We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Point at Poipu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This complex is really nice. The units are roomy, very clean, very comfortable, and well equipped. The location is very quiet but close to a great snorkeling beach, lots of restaurants, and other fun activities. Overall an outstanding timeshare.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark11586
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Mahalo! Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at The Point at Poipu. We were extremely pleased to read that our accommodations, amenities, restaurants, and location met if not exceeded your expectations. The tips you have provided about our resort and the surrounding area are truly appreciated and really helpful for future guests. We sincerely appreciate your...

Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We weren't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised with this property. The staff was amazing and the rooms clean, spacious, and comfortable. The pool area was great and always seating. The location was perfect for all you want to see on the island. Would definitely stay again! (Ask for koi food!) some amenities not available on site but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dixiedodaa
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

We’re really pleased that you chose to stay at the Point at Poipu, and that you enjoyed your stay here! We hope we’ll see you again soon!

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for half a week. We had a great stay! Excellent location. Beautiful grounds! Loved the koi pond. Great place to watch the sea turtles! Beautiful walk along the ocean! This does NOT boarder a swimmable beach!!!! However there is one a short walk away!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dannirose3
CA
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great service with extremely clean rooms. Turtles and Hawaiian Monk Seals were by the beach almost everyday! The location is just gorgeous, but quite and tranquil. The perfect place to enjoy life with the family! Oh, and the happy hour drinks were awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAkiki80
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice hotel-part of Diamond Resorts. Room appeared to be recently updated and were clean. The grounds were well kept. Pool was only about four feet deep but clean and neat. The hut at the pool served good food but closes at 8:00pm. No restaurant at this location. Many local restaurants close by but you'll have to drive. Grand Hyatt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jpc0398
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased to read that you had a great time at the Point at Poipu! We’re sorry to read your concerns about our sales team, though. While many of our guests do welcome the opportunity to learn more about vacation ownership, please be assured that unless you’re staying on a promotional break, you...

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I had spent 5 nights at this Hotel in the building #7 next to the ocean. The room was way much bigger than expected, actually larger than my own apartment. Equipped with strong air conditioned, laundry facility, kitchen with stove, dish washer, fridge, large dining area, living room with sofa, and much more.... I wish I can move there permanently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marfon72
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Point at Poipu is a beautful place set in lovely grounds and a fantastic location. We had a 2 bed ocean front condo which was well appointed and extremely comfortable and the view was stunning. If you are able get up to see the sunrise as it starts the day off so well. The staff are great and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GrahamS4949
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we’re delighted to read that you had a lovely time at the Point at Poipu! We strive to provide all our guests with memorable vacation experiences, and we’re really pleased to read that our team helped make your stay here extra special. We look forward to seeing you again!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Overall my rating is about 3.5, between average and very good. We flew in a day early so we were there at noon for check-in. We completed our paperwork and had to kill about three or four hours before the room would be ready. Check-time is 3pm so this was expected. At about 3:30 we did receive a call that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlencap
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed review of your recent stay at the Point at Poipu! We’re really pleased that your stay here was a generally enjoyable one, and we feel sure that the information you’ve provided will be much appreciated by future guests. We’re sorry to read that you experienced some disturbance from the guests in the apartment above you,...

Illinois
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We exchange our condo for a week here Point of Poipu. Don't get me wrong it a beautiful place with beautiful grounds that are well maintained. We had a 2 bedroom condo. The condo we had was very nice only thing wrong is there is no air condition in the living area which is not good when someone is sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IllinoisCookie
Brea
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location and grounds. Morning walks on shoreline are breathtaking. We saw turtles and spinner dolphins. Walking distance to Shipwreck beach next door. Great food on site at the pool bar. Concierge Chris is really nice and helpful. Fun activities on site which are mostly free. Only complaint was the dirty windows in the bedrooms which prevented seeing the view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PetLoverBrea
diamondresorts, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

We would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business - however we would like to take this opportunity to advise that we have agreed to reduce the number of midweek cleans to decrease the amount of water and detergents used - however we are sorry if this police...

1,103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $335 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about construction!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 443maryannh, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request pool view, as ocean view is limited!”
 of 5 bubbles carolv185, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request build #8 or 9 ocean view and I would request a corner unit”
 of 5 bubbles John_DCincinnati, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Condo by the sea!”
  • Sunrise @ The Point, Poipu
 of 5 bubbles 1Stylie1, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They do have elevators to cut down on stair climbing if that is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5