We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sands of Kahana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 631: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sands of Kahana has great potential it's not really living up to. Great location, great beach. Our 1 bedroom "ocean view" 211 needs serious cleaning, better basic supplies and is right beside the noisy maintenance area. Owner obviously doesn't use it and doesn't care. Corkscrew fell apart when tried to use. Old old crappy kitchen pots. Dirty walls/ blinds/ appliances....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mannyandco
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, mannyandco. Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are disappointed to hear about the condition of your guest unit. Renting privately requires a certain amount of faith that the owner has invested in the care and maintenance of his guest unit, and we are sorry that did not appear to be the case in this instance. When you...

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Taking advantage of a home exchange swap, we have enjoyed a two-bedroom owner's unit in this four building complex. We were first assigned a unit with a nice ocean view in building 4 which is about 100 yards from the ocean but we were influenced by many who said buildings 2 and 3 were better so we asked and got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeforney
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, mikeforney! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana and sharing your informative comments. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit.

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite this feeling like you're renting out someone's apartment, the view makes up for the awkwardness. We had an ocean view, access to the bar, pool, hot tub, beach, and grilling areas! Please keep in mind, the bar makes you keep the drinks within their space. You cannot order a drink and explore or go to the beach. This wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PL2016
Rosemead, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While the rest of our 9 family members stayed elsewhere we booked the Sands of Kahana... we had a large unit with a beautiful view. Great location to pool, restaurant, beach, and Lahaina. Would definitely recommend. The breeze flowing through was refreshing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
Albany, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 10 days in November with a timeshare trade thru RCI. The place does have a great location right on the ocean with a sandy beach and is about 6 miles north of Lahaina. We stayed in building 4 on the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool. The trade winds kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, nice staff and good restaurant on premises (by pool). However, no air conditioning;could be challenging in summer months. The natural breezes and fans were ok for fall and sleeping, although the 2nd bedroom off the kitchen probably doesn't get as good a cross breeze.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No a/c,. But we could live with that on most days. However, while watching TV one afternoon a giant rat ran right through our room!!! Not acceptable. Response by front desk was slow as we had to call twice to look into the issue!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan N
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Alan. Thank you for your visit and feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for the unwanted visitor. We are typically successful at keeping the rodents outside where they belong and are sorry this one managed to breach the confines of your guest unit. We also apologize for our lethargic response to your phone calls to investigate the issue. Thanks...

Alta Loma Ca
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my 5th trade in to the Sands.We love the size of the units.So large and roomy.Thanks to Gremmy and all the front desk staf.You really feel like you are coming home.Great view from the third floor building four.lLove the location near all the fun.Alola from the Auldridge's.See you next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois A
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Lois! Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are delighted you had another enjoyable visit. We are happy our spacious condo-style accommodations contributed your five-star experience, and it is great to know Gremmy and our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit. They will be pleased that you singled them out for...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I was a bit nervous as this property has had very mixed reviews. I traded a timeshare through Interval International to stay here. The property was lovely and clean. Large living space- nice bed etc. I will say that our room was a tiny bit noisy- as we were at the back of the building which faced a parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gardenmomjeanine
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Gardenmomjeanine! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana and sharing your informative comments. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with our Aloha spirit. It is always gratifying to hear that we have made a favorable impression for helpful and courteous customer service! Thanks again for choosing Sands of Kahana. It was our pleasure to...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We got a two bedroom unit on the sixth floor in building one. Excellent room and views. The resort is very nice with a great location on Kahana beach. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Every time I turned around they always seamed to be cleaning something. As a matter of fact on the day of our scheduled cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fchampy
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Fchampy! Thank you so much for your visit and most generous review. We are delighted to read your kind words and especially pleased that our resort staff displayed plenty of Aloha spirit. It is also great to know that our location offered the perfect combination of desirable seclusion and convenient access. We are happy that you reached your own...

1,005 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,581 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
380 reviews
0.2 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#14 of 40 in Lahaina
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $345 - $903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands of Kahana staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Sands of Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“An ocean view room in any of the four buildings is desirable.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeforney, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If possible get a corner room up high.”
 of 5 bubbles alann726, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Its best to contact the front desk and request a room with a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles 828cjl, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up is better”
  • Room 535
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either a north facing unit, or 1 with AC”
  • bldg #1, 3rd floor
 of 5 bubbles 2JimD, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay