We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sands of Kahana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sands of Kahana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Richland, Washington
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Sands of Kahana is still a great place to take your family or friends for a getaway, especially if you like space. The rooms are enormous and have full kitchens and an over/under laundry unit in each. The beach is small compared to Kaanapali or Kihei but that also keeps the crowds down to a minimum. We just returned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CKing762
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Sands of Kahana. We are delighted you found our resort great for family getaways. We are glad our condo-style accommodations were spacious and convenient. We are happy you enjoyed spectacular ocean views and seeing the sea turtles right on the beach. We appreciate your feedback, which will help make improvements to our resort...

Vernon, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I can concur with previous reviews about the spaciousness of the units at this resort, etc. etc., but the constant noise ruins any attempt at having a relaxing vacation. Garbage trucks (plural) come early in the morning, and especially early on Sundays (6:45 am). There is construction next door at Valley Isle that Sands of Kahana really can't do anything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eal11
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We are committed to ensuring a pleasant and carefree vacation experience for our guests through quality accommodations and service. We would like to further discuss your particular concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463 at your convenience. Thank you.

Michigan
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We will be arriving on Wednesday. We go every other year, though we hadn't been able to since 2010 when my husband was very ill with an embolism. When I called this past summer to make our reservation for this year, I was told the resort was completely booked until May of 2014. To say we were extremely disappointed in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maryofnorthville
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy we had availability during your desired vacation time. We are glad you enjoyed the ocean views from your room and appreciate your kind remarks. We hope you will return soon!

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have a timeshare here and we really enjoy coming every year. The main complaint I have though is the design of the bulding. They are condos around a courtyard and the windows are slatted which serves for great ventilation but unfortunately with the courtyard it is very loud. Being a very light sleeper, it makes the stay not so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mira O
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your honest appraisal. We value your ownership and would like to further discuss your concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463 at your convenience.

Webster City, Iowa
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just got back from a one-week stay in a two bedroom unit in building one, room 161. It was on the 6th floor. The suite was huge and extremely clean. After having read prior reviews before our stay, both my husband and I had concerns about the upkeep and noise and lack of a/c. However, these concerns were unfounded. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sands of Kahana. We are delighted you had a wonderfully relaxing vacation experience. We are happy you found our accommodations spacious and clean. We appreciate all of your generous compliments about our amenities and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Medford OR
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a very roomy 2 BR unit with a nice ocean view. Grounds are very nice. Unit was a little dated but clean. No air conditioning but not a problem with the nice trade winds. Joe the concierge with Expedia did a great job in booking our visit to Molokai. Thank you Joe for all your efforts in making our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuMedfordOR
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are glad you enjoyed the ocean view and resort grounds. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon!

Mount Albert
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our 2 bedroom unit had an ocean view, located 8 miles south of Lahaina, was spacious and the kitchen area was reasonably equipped. The master bedroom with a sliding door walk-out to a balcony was roomy and very nice. Unfortunately, if you are traveling with another couple, the second bedroom is far below the standard of the first. You will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CruisersRus
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our condo- style accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed the ocean view. We regret to learn that the other couple you were travelling with were not as satisfied with their room. We would like to learn more about their concerns. Please contact us at...

Estero, Florida
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a family trip and we had a great time. We were in a 2 bdrm unit in Bldg 1 with an ocean view. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well-equipped for our week. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. My Mom especially liked the resort. No a/c but ceiling fans in every room augmented the breezes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at Sands of Kahana. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and staff. Thank you for sharing!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just spent an amazingly comfortable ten days at Sands of Kahana, staying in a condo that's privately owned that we found on VRBO. We were blown away by how big the condo's 2 bedrooms and baths were, how well-appointed the kitchen was and the views .... oh my goodness, the VIEWS! In short, the condo completely exceeded our expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottandCC
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are delighted you enjoyed an amazingly comfortable 10 days here. We appreciate your generous compliments about our accommodations. We are thrilled you found the views impressive and the condo completely beyond your expectations. We hope you will return soon!

Woodland, California, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I made a complain to the facility and have had no response... This is what we noted... Ant and Cockroach problem. We caught several cockroaches and had an ant problem in both the kitchen and one of the bathrooms that was reported but never taken care of. Smoke problem. We have two asthma sufferers in our party of three, with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Charles K
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sands of Kahana. We regret to learn of your experience and are disappointed we didn't meet your expectations. We are committed to the highest standards of cleanliness and customer service, and would like to further discuss your concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463 at your convenience. Thank you for...

1,005 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,581 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
380 reviews
0.2 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#14 of 40 in Lahaina
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $344 - $915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands of Kahana staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Sands of Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“An ocean view room in any of the four buildings is desirable.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeforney, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If possible get a corner room up high.”
 of 5 bubbles alann726, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Its best to contact the front desk and request a room with a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles 828cjl, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up is better”
  • Room 535
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either a north facing unit, or 1 with AC”
  • bldg #1, 3rd floor
 of 5 bubbles 2JimD, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay