We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sands of Kahana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. Lots of space to sprawl out. The kitchen was pretty good with most everything you would need. The beds were fine and the bathrooms were clean, but not spectacular or particularly updated. the grounds are nice with several gas BBQ's located around the complex, a kids pool, an " adult...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ted B
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Ted! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana and sharing your kind words. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your informative review. Your generous rating is much appreciated, and we hope you will consider us again. Mahalo!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

In December we rented a 3 bedroom/ 3 bath penthouse with AC from private owners who rent through VRBO and HomeAway. THe owners told us that there are more than 40 privately owned units at the resort and that most of them have been beautifully updated and maintained. When we walked in to our 8th floor penthouse in Building 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oski70
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, oski70! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and delighted we could earn your highest rating. It is great to know you would stay with us again, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Mahalo!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sands of Kahana is absaloutly awful. It is very dirty and the staff is very disrespectful. the units are not cleaned properly and everything there is old and dirty.I was afraid to approach the staff. I had 2 two bedrooms and one 3 bedroom. they were all the same. What a waste of money.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank nassery745
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, nassery. Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn of your experience and are especially disappointed to read your assessment of our resort staff. Providing exceptional customer service is our top priority, and we are disappointed you did not feel our Aloha spirit. If we are perceiving your comments about our housekeeping policy correctly, we presume you're referring...

Northern Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have a 3 bedroom timeshare at this resort. We were assigned room 165. the second night there we were watching tv and saw a black rat scurry across the room from the tv to under the couch that we were sitting on. This happened on a Friday night so when we called to have maintennce take care of this...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Timothy H
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Timothy. Please accept our sincere apologies, which are twofold: 1) that you were subjected to a rat in the first place and 2) that our response to the challenge did not meet your expectations. Between our outside pest control service and the sticky traps we provide, we are typically very successful at keeping the native wildlife outside where it...

Port Alberni
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sands of Kahana in September of 2014, it was wonderful! We are here now, everything is different. Sadly, I cannot recommend Sands of Kahana! We will not be returning. We were given a 3 bedroom suite above the maintenance/garbage. We have a very obstructed view of the water, but a fantastic view of the resort next...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MARKAYDALE
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Markaydale. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations. December through April is a busy time at Sands of Kahana, with many of our vacation club owners visiting for whale watching season. Premium views such as the one you enjoyed on your last visit are in high demand this time of...

Waialua, Hawaii
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My husband sister and I shared her 2 bedroom, two bath, time share exchange in November. The restaurant on sight has daily happy hour as well as all day specials is conveniently located on premise. Excellent customer care and speedy service. I would definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy F
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Nancy! Thank you for choosing Sands of Kahana. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and truly appreciate your recommendation. It was our pleasure to serve you. Mahalo!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Sands of Kahana has great potential it's not really living up to. Great location, great beach. Our 1 bedroom "ocean view" 211 needs serious cleaning, better basic supplies and is right beside the noisy maintenance area. Owner obviously doesn't use it and doesn't care. Corkscrew fell apart when tried to use. Old old crappy kitchen pots. Dirty walls/ blinds/ appliances....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mannyandco
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, mannyandco. Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are disappointed to hear about the condition of your guest unit. Renting privately requires a certain amount of faith that the owner has invested in the care and maintenance of his guest unit, and we are sorry that did not appear to be the case in this instance. When you...

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Taking advantage of a home exchange swap, we have enjoyed a two-bedroom owner's unit in this four building complex. We were first assigned a unit with a nice ocean view in building 4 which is about 100 yards from the ocean but we were influenced by many who said buildings 2 and 3 were better so we asked and got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeforney
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, mikeforney! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana and sharing your informative comments. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit.

United States
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Despite this feeling like you're renting out someone's apartment, the view makes up for the awkwardness. We had an ocean view, access to the bar, pool, hot tub, beach, and grilling areas! Please keep in mind, the bar makes you keep the drinks within their space. You cannot order a drink and explore or go to the beach. This wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PL2016
Rosemead, California, United States
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

While the rest of our 9 family members stayed elsewhere we booked the Sands of Kahana... we had a large unit with a beautiful view. Great location to pool, restaurant, beach, and Lahaina. Would definitely recommend. The breeze flowing through was refreshing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L

1,005 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,643 reviews
3.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,402 reviews
3.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#13 of 41 in Lahaina
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $365 - $878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands of Kahana staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Sands of Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing away from the road (towards pool or ocean) will be better for sleeping at night.”
 of 5 bubbles tedb448, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Buildings 3 or 4 ONLY!”
 of 5 bubbles oski70, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A very bad condo. waste of your money. very dirty, The staff is very rude”
 of 5 bubbles nassery745, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not be pushed to a room above where the garbage is collected. Ask to see the room first! Wish we had!”
 of 5 bubbles MARKAYDALE, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“An ocean view room in any of the four buildings is desirable.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeforney, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay