We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. In terms of amenities, there's nothing really special about it. The rooms are pretty basic, however, it has good WI-FI, a laundry room, and fully stocked kitchen. That said, what really sets it apart is the staff. Keep in mind, this is sort of a party hostel, so if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deji O
Orlando
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mediocre hostel. Cheap but ghetto. Drug friendly and socially thriving for promiscuous activity. If thats your scene, then this is your kind of place! Pros: -group excursions available (if u make the list) -both private & shared bathrooms available -hot tub & pool table amenities -cheap nightly rates for the island Cons: -location is bad (like really bad. In the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoSnowBird
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The first cool thing is that you are in Maui but the most amazing part of it is how you are gonna feel comfortable with everyone there! You get to experience the island with people from all over the world and share amazing stories and adventures! I love that place is just like a "little" BIG family! It's perfect for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chiara C
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

The Hostel is quite good. Because it is small you get to know the people and they offer daily tours for a good price. But the rooms and bathrooms are not all up to date. It is a question if luck which room you will get.

Helpful?
Thank Desiree K
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing experience; rooms are very small and cramps 4 people in minimal space. Very unprofessional, careless staff. Communal toilet /bathroomfacilities are in bad shape and barely function. And the place enforces a kitchen curfew until 8 am - making it difficult to plan any early activities. Free tours are often cancelled.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
Bungalowmaui, Manager at Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We do our best to keep things clean and all our bathrooms are functioning but I apologize they were not up to your standard! During the time period you were here, we experienced an unprecedented storm that caused... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Great hostel for backpackers, this hostel has a very international feel. The rooms and bathrooms could be maintained a bit better, but they're clean and comfortable nonetheless. The staff is excellent, very friendly, welcoming and fun to hang out with. The best thing about BB are their daily tours to Maui's many different hidden treasures...hikes, waterfalls, beaches, sunset points. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ranit S
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

First off- there are FREE tours EVERY day to scenic Maui locations hosted by hostel staff. Given the hostel's somewhat isolated location, it's amazing and definitely worth taking advantage of. You don't even have to think. Definitely bring cash to tip the staff, as they're doing it "for free". Nick was so awesome :) It's more like a shack, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The hostel itself is outdated and kitchen and bathrooms are not very clean and outdated as well. That's just the way it is. On the other hand though, if you are an outgoing, free spirited person, this is the place where you will have the time of your life. Very attended by backpackers and other "lost travelers", everybody there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillGill18
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The stuff are friendly and nice. Every evening is a lovely atmosphere. It's a good place to make party. Further more you can play pool, ping pong, table soccer and dart. Unfortunately the restrooms are very dirty. There were ants in our beds..

Helpful?
Thank Christian O
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed at! Alot of fun and a great vibe. The free daily tours are a great way to see everything the island has to offer! The tour guides Zac & Nick are great guys and it's always a good time! All the staff are friendly and the hostel offers lots of perks! Highly Recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank David S

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
3.5 km away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
938 reviews
3.3 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
487 reviews
5.7 km away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,001 reviews
0.3 km away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 10 in Wailuku
409 reviews
18.1 km away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#1 of 2 in Makawao
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The private rooms looked like an excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles KellieM612, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms with multiple beds, or private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles 602jerryf, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid " TV" room if staying more than a couple of nights as it is dark with no windows. I was very happy in a 4 bed all female dorm !”
 of 5 bubbles malloryhelen, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms further away from common areas are quiter. Same with the higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 100selmaa, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I had room 2 right next to the reception. Was very quiet at night and not very noisy in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles C5753KLlukeb, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay