We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Point at Poipu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Point at Poipu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 751: English reviews
Start your review of The Point at Poipu
 Click to rate
Cincinnati
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I made reservations a year in advance for our 52nd wedding anniversary. We requested an ocean front room and the points were taken out of our account. We are Diamond Members. We were made aware of the construction but were assured it would not be a problem. We arrived early, 2:00 PM and told our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_DCincinnati
Auckland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here back in July 2016 and I've purposely delayed my review because it didn't get off to a great start. As many have mentioned the construction going on at the resort did impact our holiday. We chose Kauai for its gentle pace and amazing scenery but to be walking through and facing a building site, was disappointing. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Stylie1
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in an updated two bedroom condo on an Interval International Exchange. The rooms were not spacious, but well kept and nicely updated. We had a garden view on the lower level of the resort. This resort is large and a lot of construction is going on. We requested a room away from the construction area and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mparker
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Feedback is an important part of our on going growth. We hop you choose to return to The Point at Poipu in the near future once the construction has been all completed.

Otavalo, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 week ago

Next time I'd splurge for ocean-view, I think, but the place was great. Very welcoming staff. Very clean. The condo was well-stocked with towels, soap, kitchen stuff, etc. Although we didn't use them, grills were available for use. We saw some whales on one of our morning walks which was amazing. I have to say the pool is VERY pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andra C
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Point at Poipu in the future!

Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Point at Poipu during our visit to Kauai from Jan 7 to the 14th. the location is great but the accommodations are pretty average. Our unit was very dated and in need of a renovation. It was spacious and fairly clean but not spotless. the kitchen had the basics. We are Embarc members and had access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea O
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and grateful your chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacation. ™. As we continue to make improvements at the resort we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Mercer Island, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes there is construction on the property but they deal with it as well as is possible. I initially got a room near the construction but Diamond Resorts and the hotel manager (I believe his name was George) really were helpful and resolved it quickly and the new room, while not an view was nice and very quiet with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hhxkekspktkdpe
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. I am happy to hear George was able to assist you and I will also share this review with him. We hope to welcome you and your...

Wailuku
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a two bedroom/two bathroom unit at The Point at Poipu during the New Year's holiday. The staff at this property were very friendly and helpful. We'd requested a room away from the construction project underway and were assigned a room quite a distance from the lobby which required walking down some flights of stairs. We were assisted by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D-KfromMAUI
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Arlington, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here and there is construction happening , which is surprisingly quiet for the most part. However the painters left paint all over the plants. The rooms here ok, for the money we paid not impressed. The beds are comfortable and the condo is clean and decorated very nicely . We have a great view of the parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrandMrsCandT
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Point at Poipu! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Point at Poipu as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to hopefully welcoming you in the future to...

Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful visit to The Point at Poipu. We visited this timeshare property for a combined business and vacation trip. The property was being remodeled, but our unit had not been remodeled yet. The unit was spacious, well maintained and very clean. The gardens and pool were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 306granth
Jamie S, General Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Point at Poipu in the future!

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Got there late in evening, didn't tell us to park by our room rather told us to take our bags down the stairs to a bottom floor room. We struggled down with our luggage and our keys didn't work. So back up to get new keys. Meanwhile family is waiting at the door tired as can be. New keys didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Be Real A
Diamond R, Manager at The Point at Poipu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. By sharing your experience we are able to take note of when and where changes can be made to better serve our future guests. We greatly appreciate your assistance in this manner. We were pleased to hear that at least the room amenities were to your liking; however,...

1,103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (598)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (497)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (54)
Viewed
Pool (80)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (151)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (161)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Point at Poipu

Address: 1613 Pe'e Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9727
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Price Range: $363 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point at Poipu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Point at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Embassy Vacation Resort Poipu Point
Point Poipu Kauai
The Point At Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Point at Poipu staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from The Point at Poipu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request build #8 or 9 ocean view and I would request a corner unit”
 of 5 bubbles John_DCincinnati, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Condo by the sea!”
  • Sunrise @ The Point, Poipu
 of 5 bubbles 1Stylie1, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They do have elevators to cut down on stair climbing if that is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles mparker, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for something away from the construction - they will try to accommodate you”
 of 5 bubbles LeaO_12, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check in advance to see if your rooms are near construction.”
 of 5 bubbles hhxkekspktkdpe, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5