We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Eco Retreat

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Maui Eco Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Eco Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
birmingham
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

A great place to go to chill for a few days. Good spot to explore the north shore/Hana highway and is close to Paia and "downtown" haiku as well. Very zen feeling retreat. I'd try to get the mandala temple as it has the best views. No bathroom in suite though, shared outdoor shower and toilet a stones throw away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scotlon m
Irvine, California
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

This place is for people who are looking to stay at a place away from the hotels and enjoy the jungle side of Maui. It's located just 25 minutes from Paia in Hana. We like the place and its location. I enjoyed the hike which can take you to the sea. Just a heads up that you should bring your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndtpunk2003
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just to clarify some details. We are not a hotel that provides toiletries, although we do have a hairdryer and iron in the main house available. Sorry to read that you would have loved to have more interaction with the guests and staff. We try to be very respectful and to give us much privacy...

Deerfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Took my wife there for her 50th birthday. She's a yoga instructor, so I thought it was right up her alley. Really enjoyed the grounds especially the trip down to the ocean and the hike up to the lower waterfall. The temple itself was nice and very private. The sunrise was unbelievable every day. Was a very nice place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guido4406
Ross, California
Reviewed 17 February 2015

What Kutira and Raphael have done is to take the spirit of this location and build structures, art and a community of living in balance with the rhythms of nature. Staying in the Thai Hale Bamboo house is an amazing experience. The positive energy is felt in every part of the land. I love the Hawaiian name for this location:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shepfamily
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Watching the weather roll in over the water through the tropical landscape of the Bamboo Temple's picture windows was most enjoyable second only to walking the lush grounds of the majestic Maui Eco Retreat. We were looking forward to our next visit before we ever left, and we remember our host, Raphael with a warm heart and a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jflae
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The Maui Eco Retreat was honestly even better in person than I imagined it to be. Wonderful property. Secluded and quiet. Tucked away in the midst of the jungle. I don't think there could have been a more unique and restful way to experience Maui for the first time. The property sits about a mile off the road, and therefore,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher R
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We based our 2 week adventure in Maui out of the Maui Retreat. On adventure days, it was a wonderful spot to come home and settle into. The days we stayed at the retreat were an adventure of their own, the place permeates all 5 senses, letting you truly connect with the rhythm of the ocean, the land, the wind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FeelYourFeet
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Myself and my husband stayed there for 4 days in lotus room and it was a wonderful place. Its completely isolated and inside the woods. The lotus room was awesome with ocean view and a little pond outside. It was so relaxing and awesome place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VijiMoor
Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

To start with the positives: The grounds are beautiful and our room was very nice as well. We stayed in the lotus room and really enjoyed the pond outside. Although it was raining while we were there, we enjoyed hiking around the grounds. The girl that took my reservation was so sweet and helped with some great ideas , as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMC408
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. Our office explained that this...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We stayed one night. The grounds are amazing and the rooms nice. We were in the lotus room which had great views of the pond. There was definitely a feel of this being a shared house with several other semi-permanent residents. After we had sorted ourselves out, one of the owners wanted to check if we had paid our rent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jugdeep
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. We were very concerned for...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
29.2 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
47.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
422 reviews
13.5 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Maui Ocean Breezes
Maui Ocean Breezes
#2 of 8 in Haiku
330 reviews
33.4 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
34.0 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living? Permitted since 2009 # BBPH/0003. Our Tax ID is 063-848-6J28-01. This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana which means blessings. It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award since 2013 up to this day. Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season. Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. When staying with us you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement that is expanding daily. Escape the tourist-filled places. This is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa'ia. Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden. We are EXCITED to announce that as of the 1st of September 2016, after much planning, anticipation and roadblocks to overcome, the badly needed road repair and upgrade has been successfully completed. Mother Nature had definitely taken her toll on our roads! Now with the vast improvements, and thanks to a dedicated road repair crew and the help of local volunteers, the last stretch of the drive to our magical resort is now as smooth and enjoyable as it is beautiful! OPUA GUEST HOUSE The Opua Guest house contains has uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably. LOTUS ROOM Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation DOLPHIN ROOM Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles. INDIAN ROOM Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. HAWAIIAN ROOM Our Hawaiian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Celebrating the spirit of the islands with Hawaiian art and exotic wood flooring, and a large private deck with spectacular ocean and crater views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Eco Retreat

Address: 610 Huelo Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5759
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Price Range: $125 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Eco Retreat Haiku
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Eco Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Eco Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Paradise garden”
 of 5 bubbles 12nathan, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms downstairs seem more private, or get your own hut, like the Bamboo Temple.”
 of 5 bubbles 410elisen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only some of the rooms have private bathrooms, but the shared one looks nice too.”
 of 5 bubbles 329linusg, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loved the Bamboo temple!”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveler49079, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Kutira will advise you on the best room for your needs. They're all special.”
 of 5 bubbles jackal5408, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5