful! My total combined stay has been just short of three months in those three combined stays. This was not my original intention…and in fact, I only planned to stay at the Bungalow for three days upon my first arrival—simply...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jerry F

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
938 reviews
3.3 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
488 reviews
5.7 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 10 in Wailuku
410 reviews
18.1 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#1 of 2 in Makawao
125 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private rooms looked like an excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles KellieM612, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms with multiple beds, or private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles 602jerryf, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid " TV" room if staying more than a couple of nights as it is dark with no windows. I was very happy in a 4 bed all female dorm !”
 of 5 bubbles malloryhelen, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms further away from common areas are quiter. Same with the higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 100selmaa, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I had room 2 right next to the reception. Was very quiet at night and not very noisy in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles C5753KLlukeb, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay