We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Kahana

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Kahana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

977 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 941: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Kahana
 Click to rate
Adelaide
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Some of the reviews had concerned us but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was large with a good kitchen and laundry. Pool and BBQ area are spotless. The beach is coming back and we walked along to a small colony of turtles. The sound of the sea at night was delightful. Yes we would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheDollar
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband &I just returned from a 2 week stay @ the Royal Kahana.This was our seventh stay & once again we were very pleased.We had a 1 BR which we reserved from The Outrigger.It was a very nice,very clean,nicely appointed condo. The million dollar view from the living room,bedroom,& lanai was gorgeous. It made us smile everytime we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanne c
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful condo. Comfortable furniture, wonderful view from the 8th floor lanai. With my binoculars, we saw lots of whales which was the reason for coming to Maui in the winter. A ceiling fan in the bedroom was greatly appreciated and a nice touch. The kitchen has everything anyone would want or need. The one bedroom was roomy and nicely laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TirelessTravelers
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We did not enjoy this property. It was the cheapest available at the time of booking. No beach front, nothing is really around the property without driving somewhere. Pool area is a joke, very small and UN-attractive. There are much more attractive rental properties just around the corner. The room was very clean when we arrived and the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked through WestJet Vacations and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade when we checked in. The building is older but the one bedroom suite was spacious with a nice view to Molokai. The beach has been washed away but we do not care for beaches anyway. There is nothing local so you need to have a car - no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Philip D, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property. We hope to welcome you back again. Sheila Gerbig-Hussey

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just completed week 2 of a 3 week stay and we are loving it. Yes, the beach is out of commission due to weather but other beach access in not too far away. Our room is excellent and the partial ocean view is just fine with us. We find the pool clean and the water temp perfect. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ed R
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Ed R, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo, Sheila Gerbig-Hussey

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

very friendly staff and good conceirge. As soon as we arrived we tried to do wash. Washer was broke and every time we had to do laundry we had to have them come and fix the button to start it. Very annoying. Went to get Shaved ice they said they would have some the next day. Went next day they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leakew
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha leakew, Thank for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry the washer in your room was not working properly during your stay. We will make sure that it has been fixed. I'm not sure why our pool concession had so many problems while you were with us. I will speak to our employee's and make sure that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a clean and very quiet place to stay with ocean views and easy driving to sites nearby. No beach access because of storm that wiped out the beach several years ago but there are very nice public beaches close. Full size fridge and mini kitchen adequate. Cheaper than many accommodations in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lilah Y
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Lilah Y, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo, Sheila Gerbig-Hussey

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are coming on soon and were wondering the reservation with expedia charged the full amount but reading the fine print do you charge a cleaning fee on top of what we already have paid. Can you please clarify the cleaning charge.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Colin89
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha Colin89, Thank you for booking your stay with us. Yes, there is a one-time checkout cleaning fee that that we collect upon your arrival. If you have booked a studio it is $110 plus tax, a 1 bedroom is $150 plus tax and a 2 bedroom is $195 plus tax. We do not have any resort fee or parking...

Ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the most amazing stay in Room 709 with an Ocean Front view with the island of Molokai off in the distance. The staff at the Royal Kahana took such great care of us, especially Ricky that works the front desk. Most definitely felt the aloha spirit here and will plan to come again on our next trip out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rosemarycan
RoyalKahanaOutrigger, General Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha rsemarycan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your review to Ricky and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future. Mahalo, Sheila Gerbig-Hussey

1,396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (769)
Viewed
Room/Suite (225)
Viewed
View from Room (147)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (180)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (73)
Viewed
One Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (99)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Oceanfront Apartment (126)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Ocean View Apartment (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
3,728 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
1,032 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.7 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: $193 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Kahana staff and other travellers.
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view can be misleading.”
  • Looking to the North East
  • Studio room
  • Room facing south
 of 5 bubbles 525andreass, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed in Rooms 215 and 320, both are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles edr127, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked being on the main floor but if you want a view go higher very quiet at night time”
 of 5 bubbles brenda1125988, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you want a beach go to another location”
 of 5 bubbles V605NXrogerd, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your condo faces south if you want any sun during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles WayneE380, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5