We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sugar Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 551: English reviews
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I agree 100% with the other comments about out of control kids & their parents. We were there at the same time only for 5 weeks. We have been going to Sugar Beach Resort for the past 10 yrs. this experience was the worst ever. I disagree that the management can't do anything about it. Everyone signs the same form...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ang S
California City, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort goes down as one of the worst condos I've ever stayed at. He biggest issue kid that while you may book with a management company, no one really is overseeing or managing this property. You risk getting a horrible room, like we did, and no one takes responsibility. The front desk does nothing. They have zero to do...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank slhawk
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have been coming to Sugar Beach Resort for about 6 years and have always had a good time overall and really enjoy Maui. However, this year we have just arrived and a continual problem we have noticed in past years has become much worse. We arrived on Tuesday afternoon and wanted to have a quick dip...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Crazyf0rMaui
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review and frequent stays at the Sugar Beach Resort. As you mention, the Sugar Beach Resort is a great oceanfront property that enjoys incredible views and a more secluded location in North Kihei. I'm sorry to hear that some guests did not follow some of property rules that they are informed of at check in. For the...

West Vancouver
Reviewed 1 week ago

Normally this resort is very quiet and not so populated like other Maui vacation spots. However, there were a lot of young families in the month of November. I wish the parents would make sure their children wore diapers and visited the bathroom frequently as there were "accidents" in the Sugar Beach Resort pool in the past two weeks. There...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WestVancouverOscar
Corona, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful place too stay! Only walking distance to beautiful Sugar on Sugar Beach, had the beach to myself watching the sunrise and beautiful sunset, nice pool and everyone in the office very friendly! Can hardly wait to return , and have another great time in a perfect location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelvilla
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental agency manages, but glad to hear you had a great stay. We hope to see you back at the Sugar Beach Resort again soon! Mahalo, Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Elon, NC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Sugar Beach Resort for 8 nights in October. We LOVED it. It was a perfect place for us to call home base and explore all parts of the island. Everything you need is within close proximity. We didn't mind the drive to Lahaina, Ka'anapli, or Wailea as it just gave us more time to be awe struck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdimont
Horseshoe Valley, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sugar Beach location is absolutely perfect for people who want to be close to things, but not in the centre of them. It is close to a couple of key highways and directly on the beach. There were always chaise lounges available around the pool and the ocean is right there too! Our condo was in Mill Building, 4th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis F
Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great place! The beach is gorgeous and walkable here, and the amenities of property offer outdoor space and nice pool area. Not as tourist oriented compared to Wailea, etc. so a nice option to enjoy Hawaii.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DSW_TX
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos our vacation rental manages, but glad to hear you enjoyed the location, pool, and other property amenities. We agree that the beach out front is not as tourist populated as the Wailea beaches, which can be a nice change...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seriously amazing condo! The owners forgot nothing! Decorated in gorgeous Hawaiian style! All the necessities and luxuries one could ask for! The king size bed was super comfy! The kitchen so well stocked, there were things I don't even have in my kitchen! Great beach towels, and mats! The view will take your breath away every time you walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sam6088
Sun City West
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved Sugar Beach Resort. It had a kitchen, laundry, dining area, patio overlooking the beach and living room. Perfect. It was centrally located and just 20 min to Lahaina or the volcano or the start of the road to Hana. Convenient to shopping and restaurants Beautiful beach that we walked on most mornings, although we went to other beaches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave M
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in a condo our rental agency manages, but glad to hear you enjoyed the oceanfront location and great location in north Kihei that allows for easy access to explore other parts of the island. We hope to see you back again soon! Keith Condominium...

496 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (49)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
7.2 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,003 reviews
28.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
3,578 reviews
28.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,373 reviews
3.5 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
383 reviews
9.2 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#10 of 62 in Kihei
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: $260 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Georgetown, South Carolina
6 months ago
Bensenville, Illinois
over a year ago
5 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view is beautiful”
  • One of Maui's beautiful sunsets
 of 5 bubbles WestVancouverOscar, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just go because all rooms have ac, system, washer @ dryer in room. I stayed in the highest floor for a beautiful scenery....”
 of 5 bubbles michaelvilla, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mill Building is probably a little quieter and the rooms all have an oceanfront view.”
  • Sunset from the lanai...night after night.
 of 5 bubbles 969phyllisf, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unit #323, updated, modern breathtaking views!”
 of 5 bubbles Sam6088, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We thought it was worth the extra $30 a nite for beachfront”
 of 5 bubbles 370davem, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay